12/10 Mačka AMPS 321, +4 227 PMPS 314, +4 119, +5 88, +6 91, +8 77, +10 105- PJ party

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-103-6-102-pmps-210-no-greens-but-wow.222715/

Mačka is still down. I don't understand what's going on. Usually, he greets me at the door, comes to the kitchen whenever I go, just to make sure there's food for him... walks around the house. But in the last 3 days, he's been staying in his basket, sleeping. He eats, but will not come to his bowl. He had diarrhea for one day, but poops look normal now. I thought it could be the lower numbers, but today he is not that low anymore (dang).

His eyes and nose are slightly runny. I wonder if he caught something at the vet, when he went for his rabies booster? (5 days ago) I hope it's nothing more serious, not before we take the plane and go to France etc...
 
I gave this to Chanel:
https://www.homeopet.com/product/feline-nose-relief/
She was having some breathing issues and since the vet ruled out asthma, I was thinking maybe she caught some cold from sitting all day long on the floor. She was also sneezing, not every day, but still there was some sneezing going on and since we cannot say she was allergic to cat hair :))....She was very accepting, just 5 drops 3times/day in some little Fancy Feast and she does not seem to breath that hard now. But it took almost a week to see the results.
Is he sneezing or coughing?
 
Is he sneezing or coughing?
Thank you Laura! Actually, Macka is diabetic, but the runny nose is very different from his asthmatic symptoms.
He does not sneeze at all. And no coughing.

I have to see my vet next Monday for a check up before we leave for France. It's a good and a bad thing: she'll be able to assess him if he is still feeling down but, imagine he catches something else!!

I just got home and again, he did not greet me. However, he purred when I approached him in his basket. But he went back to sleeping right away. He had a clear bubble on his nostril. Is this a cold?
 
Last edited:
I would not leave it until next Monday to see the vet, because of your trip to France. If it is something that needs treating, it is better to get it started sooner rather than later
. You don't want Macka unwell on the plane.
Yeah, I am debating now. We leave on the 24th, and the 16th was to get his health certificate so he can enter France.
He is vaccinated against upper respiratory viruses, so I don't understand.
 
Thank you Laura! Actually, Macka is diabetic, but the runny nose is very different from his asthmatic symptoms.
He does not sneeze at all. And no coughing.

I have to see my vet next Monday for a check up before we leave for France. It's a good and a bad thing: she'll be able to assess him if he is still feeling down but, imagine he catches something else!!

I just got home and again, he did not greet me. However, he purred when I approached him in his basket. But he went back to sleeping right away. He had a clear bubble on his nostril. Is this a cold?
Chanel is also diabetic and unfortunately the vet did not know how to deal with the breathing issue. So, I had to go to Petco and figure out something OTC and she got better. Her eyes were a little too wet for my taste. Now she is fine.
I will pray for your baby to have a great day at the vet and a fast recovery. But please, take him sooner to the vet.:)
 
Before I could read your replies, I went to the pet store and found Lysine bites. I also bought freeze dried treats.

I gave two of each to Macka and he loved it, the problem is, he barfed them all 20 minutes later, so now I don't know which treat made him barf... Hoping it's nothing else. Ahhhhh....

However, as I am writing these lines, he climbed on the sofa and is now purring on my lap, all very happy.... :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Before I could read your replies, I went to the pet store and found Lysine bites. I also bought free dried treats.

I gave two of each to Macka and he loved it, the problem is, he barfed them all 20 minutes later, so now I don't know which treat made him barf... Hoping it's nothing else. Ahhhhh....

However, as I am writing these lines, he climbed on the sofa and is now purring on my lap, all very happy.... :banghead:
I would give one of them tomorrow and wait to see if there is a reaction. If nothing then the following day give the other treat by itself and wait to see if there’s a reaction. If none, then the following day give one treat in the morning and the other treat at night. Hopefully you’ll be able to give both in one day with no adverse reactions!
 
Could he have an allergy?
Clover gets a very watery eye around our spring each year. If left untreated it becomes red and the area above it is swollen and red too.
If I give her 1/2 Zyrtec each day it goes away. May be worth trying.
That could be. Also, and related, he's having asthma crises at the moment. The weather is rainy, and it happens to him with changes of air (dry>wet and warm>cold). The other thing I am thinking of is, I just put a Turkish rug in the living-room. It was shipped from Turkey, and maybe he's allergic to some Turkish plant? In France he used to have asthma all the time, but in Oregon, it happens very rarely.
I have Albuterol at hand, but no Zyrtec. I'll ask the vet tomorrow.
 
It could easily be the case with the Turkish rug. When Clover was living in an apartment (newly built) for a year about 1/2 hour away with my daughter she used to have the problem with her eye all the time. Each time she came to me she would get better. Now she’s here with me all the time she only gets it in spring for a short time.
Zyrtec 10mg is a human drug you can get over the counter. Cats can have 1/2 tablet (5mg) once a day. You will just have to ask the vet if it interacts with any of Macka other meds.
 
Agreed with Bron.

But as to what I do with Ming, I go to bed either when I get a rising number without food (usually 2 hours after food) or if I get a crazy high number which = bounce. But again, that’s with Ming. It also depends where in the cycle I encounter these higher or lower numbers. If it’s before what you believe is Macka’s nadir, I wouldn’t sleep just yet.
 
But as to what I do with Ming, I go to bed either when I get a rising number without food (usually 2 hours after food) or if I get a crazy high number which = bounce. But again, that’s with Ming
Can you go to sleep in between tests? Every hour a little nap?

His nadir is usually at +6 or +7, so that's in 1 and 2 hours. The food will still be effective though, I think. Actually, +6 is now in 15 minutes. I'm losing it.
 
+8 = 77. Last time he ate was three hours ago.
i just gave him another spoon of MC

it worries me hat he’s not coming back up yet
It’s better to give low carb when they are surfing like he is. Reserve the MC and HC for under 50.
Rejoice in the fact he is finally getting some lovely healing green numbers. Don’t worry that he is still surfing at +8 ... that’s great. Just not great that it is at night and you are awake:D
 
If he’s hungry and you want to feed him another teaspoon.. make it low carb.
Ok I gave him a spoon of LC.
Should I test again in 45 minutes? (+9).

in the eventuality his AMPS is green or blue, what should I do? If green, no shoot right? But even if it’s blue, after a night like this? Wouldn’t it be dangerous?
 
Ok I gave him a spoon of LC.
Should I test again in 45 minutes? (+9).

in the eventuality his AMPS is green or blue, what should I do? If green, no shoot right? But even if it’s blue, after a night like this? Wouldn’t it be dangerous?
Test again at +9
Let’s see what he is at AMPS before deciding.
I’d get a +11 and then at AMPS you can see if he’s rising still.
When you get the AMPS post and ask advise. I’m just heading to bed but others will be up.
Great cycle tonight. Well done Macka and Penelope!
 
Back
Top