12/10 - Pip - AMPS 311, +1 302, +6 284, +8 265, PMPS 234, +2 232

SarahJeanne

Member Since 2025
yesterday

Monsieur Pip is Back to the pinks this morning but not too high.
He actually went up to his testing box for his morning treat when I woke up... it's starting to work :)

exam from 8 to 11am then home for Pip then I take Tiny for a checkup cause he has weird bumps on his tiny little abdomen.

It never stops... hope my tiny bud is ok
 
yesterday

Monsieur Pip is Back to the pinks this morning but not too high.
He actually went up to his testing box for his morning treat when I woke up... it's starting to work :)

exam from 8 to 11am then home for Pip then I take Tiny for a checkup cause he has weird bumps on his tiny little abdomen.

It never stops... hope my tiny bud is ok
Hope Pip comes back down gently today. ๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿ„โ€โ™‚๏ธ
Youโ€™re doing great Sarah!

I hope all is ok with Tiny, good luck at the vet ๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ˜ป๐Ÿ’–
 
Came home in time for +6 but it seems like Pip is stuck in the pinks and yellows still :(

How long before I raise his dose?

thank you
 
From the TR guidelines, "Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)." This AM is your tenth cycle so technically you could increase as soon as tonight if you wanted to. Some folks (myself included) prefer to increase during the day so you're also okay to wait til tomorrow or the next day you'll be home longer if you want.
 
From the TR guidelines, "Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)." This AM is your tenth cycle so technically you could increase as soon as tonight if you wanted to. Some folks (myself included) prefer to increase during the day so you're also okay to wait til tomorrow or the next day you'll be home longer if you want.
Maybe I shoulf wait until Friday PM so I'm with him all weekend?

I have school the next 2 days
 
That would make 14 cycles at 2u so that's probably fine! No history of ketones, right? Are you testing for them at home?
 
That would make 14 cycles at 2u so that's probably fine! No history of ketones, right? Are you testing for them at home?
Still getting the hang of home testing
I dipped the test strip too long last time and it was just grey and nothing like any of the colors to look for

I will try to put a little shotglass under him next time he pees I'm sure I can figure it out :)

He had no signs of ketones on his blood pannel on November 19th when he was diagnosed with diabetes :)
 
I use a ladle (one I bought just for the cat, lol) to catch his sample. I also find it helpful to have the timer app pulled up on my phone before I dip the strip so I'm ready to go as soon as I do it.

But it's a good sign he didn't have any at diagnosis! That makes it a little safer to wait an extra day or two for the increase.
 
Because you're not going to be around during the daytime, if you're going to increase, Friday evening is best because of the longer time window to see where an increase takes Pip. I'm assuming you know that we dose in the quarter units, so an increase would be from 2 units to 2.25.
 
Tiny at the vet :)

Fingers crossed results of a mass biopsy is nothing bad!
 

Attachments

  • 20251210_154255.jpg
    20251210_154255.jpg
    1.6 MB · Views: 23
What is your schedule like for school days, ie. the next couple days? You may decide increasing in the PM is better because you can get more early tests then than during the day. The problem with waiting for the weekend to increase is that it can take 5-6 cycles for the depot to fill after an increase, meaning you'd see what the dose can do on Monday - when you can't monitor as closely.

Ketones test tip, test yourself to get an idea what it should look like and get the timing right. Hopefully negative!

Sending lots of boring biopsy vines your way. ๐Ÿƒ BTW, "vines" is one of our lingo words here. Someone once typed "vines" for "vibes", and it stuck. Waiting for biopsies takes forever, I am on day 13 waiting for kitty biopsy results. :nailbiting:
 
I love Tiny so much. Was that with Dr. L? If so, what did he say?
No Dr.L didnt have room for all 4 of my cats so I transfered Pip to him and the other 3 to a clinic a friend recommended closer to my place.

Paid 600 today... sample being sent for testing and I got cream for his allergy bumps, new new new food (hes allergic to everything), and some omega 3 supplements.

I am truly exhausted
 
What is your schedule like for school days, ie. the next couple days? You may decide increasing in the PM is better because you can get more early tests then than during the day. The problem with waiting for the weekend to increase is that it can take 5-6 cycles for the depot to fill after an increase, meaning you'd see what the dose can do on Monday - when you can't monitor as closely.

Ketones test tip, test yourself to get an idea what it should look like and get the timing right. Hopefully negative!

Sending lots of boring biopsy vines your way. ๐Ÿƒ BTW, "vines" is one of our lingo words here. Someone once typed "vines" for "vibes", and it stuck. Waiting for biopsies takes forever, I am on day 13 waiting for kitty biopsy results. :nailbiting:
Well I am suposed to have school from 8 to 3:30 the next 2 days but I think I coming down with something so I might stay home if not well enough.

Maybe I should do it thursday evening that way I can closely monitor cycles 3 to 7 from Friday to Sunday?
 
Back
Top