12/11 Dusty AMPS 261 +6 145 PMPS 415 (!!) +3 386

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michelle & Dusty

Member Since 2012
Huh. Just when I get a plan, a wrench is thrown into it. Based on Dusty's previous numbers, the vet and I agreed to increase her dose. I was going to increase it tonight and go forward from there. But then I get her +6 which is much lower than I had expected. My inclination at the moment is to hold the dose steady for a day or two and see whether this afternoon was just some random noise or whether it's part of a new (and lower) trend. Am I right to do this? Or should I increase the dose tonight as initially planned? (Relevant here is also that both tomorrow and Thursday I have to be out of the house for much of the day and so won't be able to closely monitor her.)
 
Re: 12/11 Dusty AMPS 261 +6 145 Dosing ? - do I wait?

Very cute sounding cat.. i can just imagine her cuddling you when you are singing "please mommy stop that cat-erwauling" ;)

What kind of fancy feast are you feeding? ( just checking its the low carb ones)

As for dose, if she shows another yellow or pink preshot number then you are probably ok to increase to 1.25IU, her numbers certainly support that. She seems to be showing a blue or green every so often as her nadir but we want more of those!

If she shows a blue or green as a preshot then we need to discuss - meanwhile read the sticky on handling and shooting low numbers, its always good to be prepared.
 
Re: 12/11 Dusty AMPS 261 +6 145 Dosing ? - do I wait?

Thanks, Wendy! I, too, would love to see more blues and greens! I've read the sticky about shooting with low numbers but you better believe that if she's still low(ish) at her PMPS I'll be rereading it. :smile:

As for food, I'm feeding her about 50% Fancy Feast and about 50% Wellness or other high quality, low carb food. Of the Fancy Feast, she gets only the classic variety since it seems they're almost universally safe. I've got the list of safe foods and have been trying to stick pretty exclusively to it. The only thing that is high carb that she gets is a pill pocket (so she'll take her zyrtec).
 
Re: 12/11 Dusty AMPS 261 +6 145 Dosing ? - do I wait?

A lot can happen between +6 and PMPS. How about getting a test at around +11 or +11.5 and posting the number.

Also, I am very reticent to suggest you do anything with dose unless you can get at least a before bed test every night. You have no idea if Dusty have been giving you lower numbers at night and then bouncing by AMPS.
 
Yikes but I haven't seen Dusty spike like that yet. And that's without doing anything to her dose. I had friends over at the time and had to pry her out from under the bed in order to test and dose her (it was just me, in the bedroom, with the door shut...but the friends were being a bit loud and Dusty was clearly stressed). Perhaps part of it was from stress? Though she's acting a bit off - still eating and such, but not much purring or doing things other than laying and sleeping. :YMSIGH: I hate seeing her like this.

Sienne - I got her at +9 but at that point had the friends come over and couldn't really get away to test her. Perhaps tomorrow. I will endeavor to get more of her PM tests but, really, it's midnight right now and much past my own bedtime. I can easily get +2s, but +3s are pushing it.
 
It could easily be stress given that she was hiding at the time and your friends were over.

Getting a +2 or 3 is great, gives you an idea of how she is trending but for me I set the alarm clock for +5 or +6 often and get up then to test. It's kinda like getting up for a babies nighttime feed.. But faster! One if my cats had a hypo one night that I only caught by a spot check like that. And now I am too scared to not get up! He routinely drops low at night anyway and it's those drops that give me dose changes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top