? 12/11 Ducky AMPS 124 +11 133

fenderrae

Member Since 2021
Ducky is 124 this morning. Last evening she was 114 and I wasn’t sure what to do so I didn’t give a shot. Wasn’t expecting the AMPS to still be fairly low the next morning. I am using the Alphatrak. Nervous to give a shot at these lower numbers than usual, thoughts? Could this be her diet change to wet food?
 
Have you fed her?

A change in diet to low carb wet food can indeed help some cats get off insulin. You don't want to stop cold turkey though. We gradually taper off the insulin from 0.25U to 0.10U to a drop dose.

Ducky has not earned a reduction, so I would hold the dose at 0.25U till she dips below 90 and earns a reduction.
 
I didn’t feed her before getting the reading but have since given her food. How do I measure the .1?
 
How do I measure the .1?
I see Bandits Mom said that Ducky has not earned a reduction yet and stick with the 0.25 U until she drops below 90 Do you have the syringes with half unit markings, makes it easier to eye ball doses

Here is a pic of 0.10 units
49822973598_359300d752_o.jpg


Pic of 0.25U
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg
 
Thanks all, I will continue with the .25. Didn't give a shot this morning but will this evening. Today was another rough day in terms of testing and getting her to cooperate. Had to pick her up and hold her and she was growling at me and I feel pretty horrible, always worried I'm going to hurt her when I have to hold her to get the reading and she's trying to squirm and get away. Accidentally had to do the evening test twice because I accidentally cut my hand and was bleeding and couldn't tell whose was what so the stress was twice as much for both of us... total disaster. :arghh: Hopefully I will be able to get the shot tonight. Her +11 was 133 so it seems to be pretty consistently lower throughout the day. A little worried to give the shot tonight because sometimes when she's stressed she gets an upset stomach.
 
Last edited:
Thanks all, I will continue with the .25. Didn't give a shot this morning but will this evening. Today was another rough day in terms of testing and getting her to cooperate. Had to pick her up and hold her and she was growling at me and I feel pretty horrible, always worried I'm going to hurt her when I have to hold her to get the reading and she's trying to squirm and get away. Accidentally had to do the evening test twice because I accidentally cut my hand and was bleeding and couldn't tell whose was what so the stress was twice as much for both of us... total disaster. :arghh: Hopefully I will be able to get the shot tonight. Her +11 was 133 so it seems to be pretty consistently lower throughout the day. A little worried to give the shot tonight because sometimes when she's stressed she gets an upset stomach.
Sorry it's been so stressful for you. :( Are you using a heated rice sock on her ear to bring the blood up? Will she not sit still for you? I would never be able to hold Shooter and get a draw. Thankfully when I put him up on his bench he lays down for me. Sometimes he's super antsy, but usually he's pretty good.
 
Sorry it's been so stressful for you. :( Are you using a heated rice sock on her ear to bring the blood up? Will she not sit still for you? I would never be able to hold Shooter and get a draw. Thankfully when I put him up on his bench he lays down for me. Sometimes he's super antsy, but usually he's pretty good.
Tried again this morning and she was growling and hissing at me the whole time and I couldn't get any blood to come out... She also cries out and acts like the pokes really hurt her :( I got a different brand of lancets and I wonder if that's why as I've been able to get blood in the past. So miserable. Not sure if I should just be giving a small amount of insulin in the meantime. Maybe it's time for an Freestyle Libre..
 
Tried again this morning and she was growling and hissing at me the whole time and I couldn't get any blood to come out... She also cries out and acts like the pokes really hurt her :( I got a different brand of lancets and I wonder if that's why as I've been able to get blood in the past. So miserable. Not sure if I should just be giving a small amount of insulin in the meantime. Maybe it's time for an Freestyle Libre..
Are you poking around the top outside edge of the ear? Using a warm rice sock to draw up the blood?
 
Back
Top