12/10 Jack amps 318 +5 275 +10 255

Status
Not open for further replies.

saltycat

Member Since 2016
friday condo

"we're gonna need a bigger boat" Jack is now at 30u, no more room for increases with just one syringe. Hopefully we can get this trial going and start going down the ladder instead of up. They need 3 igf-1 tests the first week so I need a full week where I can get him to the vet and have the vet be open, looks like we will have to wait until after christmas to get the ball rolling.

So far the numbers look encouraging this morning, will see how the day goes. Even with double snacks he has been losing a little weight, hopefully just due to the recent higher numbers.

His new annoy the bean game is making it to the litter box but forgetting to pop a squat. The box has high sides(I cut the top off a covered box), but lately he steps in and does his thing... butt pointing right out the entry, the ONE spot that doesn't have the high sides. bad cat bad! The civvie was afraid of the door on the box which is why it got modified. One more thing to try to Jack proof, he keeps me busy.

Hope all the kitties and beans are having a good weekend.
 
Oh Jack....aim please:rolleyes: Doodles is too big for any LG to be covered. He has an XXL box. When his neuropathy was bad he couldn't get in it because the sides were too high. He settled for a smaller one but would pee on his feet and clumps of litter were stuck to him. The poor boy was always getting his feet washed and his feet were very sensitive. On top of that he would kick the litter so hard it was everywhere but still in the box:mad: I was sooo happy when that was over.

Have you thought about splitting the dose and using 2 syringes? Think it was @julie & punkin (ga) that mentioned absorption might be better. I realize going through syringes like crazy is not economical :( He earned a reduction at the 29u so hopefully this increase will get him into nice safe numbers. Not sure about the weight loss being a result of his numbers..they haven't been great but aren't really that high nor has it been a long time period. Then again what the heck do I know...something to watch.

I really hope getting him into that trial does wonders.
 
Work that increase Jack - we want GREEN!

Over time, Neko's arthritis made it harder for her to squat as much as she used to. I ended up with pee pads around the edge to catch any spill overs. Any chance Jack is seeing some arthritis in his back end? It's one of the possible acro changes. I found treating the arthritis helped Neko's mobility. Might be something to get the vet to check out.
 
Here's hoping you can get into the trail soon as I can't imagine giving that much insulin and having kitty sit still.

About the LB issue, ( I vividly pictured Jack spraying out the opening of the box :eek:) If he does not have any arthritis, you might get a large clothes storage bin, the kind you store sweaters in. They are quite high 11.5 " compared to 8.5" a litter box and large enough for when Bubba was 25 lbs. Even if he goes into the box and just sprays, it's going to hit the side of the bin.
 
Oh Jack....aim please:rolleyes:
My brother died laughing years ago, we were in the garage and he used his garage box and started peeing while still standing. I calmly walked over and pushed his rear down and he just kept going... modesty is apparently not in his vocabulary. He does get litterfoot too, I don't know why he thinks it is a good idea to go right in front of the exit and then walk through it.

The 2 syringes would make for a good experiment at the least, if I try it I'll make sure to post the results. Besides the pokers, that is probably the 2nd cheapest thing in his cabinet. The weightloss has me a bit confused as well, since giving him 2 extra oz a day he has lost a bit more... or I tested before a litter box call.:cool:

I ended up with pee pads around the edge
That will be the next step, I've just had some newspaper down to confine it, but the pads would probably make cleanup a little easier. I'll have to ask her to check for arthritis at his next bw vet visit. I had chalked up the rear leg issues to neuropathy but hadn't thought too much about arthritis. He has definitely gotten a little slower the last 6 months, but still hops up pretty quick for a test & treat or meal time.

About the LB issue
This one has very high sides, it was an enclosed one with just the top cut out and the door taken off so the prissy civvie isn't scared to go in. I'd guess about 17" high. The only low spot is where he climbs in, and since he seems to just step in and go, the cannon is still facing right out the only low spot:facepalm:
 
I'd bet on arthritis too. Cosequin is the first step (we didn't find it did anything), Dausequin and Adequan are other options. The adequan helped punkin. If I remember correctly, it increases the efficacy of fluid in the joints.

Just found this blog post by a vet on the topic: http://www.petmd.com/blogs/fullyvetted/2010/march/adequan_cats_dogs-7028

Looking at his ss . . . IF these higher numbers are a bounce from the green 98, tomorrow morning would be 3 days. He's had a dose increase since then, so if he were mine, I'd be watching in the next 12 hours to see if he is going to drop into anything lower. He might not - it could've been from the 4u of R that was given the day before, but just in case I thought I'd mention it. You've probably already thought of it.

I'm interested in whatever you're doing with the RVC. Very exciting. I went back a few days so have a little idea that he's going to be getting help from them. Is it part of a study, or just consulting? What's the reason for the 3 IGF tests?
 
Oh - and as far as the arthritis, your vet will be able to tell by just moving his limbs. At least mine could identify which joints were involved. We did cold laser treatments on punkin, also acupuncture, and settled eventually with giving him bupe twice a day for the rest of his life. It was just a matter of trying the options and seeing what helped/didn't help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top