12/10 Myagi amps 338 1st reduction!, +3 249, pmps 113, +.5 136, +.8 145, +1 206, +2 222, +11 328

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looking good, nice to see him coming back down. Paws crossed you see blue again soon.

:cool: hope so too! Thanks! If I recall from other threads, you're a bit of a caliper pro right? I've watched videos and I don't see how it'll help with micro doses since its still down to your eyes and the syringe stopper being so huge. I don't have one yet. I used a sharpie this am to mark 0.25 on the syringe and it went well. But how do you draw "drops"? (Cause that's where Mr man should head next! Lol :D)
 
Last edited:
Pmps 113. Haven't fed or shot 0.25 yet. What to do? He hasn't eaten so he's not going up so stalling seems futile. But does skipping again mean he'll be 300 amps again? :oops::(
 
Sorry, I just don't know SLGS, but this is from the SLGS sticky:

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat.
 
Can you stall for another 20 minutes?

The number is going up, so it's kind of up to you.....if you shoot tonight, you'll need to monitor as long as necessary

Also, you'll have to remember to shoot later in the morning if you shoot late tonight
 
I'd go ahead and shoot the .25 if you've got plenty of supplies and can test tonight

Get a +1 and +2 so if you need to, you can intervene early

If you're too tired, there's no reason you can't skip again either....it's obvious Myagi will recover from the skipped shot soon enough
 
Last edited:
I'd go ahead and shoot the .25 if you've got plenty of supplies and can test tonight

Get a +1 and +2 so if you need to, you can intervene early

If you're too tired, there's no reason you can skip again either....it's obvious Myagi will recover from the skipped shot soon enough
So funny! I typed before I got your message! Xo :bighug:
 
I'm exhausted but he's leading right???

Welcome to the wonderful world of feline diabetes....otherwise known as the wonderful world of sleep deprivation!!...LOL

Seriously, it's up to you. He recovered from the last skipped shot, he'll do it again so don't push yourself beyond your limits.

You can't help him if you're sick and there's flu going around so rest is important.

If you can handle it, go ahead and shoot the .25 and get a +1 and +2
 
Welcome to the wonderful world of feline diabetes....otherwise known as the wonderful world of sleep deprivation!!...LOL

Seriously, it's up to you. He recovered from the last skipped shot, he'll do it again so don't push yourself beyond your limits.

You can't help him if you're sick and there's flu going around so rest is important.

If you can handle it, go ahead and shoot the .25 and get a +1 and +2
I know but the holiday is coming and so are my sisters and all the hideous unpleasantness and stress that comes with their proximity. Easier to handle this now. Love and thanks! Will test and post.
 
Just for me so today notes all on this thread. Replies always welcome though.
Myagi was great today before and after I worked. All Ps good. Great appetite bathing playing cuddling with Millie. In closet now cause he tolerates every 2 hour pokes but cannot abide every 20 minutes pokes! Eyes bright and alert.
 
Your SS reminds me of another kitty/bean that struggled with preshot numbers and had to skip shots early on. Check out his SS (TR, not SLGS, but still, an interesting read):

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...xpxg6pzZcBXiR346Q0gNhaXQnRkjLDU1P6JHe/pubhtml

I actually read most of Tim and Paws posts the amazingly brief time they were here. Friday was his official otj day! So exciting! I just assumed Paws was the exception. Wouldn't it be cool if Myagi was too!? I just want him happy and healthy and strong... So whatever it takes and however it looks. As long as my boy is healthy. My mom's diabetic and i keep her healthy. Whatever it takes. :bighug::bighug:
 
I'd say you're going to be able to get some sleep tonight!!

If you happen to get up in the middle of the night (a lot of us drink a big glass of water to make sure we do!), grab a test....otherwise, I think you're going to be OK

Might want to grab a +11 if you think you might need some advice in the morning....at least if you get a +11, by AMPS you'll know if he's heading up or down
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top