12/11 Egon amps 104 +7 86 +11 77 … sitter dose

Mady & Egon

Member Since 2025
Last post

Long time no chat! I hope all the FD kitties are ok. I have had my head in the sand with the holidays and an approaching work deadline. We wobbled off-track after the last sorta-hypoglycemic event. But finally, it seems hes getting back on track. And of course… as soon as we get on track… it’s time to go out of town again….. He goes to the sitter in 11 days.

It seems to take him a while to settle into a new dose. ECID. So I’m thinking I may try to reduce to the sitter dose - 12 units - starting tomorrow just to get an idea of where that takes him and if it keeps him out of the greens. He always goes lower at the sitters too. Probably stress… I was going to use a Libre but the one I applied this week lasted two days and then died. So really it’s more stress and hassle than it’s worth for me. The sitter is able to test once a day which isn’t a huge help. If anyone could weigh in on our sitter dose plan and general progress, that would be greatly appreciated. We are trying our best!!
 
Since you’re plans for vacation are still a ways out, I wouldn’t suggest starting the vacation dose quite yet. Usually you start the reduced dose a few days before you go, which allows some draining of the larger depot to where you can see what the reduced dose does, and whether you need to reduce further. I’ve had a few occasions where I started a vacation dose and reduced just a bit more based on how I saw the BG numbers trending at the last minute. If you can post when you are getting closer to the vacation, say 2-3 days before, we can see how his numbers look and what might be a good vacation dose.
 
Since you’re plans for vacation are still a ways out, I wouldn’t suggest starting the vacation dose quite yet. Usually you start the reduced dose a few days before you go, which allows some draining of the larger depot to where you can see what the reduced dose does, and whether you need to reduce further. I’ve had a few occasions where I started a vacation dose and reduced just a bit more based on how I saw the BG numbers trending at the last minute. If you can post when you are getting closer to the vacation, say 2-3 days before, we can see how his numbers look and what might be a good vacation dose.
Ok sounds like a plan, thank you!
 
Hi Mady, I didn’t see a recent post, but it looks like you are trying 12u a few days before you leave for vacay. With a sitter who can only test once a day, you may find you need to reduce to 11u depending on how Egon does with 12u, and if you still get some greens and/or if there may be any possible issues with Egon not eating like he might usually when you are gone. Please post if you need help before you go, and I hope you have a nice time.
 
Hi Mady, I didn’t see a recent post, but it looks like you are trying 12u a few days before you leave for vacay. With a sitter who can only test once a day, you may find you need to reduce to 11u depending on how Egon does with 12u, and if you still get some greens and/or if there may be any possible issues with Egon not eating like he might usually when you are gone. Please post if you need help before you go, and I hope you have a nice time.
Thank you for following up with me Christie! Egon is doing great. He got into some kibble the other day which threw us off… but he had a good number this morning.
The sitter knows to only give him half dose if he doesn’t eat.
Hmmm I’m considering doing 11u anyways since he always goes lower at the sitters. Good suggestion. I’d rather he be a little high than low. Luckily his low behavioral signs are very obvious. Thank you for the well wishes. We are hoping he stays safe and has a calm holiday!! I hope you do too.
 
I noticed that in the remarks, what a cheeky boy. You’re very welcome, I know how it can be sometimes difficult to work out dosing while you are away, so I wanted to follow up in case you were needing some help :bighug:. You still have a few days in case something changes with his BG patterns, now that his little contraband escapade is over with. The depot will still drain some in the meantime before you leave, so that helps to keep him safe while you are gone.
 
I would have suggested starting the vacation dose trial 3 days before you leave, due to the size of the depot taking longer to drain. But, that ship has sailed. Keep in mind that you want him on a vacation dose that has at most a few very if any high greens, especially with little testing. Hopefully that test will be at AMPS or PMPS with his late nadirs. You may have to wait until tomorrow night to get enough depot drained to know if you have to go down to 11 units. Since you are only gone 6 days, not the worst thing for him if you reduce again.
 
I would have suggested starting the vacation dose trial 3 days before you leave, due to the size of the depot taking longer to drain. But, that ship has sailed. Keep in mind that you want him on a vacation dose that has at most a few very if any high greens, especially with little testing. Hopefully that test will be at AMPS or PMPS with his late nadirs. You may have to wait until tomorrow night to get enough depot drained to know if you have to go down to 11 units. Since you are only gone 6 days, not the worst thing for him if you reduce again.
Ok, I was worried about reducing during the spike from the kibble. I’ll keep a close eye and see where we’re at.
 
Back
Top