12/10 Mikey AMPS 398 +7/407 PMPS 400 +1/402

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 INCREASE DOSE?

i'd increase back to 1.5units too - it's not a step backwards at all. think of it more like a dance - two steps forward, one step backwards, two steps sideways . . . always your goal is to keep mikey in as healthy numbers as possible.

with punkin having acromegaly we got up at 15.5 units before he got the radiation treatment in september that's causing his BG numbers to improve and his dose to come down. i gotta say giving high doses is very, very discouraging. you think "as long as it doesn't go over x, i can take it." someone told me to not worry about the size of the dose, just to give him what he needs to stay healthy. that was great advice and i'm passing it on to you.

a lot of times (maybe every time) you have to go up to come down in dose. just part of this. you're doing great!
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 INCREASE DOSE?

Libby & Lucy said:
See where he goes by tonight. I would rather see him get back to the flat yellow and blue/green where he was before, so if he drops today or if he stays yellow tonight, it might be worth holding this dose to see if he can stay in this range. If he goes back up by tonight, I would probably go ahead and increase.

Based on what Libby suggested, I'd hold the dose. The pink AMPS is probably a bounce off of the blue last night.
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 INCREASE DOSE?

i would always defer to libby & sienne's advice - so if you haven't already shot . . . if you have, don't worry. take it back down tonight to the 1.25.
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 INCREASE DOSE?

ok. thanks. I shot 1.5u.

was also able to get ketone test wich is negative.
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 INCREASE DOSE?

ok. so I didn't see Sienne's post before I shot :sad:

Do I shoot 1.25u tonight regardless or see how his #'s are first?

I will try to post as often as I can but I am volunteering all afternoon until 6pm so I won't be able to test him that much throughout the day.
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 INCREASE DOSE?

I would wait to see what Mikey's numbers look like. What's at issue is increasing during a bounce vs. keeping the dose consistent. I think a wait and see is warranted. If you hold the dose, you just will need to make sure that Mikey doesn't surprise you with a big drop in numbers.
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 INCREASE DOSE?

I just need some clarification on what Sienne stated
If you hold the dose,

Does that mean if I hold the dose at 1.5u or 1.25u? Or wait to see how his numbers are?
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 +1/412

I think she meant keep an eye on his numbers this cycle so he doesn't surprise you with a big drop...
then decide on tonight's dose based on what happens this cycle :-D

and Hello!

celi
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 +1/412 +7/407

Is it safe to assume with his high numbers today I should shoot 1.5u tonight? Can I just get the PMPS test or do I need others?
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 +1/412 +7/407

I would stick with the 1.5u. I'm not the best person to ask about testing. I like data. How about getting one test tonight just to make sure Mikey doesn't have a surprise in store?

For next time, it's best not to increase your dose on a bounce.
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 +1/412 +7/407

thanks Sienne,
I will test him again tonight before PS. I asked about the testing because for some reason he is very agitated the past few days. He started to growl when I go to try to test him. I'm not sure why he's acting like that and if I didn't have to test so frequently with his numbers so high, I would just prefer not to agitate him. I know how important the data is so if I need to I will. I was kind of saving the numerous pokes in the hope he was going to go lower

For future reference is noted not to increase dose on a bounce. I think it was confusing because his numbers were high for so long and then when I finally decided to increase the dose he went down.
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 +1/412 +7/407

Oh. No one told you? These are cats we're dealing with. Their primary job is to keep us confused and to be unpredictable!

Don't get more than one test tonight if Mikey's numbers stay high. He may be crabby due to how his numbers are swinging around. I think some extra treats are in order. (For both of you!)
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 +1/412 +7/407

very funny :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm absolutely confused and he is very unpredictable. I keep telling my fiance it's like preparation for having a baby!

now that you mention it, the last time he was this "crabby" was when I first got him. When his numbers are low he is so different. Understandable. I will give him some catnip-he LOVES that!!! I had enough treats this week, so I'm going to pass tonight. Although, in a post a while back, Marje gave me a list of things I needed to get "for him". The last thing was "chocolate". I thought to myself, for real? Diabetic cat eats chocolate? I thought it was a no-no for regular cats. Oh well, there's a lot I had to learn so maybe this was another thing. Then I continued to read...the chocolate was for me! I was hysterical laughing!
 
Re: 12/10 Mikey +9.5 192 AMPS 398 +1/412 +7/407

:lol: it seems cats read our condos and when people threaten a dose increase, the cat's BG drops. they like to keep us guessing!

i think having one's blood sugar go up and down must be like someone taking my caffeine away. or giving me too much - you want the same amount every day and too much makes my hands shake and i can't sleep, too little and i feel like a truck ran over me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top