12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 PMPS:601 +5:349 +5Ketones=0.1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barn Cats R Us

Member Since 2011
Hi All: I had some issues with my back this week, therefore, I couldn't sit at the computer for a few days.

Marilyn's Last Wednesday 12/07/11: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58169

Marilyn's Today 12/11/11:
AMPS = HI = 600+
+2 = 497
+4 = 418
PMPS = HI = 600+
PMPS Ketones = 0.4 mmol/L
+1 = HI = 600+
+2 = 558 (edit to add @ 5:50 PM)
+3 = 457
+4 = 363 (edit to add @ 8:35 PM)
+5 = 349
+5 Ketones = 0.1 mmol/L
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 +2:497 PMPS:601 Ketones=0.4

julie & punkin said:
i wouldn't call it that, carl. i see high and flat. i think this is a bounce from the 181 yesterday. that's the first blue since 11/25 and likely it set off her liver.
Hi Julie: I wanted to respond during the week, but had some "physical" difficulties. I am concerned that Marilyn's "pinks" were/are considered a bounce. I was actually relieved to see the pinks, and thought the same thing...that she might be "settling-in". Obviously, since then, we can see there is no "settling-in" for Marilyn...so I guess I have some decisions to make.

julie & punkin said:
deb, the reason sienne said that yesterday about giving the dry dm to the other cats is not to prevent them from becoming diabetic, but because the dry dm is still more carbs than the low carb canned food.
Sienne was asking if I could give the other cats DM dry. I wasn't sure why there was a concern for the "others"...so that's why I was double checking before I answered her question. Marilyn's only option is 1/16 cup of DM for overnights. She doesn't always eat it, but it's there if she needs it.

julie & punkin said:
i'm in awe of your care of 12 special needs pets. how did you get so many - are you involved in pet rescue? we had 15 pets at one point in our family, but not special needs. punkin is about all we can keep up with these days, so i'm just sending you "wow you are a good person" vibes.
Thanks for the good vibes...good vibes are...well...always good! Fifteen pets, special needs or not, is still mucho work...so "good person vibes" to you too. The 10 felines are the remainder of an old barn cat colony. It's been a long time since their "outside life", and feral beginnings. I guess you could say it was one massive "rescue", which was performed in "groups", until all were safe inside. They once numbered 36...and I really should work on a "bio" for them, but it's actually not a very pretty story, since a family (an insanely stupid family) was trapping and killing them...which is why I got involved in the first place. See, it's usually better when I keep my mouth zipped. On a brighter note, the U-Haul truck with $1,000 in cages strapped down both sides, from front to back, with 20 barn cats "locked & loaded" for travel...was a sight to see. Was that a better ending?
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 +2:497 PMPS:601 Ketones=0.4

Deb,
Happy to see you back. Take care of yourself.

Marilyn.....what's up with the numbers, and with the climbing "ketone" numbers? Knock it off!

Carl
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 +2:497 PMPS:601 Ketones=0.4

How about increasing the dose to 1.75u? Also, please make sure you are adding water to Marilyn's food. It will help to manage the ketones. This is not a dangerous level for ketones but please stay on top of this. Urinary ketone testing with Ketostix is much less expensive than blood ketones providing you can stalk Marilyn to the litter box.

I'd also strongly encourage you to evaluate Marilyn's dose every 2 - 3 days. With numbers in this range, you want to increase the Lantus dose as quickly as is safe.
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 +2:497 PMPS:601 Ketones=0.4

Carl: Marilyn wants to know what you mean by "what's up with the numbers"? She has clearly stated that her numbers "are" up...that's what's up. :lol: I know it's not funny, but I'm doin' the best I can to cover-up my complete meltdown. Is it working?

Sienne: Thanks for the heads-up on the dose increase. I can certainly increase 0.25u for her AMPS cycle after midnight tonight. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to be waiting on the "bouncing" to clear.
confused_cat

As for "stalking" Marilyn to the litter box...that's not how this game is played in Marilyn's world. She would much rather I continue to purchase blood ketone strips...and what the "Orange Terror" wants, the Orange Terror gets.
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 PMPS:601 +5:349 +5Ketones=0.

Hi there,

I agree with Sienne on an increase at this time.
true, in general it's best to wait out a bounce before an increase.
In Maryilyns case however, her BGs are pretty high and she is flirting with ketones, it's important to have enough insulin on board. even if it means feeding higher carb (wet). Also a good idea to mix as much water as she will tolerate into her food.

Regarding getting a urine ketone test, some folks have success using a piece of saran wrap over the litter.

Keep in mind not enough calories + not enough insulin + infection = ketones

How is Marilyn behaving?
How is her appetite?
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 PMPS:601 +5:349 +5Ketones=0.

Hi Sandy,

Marilyn is curled up in a basket with her "Dad", big white Bubba, just like in the avatar photo. She is always responsive, as far as "answering me", when I talk to her. She comes when she is called for a BG test. She hasn't played with toys in a couple months. Her hind legs are slightly weak, so she doesn't jump up on her 400-year-old chair, although she wants too...which is better than the weeks before any insulin at all...when she showed no interest in her chair.

Her appetite is good. She eats 1 1/4 cans daily (6.88 oz...if I calculated correctly). I can switch her to 1/2 can TID, which would bump her up to 1 1/2 cans per day, or 8.25 oz., if you think that would help with ketones.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Keep in mind not enough calories + not enough insulin + infection = ketones
Does this mean she must have all three to show ketones? Meaning, it's not just "not enough insulin", but also not enough food, plus an infection? Or is ketones the infection? You've lost me on this one. Can you please clarify?

Also, saran wrap over the litter is a definite "no go". I'm getting the feeling there's a problem with using blood ketone strips...other than the obvious cost factor. I was under the impression it is the best way to test for ketones...which works out fine in my case, since it's the only way I can test Marilyn. I hope this is okay. I have the urine strips, and even if urine testing "would fly", I wouldn't test her more often than I am now. I tested her 3 times today.

Thanks so much,

Deb
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 PMPS:601 +5:349 +5Ketones=0.

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I agree with Sienne on an increase at this time.
true, in general it's best to wait out a bounce before an increase.
In Maryilyns case however, her BGs are pretty high and she is flirting with ketones, it's important to have enough insulin on board.
By the way, thanks for this explanation. It's the kind of helpful info I need to wrap my head around all of this. When my head is "unwrapped"...it's exposed to the elements...and it hurts. :-D

Seriously, thanks again. Marilyn thanks you too.
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 PMPS:601 +5:349 +5Ketones=0.

Deb,
Using a blood ketone meter is just fine. Not too many people use them, mostly due to cost. I use one with Bob. The strips are outrageously priced, as you are aware. With Bob, nobody in this world is getting close to him when he's peeing, even with a ladle taped to the end of a broomstick. He won't go near the box if somebody else is in the same room. I guess he figures if the beans can have a door where they pee, he should have the same privacy?
The meter, I think (as long as you can pay for the strips) is a better option. Ketones, I've been told, show up in the blood before they make their way to the urine, so you actually have an idea earlier that ketones may be a problem.

For me, it was just easier to buy the meter than to play stalk the peeing kitty or try saran wrap or aquarium gravel and have to deal with new and interesting ways to clean up the pee.

Carl
 
Re: 12/11/2011 Marilyn AMPS:601 PMPS:601 +5:349 +5Ketones=0.

Carl,

Thanks for the reply. I thought with Marilyn's "black & reds", it would be considered the preferred method for ketone testing. I've also "been told" they show up in blood hours before they show up in urine...but, I also thought I saw something to this effect on the test strip box itself. Sure enough, as I was feverishly searching the literature inside the box...it was printed right there on the front of the box:

"Accurate assessment of current ketone status: 2 to 4 hours earlier than urine ketones."

So this "is" the way to go...but...especially for a kitty with Marilyn's horrible numbers. As for your story about privacy, ladles, and broomsticks...thanks for making my day...I couldn't have said it better.

Thanks again,

Deb
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top