12/10 Oscar amps 156 +5 159 pmps 191 - overdue update!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kelly & Oscar

Member Since 2010
previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=29716&p=305892

The semester is finally over! Time to breathe @-)

Oscar has been doing wonderfully lately - lots of blues and greens. Our amended protocol seems to be working well for him. Whenever I get impatient and want to lower his dose when he earns it but has only been at that dose for a few days - I get yellows. Just goes to show that patience is a virtue lol. I am still trying to hold doses for around 5 days, if he has earned a reduction by then, then I can reduce, but not before. If he only goes low one time on a dose - we hold the dose. If he repeatedly needs MC food, then we will take down the dose after 4-5 days.

His asthma has been doing great. I am playing around with the idea of bringing down his flovent from 3 puffs 250 BID to 2 puffs 250 + 1 puff 125 BID. My parents gave my husband and I an early Christmas present on Black Friday - a Dyson vacuum! Ever since we have been using that, Oscar has acted like a different kitty. Up walking around a lot, wanting to sleep with us on the couch, and joining us on the bed. Previously he would just sleep at the top of his cat tower all the time.

Two days ago I noticed he had lots of muscle spasms on his left side while laying in my lap. I took him to the vet yesterday and everything checked out ok. They suggested that his electrolytes may be slightly off and that is causing the spasms. He got fairly dehydrated somehow on our car trip to my parents for Thanksgiving, and he still goes to the water bowl to drink - the only cat in my house that still does this. I am going to run out today and pick up a few bottles of SmartWater - an electrolyte enhanced water that contains no sugar. I'll start adding this to his food instead of regular water and see if the twitches return.
 
PMPS is slightly higher at 191. This may be a mini bounce from the low last night. It will probably come down from here, I hope!
 
Re: 12/10 Oscar amps 156 +5 159 - overdue update!

I've been peeking, Kelly! ;-) I saw how nice Oscar's numbers were looking, I've been waiting for an update...but I knew from your last update that you were busy. It looks like you have a system that's working well. I like that you increased again as soon as you saw yellow! :-D

Great news that Oscar's asthma is improving, I guess the Dyson vacs are worth it! I hope the Smart water makes a difference for his muscle twitches.
 
Oscar's SS is looking great!

I would check with your vet about the SmartWater. I haven't a clue what the sodium/potassium balance needs to be in cats, but it's not something you want to get out of whack. Best to find out if using this would be OK vs. needing an ER visit.
 
Thanks for the word of caution about it. The vet is the one who recommended pedialyte - but I wanted to find something without sugar. I ran it by them this morning and they said that it sounded just fine. I would probably only add it as a supplement for maybe a week at most. He shouldn't need any more than that anyway.

Laurie - its nice to know someone was keeping check on us when things got hectic! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top