Good job shooting.
If you catch him dropping at +1, you may want to bring the scheduled feed forward to +1 instead of +2. Also consider feeding higher than 2%carb if you catch him dropping at +1 or +2.
Although you reduced, the depot of the recent larger doses are still at work , so he may still get a very active cycle.
I'll check in on you in an hour see how Henry is doing.
Does he not get a regular snack in the early hours of the cycle?His schedule food occurred at AMPS
No regular snack only to influence BG numbers but no snack just for the sake of itDoes he not get a regular snack in the early hours of the cycle?
Looking at the info on the SS, it seems that you usually give him a programed meal at +5.5 of 2.4ounces/2% carb. Perhaps today instead of feeding him all that then you could split the meal. Giving him half of it at +2 (it may help to flatten his curve and stop him bottoming out on you).
If he is in the 50s or low 60's at +2 you might want to swap it for 8% carbs instead at +2.
Thanks I worked it out from the info on the SS.No regular snack only to influence BG numbers but no snack just for the sake of it
Thanks I worked it out from the info on the SS.
Did you see my post about maybe splitting his meal today, giving him half of it at +2?
this is to influence the curve and flatten him out.
Does that mean you will try it today?Yes
Yes we will do so moving forward (split)
Does that mean you will try it today?
We cross posted.
I would keep the amps and pmps meals as you have them now.then we have (2) midpoints feedings (+5.5 & +5.5)
so amps 2.4ounce
+2 1.2 ounce
+5 1.2 ounce
pmps 2.4ounce
+2 1.2 ounce
+4 1.2 ounce
It would be better to keep, his larger, main meal at shot time, and then split his midcycle meal.
If you reduce the amps and pmps meal, you will likely see him drop harder at onset, and we want to avoid this.
Sorry for not explaining it more clearly from the start.OK will do
Sorry for not explaining it more clearly from the start.
That +2 must be about due??
OK that's fine.OK the + 2 split of 1.2oz is being given now at +2.45
OK that's fine.
Still flat at +2, so usually this can indicate an active cycle, but probably not one where he will dive like crazy on you.
Of course, cat's don't always read the FD handbook us humans get, and they can throw surprises, given the change in Henry in the last week, I don't trust him, something has changed, possible the stopping the dry food (even though it is allegedly LC) may have influenced him somewhat.
I think you are OK to leave him till +4 for his next test.
thanks, even a small amount can impact numbers hugely.(84% wet, 16% DRY)
What a handsome fella he is!Here's a current picture of Henry enjoying a Sunny 62 degree day in southern Indiana
You folks need to see he's feeling great from all of your efforts
Thank You
View attachment 58533
Handsome boy!Here's a current picture of Henry enjoying a Sunny 62 degree day in southern Indiana
You folks need to see he's feeling great from all of your efforts
Thank You
View attachment 58533
It’s easier to not mix foods with different carbs if you can avoid it. Keep it simpleWill get another BG reading at PMPS +2
30 minutes from now
Will feed Henry ==> 1.2oz of 2% carb
If it drops 30 points do I feed Henry a mix of (2) tsps of 10% in conjunction with 1.2oz 2%??
It’s easier to not mix foods with different carbs if you can avoid it. Keep it simpleI’d go with what you know stops his drop and let’s him start a surf.
You all are doing a good job learning how to feed Henry to keep him flat. This morning was “textbook”. As you can see, Henry is definitely telling you ge likes going lower at night. It’s important to try and keep his BG up enough to avoid a reduction. His dose has dropped a lot in six days. I don’t want him to stall out with too many reductions too fast but we still have to keep him safe....which means there are times you must take a reduction like that 49 the other night.
I love his picture! He’s so handsome.
Come on back up, Henry.Henry's BG reading @ PMPS +3 is (64)
Fed (2) tsps of 10%
Outstanding. See how you all are getting a feel for what you need to feed him at what time?
IMHO, I would not reduce the dose again so soon.
I knew you would!OK, I will not reduce unless you folks give your approval - I'm getting more comfortable with low numbers