12/10 Musette Day #4 split-dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's thread http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=58273

Okay Okay I know I need to dig out my BOS and start shooting that second dose in the evenings to prevent these higher numbers in the mornings. I suspect today she is bouncing from last night and her really great run of blue numbers yesterday as she still isn't use to seeing those numbers for so long, as well as the fact that I chickened out on shooting the second half of her dose last night. At least one thing in our favor is next week DH is going to be out of town all weeks so if I start shooting low to stay low on the PM shot I can set the alarm to wake up and check her throughout the night, I have been hesitant to do that since Musette sleeps with us, on DH's pillow most nights and to get evening spot checks on her would mean waking everyone up.

So with DH gone this next couple of weeks except on the weekends it will be easier for me to spot check her at night and hopefully by the time he gets home on the weekends I will have enough data to feel secure in shooting low to stay low and also know if I need to start shaving down the dose a little bit to make sure she is in safe numbers over night.

But even with being a chicken about shooting low overnight, I still can't complain about her overall average the last few days it has been steadily falling, so at least she is getting more and more time in the good numbers.

AMPS#1 ~ 361 .5u - fed 1/4 can Mixed Grill (8% carbs)
AMPS#2 ~ 323 .5u
+4 ~ 211
+6 ~ 77
+8 ~ 86
+10 ~ 195
pmps#1 ~ 247
pmps#2 ~ 251
+4 ~ 161
______________
Average 212

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Hi Mel,

I am glad to see the split shots are working some magic on Musette.

Comment 26 on your SS says you did give the 2nd PM shot on Friday night, but the remarks section of your SS and this post says you didn't. You might want to revise comment 26.

I'm sorry to see Jon gone for awhile, but it will give you a chance to work with the PM dosage.
 
Well if you look at her spreadsheet for Friday I didn't give her the first shot until her second shot was due because she was down to 103 by her pmps#1, then even though I waited up with her for several hours I wasn't comfortable giving her the second one at 122 and going to bed for the night. Maybe I just didn't make that clear on her SS, hope I have fixed it so it is clearer.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
Mel,

Having done split shots with Bastian, my take on this treatment approach--sometimes split shots is PRN (when need) approach to dosing. And from your SS, you seem to understand that.

Sometimes, with Bastian, I felt like I was an insulin pump for his Lantus when giving him insulinPRN. It took a lot of BG testing, but you are doing that.
 
Yeah that 120 is pretty much my comfort zone for a "no shot" cut-off, especially at night, until I can get some more evening cycle tests in. I need to find out what her patterns are going to be at what numbers, to know when she can handle and really needs insulin and when it needs to be skipped. Much rather her be a little higher in the mornings than to drop too low during the night.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top