12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423 +9.75 426 PMPS 428

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Happy Hump Day, Lantus Land!

Yesterday

Last night's recap:
PMPS: 432
+2: 459
+3: 466
+6.5: 323
+11: 414

Still bouncing? Hopefully he'll clear that today and come back down where he needs to be -- or at least closer to where he needs to be!

Cobb seemed extra hungry this morning. I fed him 1/2 a can at +6.5. He usually eats that amount at +7.5 in the morning and is fine until it's time for his AM shot. But this morning he was hungry earlier, and then when I got up at 7am (+11), he was starving.

That hunger does translate into a SHOCKING story though. Cobb is pretty good about letting us know when he's hungry, especially when we're asleep. He'll jump up and nudge his head under someone's hand so we pay attention to him and he gets some love in the process. He did that this morning as me and baby bean were laying in bed. Baby was still sleeping propped up on my arm. Cobb slid his head underneath my hand -- on the side the baby was on. He was within inches of the baby! Sooo...I guess that, combined with the crib hiding place, I'm comfortable saying the new addition isn't bothering him much any more!

Question...
I need to get some syringes that have a 1/2 unit marking. The prescription the vet wrote is for U-100 syringes, 1/3ml, long needle.

Will this work?
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com/product/ulticare-vetrx-insulin-syringes_1267_179.htm

If not, can someone give me a link to the right ones?

Hope everyone has a great day! Two more wake ups until the weekend!

~Suzanne
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 -- QUESTION

syringes

These are the syringes that I use. 31g x 3/8", 3/10cc, U-100, and I do order them from ADW. They ship pretty fast too!

So nice to hear how he is starting to bond with his new baby!
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 -- QUESTION

What a sweet boy!!

I use the same Terumo syringes. I have had few problems with bubbles with these syringes.
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 -- QUESTION

I use the Terumo syringes also (see the link above posted by Cleo & Jane). I don't think anyone uses the old, 1/2-inch (long) needles any more. The shorter needles are much easier to use. The syringes you posted in your condo are pet syringes (and they do have the shorter needle), but as far as I know, most people here use the human syringes. Popular brands are Terumo and Monoject. Make sure that you get syringes with half-unit markings. The higher the gauge number, the thinner the needle, and thin needles are less painful. The 31-gauge Terumos work great.

Nice story about Cobb and the baby!

Good luck.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 -- QUESTION

i used the Terumo thinpro also - really liked them. ADW also is very quick on the shipping. there is a link at the top of the forum to shop with them, which gives a percentage of your sale to FelineDiabetes.com. Before they had that link, someone here gave me a link to mrrebates.com. if you register there and go through them to buy at ADW, you get a 4% rebate check. I bought all my FD supplies there

sweet story about mr cobb's wake-up routine! there is a link on the New to the Group sticky (near bottom of page) about feeding kitty as much as s/he wants. not sure how your feeding plan goes, but you might want to read that link.
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 -- QUESTION

I'll definitely register through those links. I'll do whatever I can to help FDMB!!

We're still working on how much Cobb eats. It has decreased since when we originally switched to wet food. He was eating a ton!! We're still trying to find that balance, especially since he eats whatever I give (no matter how much or how little) quickly. Some days have been exceptions. But since he eats it all, he has nothing to graze on a few hours later of he gets hungry. I do have a timed feeder. I may have DH try that out this weekend. He can maybe freeze a few servings and see how it goes.
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423

I think I'd go ahead and go up to 4.5 at PMPS if you're DH is comfortable testing while you're gone. He doesn't have to test as much as you do..just enough to get at least one mid-cycle during the AM, and a "before bed" during the PM cycle.... plus pre-shot tests...and if he can get more, that's great too

You've been on 4 units for 6 cycles now and the best numbers you've gotten were still in the 200's, so I think it's time to go up again.
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423

I agree but he's concerned about that before bed test. He works at 4am, so 10-11pm is well past his bedtime, and he isn't sure he'll still be up, and since the baby will be out of town he's wanting to get some sleep.

Also, I'm leaving town tomorrow morning before the mid-cycle so I'd hate to give him 4.5u and then him dip too far when no one is here.

So...we're going to keep it at 4u through Saturday morning and then increase to 4.5u Saturday evening when I get back. We feel like that's the safest thing to do and not risk him dropping too far overnight.
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423

You have to do what's most comfortable for you, that's for sure, but I don't see Cobb going TOO low just yet..the 4 unit only got him to the 200's....would sure like to see some blue nadirs for him! (I know you would too!!)

No matter what you decide, on the PM cycle, what you could do is have DH do a +2...if the number at +2 is a lot lower than the PMPS, then it's a good clue that it might be best to set an alarm to get another test later

That +2 test is almost as good as a crystal ball to let you know what Cobb's future might be :-D
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423

Chris & China said:
You have to do what's most comfortable for you, that's for sure, but I don't see Cobb going TOO low just yet..the 4 unit only got him to the 200's....would sure like to see some blue nadirs for him! (I know you would too!!)

No matter what you decide, on the PM cycle, what you could do is have DH do a +2...if the number at +2 is a lot lower than the PMPS, then it's a good clue that it might be best to set an alarm to get another test later

That +2 test is almost as good as a crystal ball to let you know what Cobb's future might be :-D

Yes. He said he is definitely going to try to get the +2 test. But knowing him, he'll give the PMshot and fall asleep soon thereafter. (so jealous of the sleep he does get!)
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423

Sweet story with Cobb and the baby. Good idea to stay safe and do what you're comfortable with. Hopefully a lil more juice this weekend will do just the trick!
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423 +9.75 426

More questions...

How do you know when you've surpassed the optimal dose? What gives that away on the SS?

Also, I increased the dose and the BG dropped into the 200s but then went back up. Did the liver not learn that was safe and went to a level it was comfortable at? If it was enough to bring it into the 200s, why isn't it enough to keep it in the 200s. I understand it not going below that, but why wouldn't it stay lower than the 400s he's at now? Does that make sense?
 
Re: 12/11 Cobb AMPS 438 +3 437 +6.5 423 +9.75 426

tonight's cycle is 72 hrs since he hit the 235 - so a bounce can absolutely last that long. especially in a cat that hasn't seen that range in a long time. when cats bounce, at first they go high and stay there long. then when it clears and they see that 200's again (in this case) they might bounce again, but maybe it will not be quite as high or not last quite as long. eventually a bounce might only last a few hours and resolve very quickly. it's like the liver sputters with a weak HEY instead of a massive tsunami HEY. Right now Cobb's done the massive tsunami HEY. ;-) :lol:

There's not really any way to predict what cat is going to do what. Other than in this case, we know Cobb's body is very used to the 300's on up. A non-diabetic cat will run under 100, often in the 40's. so his norm is so off from what it should be, it's no wonder his body is taking the full time to resolve. I did have punkin go a little longer than 72 hrs a couple of times, but most cats resolve by then at the longest.

I think given the circumstances it's fine for you to hold at the 4.0u. if you were going to be home, I would still suggest for you to wait til morning, and maybe even tomorrow pm for you to increase. I can see why Chris is suggesting an increase, and she's right in that he only went into the 200's on this dose and he will likely need more still. I'm just really curious if the bounce is going to putter out tonight or tomorrow morning.

your question about passing the optimal dose - that's tricky. sometimes we see an inverted curve, where the preshot is lower and then like a bridge to the next preshot, the curve is a hump instead of a U. sometimes, like in Cobb's case, he was just constant high. That can be from not enough insulin, and the way we know which is which is by starting low and increasing by appropriate increments. if he'd start at 1 or 2units with increases of .25u or .5u with at least 4 cycles on each dose, then we could be pretty confident he wasn't overdosed. when you increase in big increments, or on a bounce, you can't have that confidence because it could just be inappropriate dosing. like in Cobb's case.

your last question is hopefully, answered by my comments above about bouncing. he will get used to the lower numbers, but his body has to recognize them as safe.
 
Like I was told...cat's bounce until they don't...remember, we're not in charge of this dance, all we can do is follow!

Only going down into the 200's a couple times during one cycle isn't enough to retrain Cobb's liver...He's going to have to get down there many times and stay there. Remember, Cobb's had diabetes for a long time (before any of us usually even know they're sick) so his liver had gradually "learned" that high numbers are "normal"...now it's just going to take time to convince Mr. Liver that lower numbers are normal again

Unfortunately, this isn't a sprint, it's a marathon and all we can do is hang on and wait. I know it's not easy when we want them to be cured yesterday, and we all know the frustration you're feeling, but at least you know now, that you're doing this the right way, and whether he does great on 4 units or has to go up, you're being safe.

Don't get too wrapped up in the numbers...you're already seeing positive signs in him in that he's acting like he feels better. We learn to take joy in the little victories and just wait for the numbers to follow
 
Hi again, Suzanne,
As Lisa (Do Lou) once told me: the only thing predictable about FD is that it is unpredictable. ECID, and, in addition, every circumstance is different. Try to relax a bit and eventually it will come into perspective. I think you are wise to postpone a dose increase until you return. It will be far less worry for both you and your DH.

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks all! I appreciate it! Patience is NOT one of my best qualities but I'm trying. Just ready to see some results (which I know all or you understand!)
 
oh do we ever understand! someone wise on here pointed out that the cat is in the lead on this dance, we just learn to follow. it's very true.

if i don't "see" you before you leave tomorrow, have a nice trip! Let DH know he can post here if he wants help. I'll probably be stalking Cobb's ss to see if there's anything exciting happening! i'm warped like that. ;-) :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top