12/10, Sam, AMPS 270, +2 176,+4 45, +4.5 65, +5 65, +6.25 63, +6.75 72, +8 102, PMPS 380

chuckstables

Member Since 2022
So sam likely bounced last night. He’s breaking it really fast. Will update spreadsheed; @Wendy&Neko , any advice right now? Just keep on holding dose, testing, and see if he's doing better in a week? I need new wet food; I started feeding the friskies chicken pate, ever since then he won't touch the purina proplan wetfood I still have left over, carbs are too low to be appetizing for him at this point.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...58-5-223-10-5-112-pmps-99-1-121-2-139.271673/ last thread
 
Last edited:
Help; he’s +4 and 45. Feeding high carb wet, and a bit of dry. Gave some corn syrup on his gums. Edit; he won’t eat the wet, had to give him some dry. Squirted 1cc of corn syrup into his mouth
 
Last edited:
If you see a drop like you have at +2 176 from 270 at preshot, that is telling you this is going to be an active cycle and to be alert.
Getting a +2 is a good idea as it can give you a heads up if the cycle is going to be active or not. If the +2 is higher than the preshot, then it is most likely not going to do much that cycle but if the preshot is the same or lower, than it could be an active cycle so I would test more often to see what is happening.
Can you update the SS please?
Have you tested again yet?
 
Ok good. He is up and safe now. I would feed him some low carb food now…no more high carb …and test again in 30 minutes.
He refuses to eat wet food when he gets low. I’m giving him a bit of dry, then going out for 30 minutes to walmart to get him fancy feast, he doesn’t like his wet food much right now

EDIT; got him eating his low carb wet, hand feeding, i’ll test when i get back.
 
They can wobbly about a bit like this. Good move giving the low carb pate. Don’t feed too much in case we need him to eat more later in the cycle. I would test again in 30mins

Kk, will do. So much testing today :(. Good news is I finally got sam a big carpet to play on! He can't walk properly on my hardwood/tile, he slides around from the neuropathy and the low friction, so i got a 12 foot by 4 foot carpet, put it in the middle of my living room, now he has 48 square feet (plus another piece of carpet I had been using, so about 60 sqft now) to play around in! He's loving it! So much more calm/chill. He is not comfortable sitting anywhere that isn't carpeted.

Hopefully this keeps up with the dose reductions. I'd love to have him go into remission. This is taking a lot out of me (and my supports).
 
Kk, will do. So much testing today :(. Good news is I finally got sam a big carpet to play on! He can't walk properly on my hardwood/tile, he slides around from the neuropathy and the low friction, so i got a 12 foot by 4 foot carpet, put it in the middle of my living room, now he has 48 square feet (plus another piece of carpet I had been using, so about 60 sqft now) to play around in! He's loving it! So much more calm/chill. He is not comfortable sitting anywhere that isn't carpeted.

Hopefully this keeps up with the dose reductions. I'd love to have him go into remission. This is taking a lot out of me (and my supports).
Yes you need to reduce the dose down to 1.5 units at the next dose with that drop to 45, if the pre shot is high enough to shoot.
That’s great you have the carpet. My Sheba used to slip and slide on the boards as well. Once her numbers became more normal and with the help of Zobaline, she returned to normal.
 
He's mostly normal again with his gait, that only changed when I lowered his dose. Paradoxical how lowering the dose can lower the average blood sugar, but he certainly seems lower (and he's not gaining so much weight now; if anything he's losing a bit, which is good, as he had put on 500 grams in one month.. so an excess calorie intake of 128 calories per day).

He can jump off of the ground now, and have his entire body in the air (he can vertically jump for things). So many videos of us playing where he decides to go crazy and do like an olympic high jump to get the toy.

Should I get more than one cat post? He seems to only like chilling around the post when in my living room, even with the carpet.
 
He's at 4, so 72 mg/dl. Seems to be improving. I think I should test again in an hour to make sure he's still going up, if so then I think we can stop the intensive monitoring and just return to normal?
 
He's at 4, so 72 mg/dl. Seems to be improving. I think I should test again in an hour to make sure he's still going up, if so then I think we can stop the intensive monitoring and just return to normal?
A lovely healing cycle for Sam. Yes I would check in an hour. You need to keep checking for 2 hours after you stop any high carb food to see that he can stay up on his own. It’s ok to feed low carb during the two hours.
 
Ugh. I give up. No more post PMPS testing needed. I'll wait till tomorrow, no more food.
I would go ahead & shoot the 1.5 like you planned at PMPS & feed like you normally do. Hopefully you got a little nap in? I'm trying to see who's on so I can tag someone to help you. It's normal that he's bouncing from dropping low, you didn't do anything wrong, it happens. Your doing an awesome job! @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko
 
I would go ahead & shoot the 1.5 like you planned at PMPS & feed like you normally do. Hopefully you got a little nap in? I'm trying to see who's on so I can tag someone to help you. It's normal that he's bouncing from dropping low, you didn't do anything wrong, it happens. Your doing an awesome job! @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko
Thank you. I’m just so fing tired. I barely sleep. And every time i try to help it seems like it fails. Anyways. I’m going to go for a walk to unwind. Thanks for your help
 
My Leo is 12.5 now. Diagnosed late December 2021; insulin started, Jan 9th, this year. Peak at Leo's SS, if you want and see all the crazy up and down. I'm still learning not to go insane with this. We gotta let it go and just follow the protocol.... do our best for our fur baby. Otherwise where would they be?? Your Sam is gorgeous! :kiss: Our first kitty many years ago was a Himalayan--gorgeous blue eyes.

Hang in there. It IS a learning process, but also know that FD is so variable in what happens. If we expect B after A, welllll.... it doesn't always work that way.

You are doing great! Go easy on yourself. :bighug:
 
It is very normal to see a bounce after a lovely green cycle like the am cycle.
Until he gets used to being in green numbers again there is nothing you can do about it. The more often he can surf in green BGs the sooner he will stop bouncing. I would also give him food. Stopping feeding him because he is high is not a wise thing to do. He needs food.
FD is a journey not a race. I’m sending you some patience pants to wear. We all need them as we move along the journey.
upload_2022-12-11_20-2-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-11_20-2-23.jpeg
    upload_2022-12-11_20-2-23.jpeg
    45.3 KB · Views: 240
It is very normal to see a bounce after a lovely green cycle like the am cycle.
Until he gets used to being in green numbers again there is nothing you can do about it. The more often he can surf in green BGs the sooner he will stop bouncing. I would also give him food. Stopping feeding him because he is high is not a wise thing to do. He needs food.
FD is a journey not a race. I’m sending you some patience pants to wear. We all need them as we move along the journey.
View attachment 65853

PERFECT!!!
 
Thanks, he just isn't hungry when his blood sugar is that high. He ate a big meal this morning, was back down to 182.

I remembered there's some good posts to know when your kitty is new to insulin.... actually several which you may have read already.

If not, here they are:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/

It helps even me remember some of the many details, even almost a year later. I recall in the beginning thinking this is like a full-time job! Like I said last night, hang in there. It will get easier.
 
I remembered there's some good posts to know when your kitty is new to insulin.... actually several which you may have read already.

If not, here they are:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-basics-new-to-the-group-start-here.18139/

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/

It helps even me remember some of the many details, even almost a year later. I recall in the beginning thinking this is like a full-time job! Like I said last night, hang in there. It will get easier.

Sorry; just get frustrated when my entire life revolves around this. I didn’t actually mean to post that one lol.
 
Sorry; just get frustrated when my entire life revolves around this. I didn’t actually mean to post that one lol.

Quite understandable, in my mind. I found myself getting extremely disappointed just yesterday because Leo's numbers haven't cooperated the way I expect... 1.5U too much, but reduction to 1.25U not enough. This keeps happening and I get all sideways when it's "NDW." NDW=new dose wonkiness.

With your kitty new to insulin (as I understand it), the unregulated pattern is expected. Leo was doing pretty good, I think--maybe--until my husband ended up with some health complications in May, and finally resolved in November, but that was after a hospital stay, and two outpatient surgeries (actually involved a 24-hr observation stay). So Leo might have reacted to all the stress around here during the approx six months. Maybe.

I feel your pain. This does take over my life. No one else, but me for the BGs and insulin shots.

Hang in there!!
 
Back
Top