Steph & Quintus & L & O
Member Since 2017
Condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...beginner-other-questions.187779/#post-2084784
Here’s what I’ve understood so far:
Here’s what I’ve understood so far:
- It’s safer to have a cat swimming in sugar for a few days or even weeks than risking a hypo
- Because of depot (and other things) Lantus dose changes have an effect over the next six cycles, so it’s not until then that you can know how that dose is working
- Insulin is a hormone and not a drug, which means the effect of giving it is a little less direct and more complex than, say, amlodipine for blood pressure (which Quintus is also taking): bouncing, WDC...
- I am going to see if I can get ketone strips and U-100 syringes
- The high numbers Quintus had during the second part of this week that I thought were HC food spikes were more likely a bounce following his drop to 75 Tuesday morning
- I am going to transition him gently to DM cans (another reason to be glad I have a salary just now!)
- Varying from shooting every 12 hours can have consequences, so particularly given this week I’m going to be away 15h a day two days in a row, he’s better off on a dose that is too low than too high
- It’s going to be rare that I have a week that allows me to religiously do 12/12. Does that mean Quintus is condemned to staying in black and red numbers, or can I hope for better?
- I’m using my vet’s spare glucometer, which they are generously lending. I guess I should get my own. I struggle with the idea of getting a human one which just feels wrong given what I understand of the different blood composition and glucose distribution in cats and humans. Also, bear in mind I’m in Switzerland, which is not Even Europe, so what I might find here might be very country-specific... that’s how we are
- Tomorrow and Tuesday when I get home around 8-9pm having done the am shot at 6am, what would your recommendations be I do?
- I’m thinking of sticking to 2ui this week, with maybe 1.5 on Tuesday and Wednesday mornings given the late evening shots, and doing a curve on Saturday (I could do one on Wednesday but I’m not sure it’ll be useful given what Monday/Tuesday will look like)
- I’m thinking of introducing some DM food during the week given I’ve lowered the dose and i can already see his numbers going back up (+1 436, +4 544)

