12/10 Gabby AMBG~42, PMPS~217, +4.5~100

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow...what a wake up call! You did just remind me...Trix was also still OnTJ when she first started fluids and I ultimately found out that I had to separate her insulin and fluids locations on her body, otherwise her numbers would tank no matter how much time I gave her between doing her shot and doing the fluids. What finally kept her numbers stable was doing her fluids in the shoulder region and doing her insulin in her flank. She wasn't thrilled with the flank shot, but she eventually did get used to it.

Trix occasionally decides to walk off in the middle of fluids even after almost two years...we all get a rather pricey bath at times!
 
wow no need for coffee when you get a pre shot number like that!
I had to give another of my babies fluids due to kidney disease. I missed quite a few times and yes managed to give her a bath, myself, and the wall lol.
 
Morning Sienne :coffee::coffee::coffee:

:eek: wow, wake up call indeed, and a for sure on the no shot when one cannot be home. Surf well Gabby! and think up, just a little.

Bath? you are one brave woman.... ;)

Have a great day today Sienne.
 
The skipped shot should deplete the depot some. Hopefully she will not skyrocket!

Gabby, be a good girl while mama is not home :)
 
42? REALLY Gabby? Can't you do anything without drama? :)

Sienne, yep - definitely an eye-opener. I'm glad to read someone else gives those baths. When Dakota decides he's had enough of sitting still and licking his catnip pillow, he rolls over suddenly and quickly pulling the needle out. At least it's easy to clean up. :)

Hope sweet girl starts feeling better. HUGS to you and headbutts for Gizzy too!
 
Oh yes. Spraying fluids all over the bathroom, nicking a capillary and having a streak of blood dribble down the side of a white cat, having a cat pee on me during fluids, wrestling my Patch to the ground just to discover that the set line was still clipped shut at the top and I'd have to set the cat free to unclip the line. Yes. Fluiding offers it's challenges!

All worth it for the benefits.

Lots of vines for Gabby and you.

Marilyn and Polly
 
All I can offer is support and :bighug::bighug:. I did a bit of fluids when I worked at the local shelter, but never became what I would call good at it. Of course doing fluids with a cat that doesn't know you also has challenges. Doing it in an easy place to mop is important.
 
It will get easier. :bighug:
I so remember the first time I gave Ripley her squids: she and I both got baths, and the wall, and her rocking chair...
Sending vines and support. :bighug:
 
Not a bad PMPS for a skipped shot. It does get easier over time. I hope watching Gus's video will continue to help and I'm going to try and get some smaller gauge needles into the mail to you tomorrow.
 
Hi Sienne,
Sending more appy vines to Gabby.
I'm sure Gabby and you will both get a hang of it very soon, so she will have more fluids and less salty shower.
I've had to do fluids alone by myself too.
Lucy was cooperative, but Ginger wasn't.
So I put her in a carrier that has two doors, one on side and another on top, and I poked her from the top opening.
It was so much easier to keep her still.
 
Wish I had something comforting to say that would make a difference. Although looks like Gabby recovered very nicely from the NS and sending lots of vines your way.
 
(((((Sienne and Gabby))))) So sorry to read Gabby's #'s are worse; hopefully you can either find a lower phos food that she will love or a good binder. I never had to give Tiger fluids, I took her to the vet, which set me back $$$ :rolleyes: But I have it on good word that this thing works and some kitties apreciate not being restrained:
http://www.ezivharness.com/eziv_site_002.htm

I'm sending truckloads of appy and feel better vines and hopefully the sub-q's will help.
 
You will get the hang of the fluids--I never thought my 1 would tolerate it going back almost 6 years now he is still getting them-he will be 17 this year ;) 2-3 X a week-
He doesn't love it but he has normal kidney values on blood panels and he eats like a piggy right after !! Now my diabetic boy almost 16 is getting SQ 2x a day hoping this is temporary or at least not as often when he goes in remission :))) PLEASEEEE go into remission!!
I still get a few baths as well--pick and choose our battles!! :)
You got this!!
 
sending kidney/bp healing thoughts to your sweet little girl. It's good to keep a sense of humor when giving squids! Best of luck with that! We gave fluids while punkin was eating - hung the bag from a clothes hangar on the top of the door frame (higher helps it flow faster) and fed him and stuck him on the floor. It's definitely a challenge.

Hoping for some good news soon for you and Gabby!
 
Fluids are a challenge, alright. Depends on the cat, of course. Minka is pretty docile, but she twitches her skin and if I'm not paying attention, she'll twitch just enough that the needle comes out and she gets a bath (and sometimes the sofa, pillow, etc. do, too)! If I had a nickel for every ml of fluids that flowed outside the cat, I'd be able to buy at least a case! Minka gets fluids twice a day, and I still don't have it down pat, but we manage, most times, to get the required amount into her. I LOVE the harness @Tiger(GA) and Ruth referenced - gonna order one tonight.

Don't stress it, Sienne. If I can do it, anyone can!

Gabby, WTH is up with that AMPS??? You really wanted to wake the bean up, didn't you? Mission accomplished! Don't do that again!
 
I know nothing about giving fluids but I do know that you are an extremely accomplished and able woman so I have no doubt you can become the master of the fluids. But I do hope it's 'just' a kidney infection and you don't have to :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top