12/10 Fistuk AMPS 47, +1.90 101, +2.25 74, +2.75 79, +4 94, +6 86, +7 95 +10.5 86 PMPS 92, + 2 112

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-6-97-10-5-83-pmps-77-2-75-95-6-25-92.284396/

Good morning :)

Robert gave Fisruk the 0.1U shot o_O He wasn't sure what's the lime line and couldn't bring himself to wake me up because he took the morning to do Fistuk so I could catch up with (now) three days of sleepless nights.

Fistuk never shows any signs in HG.

I tested and fed right as I woke up and saw the morning's number.

Am I giving 0.1U tonight or do I take it down to drop?

@Bandit's Mom
@Angela & Cleo
@tiffmaxee

Pee: Fistuk peed on the bed this night :nailbiting: I cuaght him in time, some of the blanket got wet but I managed to shove a plate under him.

I'm not really suspecting UTI. He pees only twice a day. Doesn't show any pain in peeing and there's no blood.

Any other ideas what could be going on?

Wishing you all a peaceful SUnday :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Hi Shelly, I was fast asleep for your AMPS.
Yes, Fistuk has earned a reduction to a drop dose! Congrats !! That's very sweet of your husband to let you get some rest. Next time he gets a preshot in the 40s, tell him to stall without feeding and check again in 20-30 minutes.

As far as the pee, I have no clue. :confused:
Have you changed the type of litter?
 
Hi Shelly, I was fast asleep for your AMPS.
Yes, Fistuk has earned a reduction to a drop dose! Congrats !! That's very sweet of your husband to let you get some rest. Next time he gets a preshot in the 40s, tell him to stall without feeding and check again in 20-30 minutes.

As far as the pee, I have no clue. :confused:
Have you changed the type of litter?
Thanks, Angela :)
I'm aware you're asleep my AMPS time but I tag you for when you get up :woot::bighug:

I did tell him. I just always need to remind him of things over and over and he forgets. last night I forgot to remind him of the wake-me-up-number... he's always afraid of waking me up. I hope the message got through this time....

I changed their litter a while ago. he seemed to be ok with it.
I also cleaned the box a couple of day ago so I don't think this would be the problem.

Could it be kidney related?
 
Wow that AMPS! Seems like he bounced back just fine because of the shot onset being hours later. You did great. :bighug:

Usually when they try to pee on soft surfaces (beds, carpets, etc), they are associating urinating in the box with pain. Of course this is not always (in case this is behavioral), but worth a vet check. You haven't changed anything at home at all? Moved furniture, changed litter, had a visitor, etc?
 
I changed their litter a while ago. he seemed to be ok with it.
I also cleaned the box a couple of day ago so I don't think this would be the problem.

Could it be kidney related?

My Penny has never peed outside the box (she has CKD), she just urinates a lot and frequently.

I think I would try to change the litter back or offer him a 2nd box with that old litter in the spot he tried to pee the other day. Also, can you get this product? I used it to get both Smudge and Penny comfortable with a litter robot.

https://www.drelseys.com/products/ultra-litter-attractant/
 
Wow that AMPS! Seems like he bounced back just fine because of the shot onset being hours later. You did great. :bighug:
I didn't do it, my husband did. and He basically didn't do anything :banghead::woot:

I noticed before, which is why I did the experiment last night, that if I leave him be even just 10-15mins he'll bounce up very quickly. I think Fistuk has a very active panicky liver.

Last night I tested at +2.75 and he was 95. I wanted to see what would happen if I stalled on food and tested after 15 mins because I0ve suspected before his pattern of bouncing up quickly when hungry or getting low and sure enough he went up to 101 in 15 minutes.

pee on soft surfaces (beds, carpets, etc), they are associating urinating in the box with pain
Good observation!!! I wonder if he associate it with the poo thing. Anyways I'll call the vet tomorrow for an appointment. Boy how much I hate vets and vet visit. Really I just don't trust them and their observations and try to stay away as much as possible

Thanks for your help,Alli :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
To my knowledge, inappropriate urination can be medical - UTI, or other infection, discomfort (how's his back legs?) when using the box. Sometimes changing the type of litter can also be a cause.
Other reasons are behavioral. Any upset in the home?

I see @allicatmeow and I crossed post :)
 
To my knowledge, inappropriate urination can be medical - UTI, or other infection, discomfort (how's his back legs?) when using the box. Sometimes changing the type of litter can also be a cause.
Other reasons are behavioral. Any upset in the home?

I see @allicatmeow and I crossed post :)
His back legs haven't been great at all lately. For the past week or two I've notice theyre weak again. It takes him some time to adgust when starting to walk.

A couple of night ago he jumed off bed and landed on his side and back and found it difficult to rotate back to four legs.

I give him 3mg B12 methyl for a while now. I was wondering if I should give him a bit more.

What cuold the weak back legs tell me?
 
You managed it after though! You know Fistuk so well, it's amazing. Knowing to just wait those 15 mins, I love that kind of connection you have with him.
Thanks, Alli :) Yes we have a very deep connection. i amaze myself with the kind of observations I make with him. Sometimes wish I had the same capcity for myself :joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
His back legs haven't been great at all lately. For the past week or two I've notice theyre weak again. It takes him some time to adgust when starting to walk.

A couple of night ago he jumed off bed and landed on his side and back and found it difficult to rotate back to four legs.

I give him 3mg B12 methyl for a while now. I was wondering if I should give him a bit more.

What cuold the weak back legs tell me?

Oh this could be diabetic neuropathy and the B12 will help. Even with him doing so well, it can be a chronic on and off issue with FD. Does he stand on his hocks? It's called "plantigrade gait" where they walk on their heels rather than toes and then stand on their hocks.
 
Oh this could be diabetic neuropathy and the B12 will help. Even with him doing so well, it can be a chronic on and off issue with FD. Does he stand on his hocks? It's called "plantigrade gait" where they walk on their heels rather than toes and then stand on their hocks.
Yes, he's been having a back lehs gated stance when sitting since FD diagnosis. That hasn't changed with B12. His mobility def changed for the better quite quickly wi hB12, so has his crab-like walk (which doesn't happen at all anymore).

When he pees in the box he's not standing high enough most of the time and often his behind's fur gets a bit wet. It was getting better and has gotten a bit worse in the past couple of weeks.

Obv something's going on that makes him pee outside the box - on the floor mostly or on the bed. He was constipated for the past week but seems to have settled now. I'll see how he's doing tonight and tomorrow morning and then decide if a vet's visit will be necessary.
 
Yes, he's been having a back lehs gated stance when sitting since FD diagnosis. That hasn't changed with B12. His mobility def changed for the better quite quickly wi hB12, so has his crab-like walk (which doesn't happen at all anymore).

When he pees in the box he's not standing high enough most of the time and often his behind's fur gets a bit wet. It was getting better and has gotten a bit worse in the past couple of weeks.

Obv something's going on that makes him pee outside the box - on the floor mostly or on the bed. He was constipated for the past week but seems to have settled now. I'll see how he's doing tonight and tomorrow morning and then decide if a vet's visit will be necessary.
This definitely sounds related to his legs, whether weakness or pain. Easier to pee where he is than walk on those legs! I can't blame him. Poor buddy. :arghh:
 
Good morning Shelly!
Congrats on the reduction and well done managing the tricky preshot!
I am sorry that Fistuk is peeing outside of the box.
As @Angela and @allicatmeow suggest, there can be medical/physical implications.
Maybe to get one of those littler boxes with low gate or opening so he would just walk in, rather than having to hop or climb into.
Hope you'll find ways to manage this. Pee issues are so stressful.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
It's recommended here to use Methylcobalamin for neuropathy.
Thanks, Angela. I0ve read that before. Interesting how I can read something so many times and still miss out on info.

I now noticed I can go up to 10mg. So I'll try to up the dose.

Fistuk may have arthritis. That I suspect. He does find it difficult to get in and out of the box.

We have removed the box's roof so it's easier for him to get in and out. I used at first with FD diagnosis a smaller box. I thought maybe he doesn't need it anymore. And when Fistuk is trying to convert his biy he just throws litter all over the flat :( so I was happy to go back to the bigger box.

I'll try the smaller box again as well as upping the B12 dose.

Any suggestions for arthritis?
 
Good morning Shelly!
Congrats on the reduction and well done managing the tricky preshot!
I am sorry that Fistuk is peeing outside of the box.
As @Angela and @allicatmeow suggest, there can be medical/physical implications.
Maybe to get one of those littler boxes with low gate or opening so he would just walk in, rather than having to hop or climb into.
Hope you'll find ways to manage this. Pee issues are so stressful.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Kit.

Yes, I'll try the smaller boy again. It is very stressful. Especially when he wants to sleep by my side at night. Which I love, not to mention it makes it easier for me to wake up at night, test feed and go back to sleep. But if I'm stressed about pee it's not helpful.
Hope you're having a good Sunday and that you've managed to get some sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Shelly and Fistuk.
What a beautiful cycle so far.

I have no suggestions what could cause his peeing outside the box. I think everyone mentioned every possible cause already. I hope you can resolve it soon.
Sending PAWsitive thoughts and purrrrayers your way.
Enjoy your Sunday

upload_2023-12-10_8-17-38.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-10_8-17-38.png
    upload_2023-12-10_8-17-38.png
    181 KB · Views: 213
Fistuk may have arthritis. That I suspect. He does find it difficult to get in and out of the box.

We have removed the box's roof so it's easier for him to get in and out. I used at first with FD diagnosis a smaller box. I thought maybe he doesn't need it anymore. And when Fistuk is trying to convert his biy he just throws litter all over the flat :( so I was happy to go back to the bigger box.

When Cleo was diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis, I bought an extra large low entry litter box.
I give Cleo a supplement called Cosequin. Not sure what it's called in Europe, but it has Glucosamine and chondroitin.
@cecile & bella has more experience with this and maybe has more input.
 
When Cleo was diagnosed with idiopathic cystitis, I bought an extra large low entry litter box.
I give Cleo a supplement called Cosequin. Not sure what it's called in Europe, but it has Glucosamine and chondroitin.
@cecile & bella has more experience with this and maybe has more input.
Thanks!

Could this be appropriate?
https://www.sunday.de/en/glucosamine-600mg-chondroitin-200mg.html

It's Glucosamine and chondroitin. Or is there something else that's needed that is in the Cosequin supplement?
 
Hi Shelly, I’m glad you got a little extra sleep this morning with Robert helping out.
I agree with everyone on the peeing situation. It sounds like Fistuk’s legs are bothering him, poor baby.
When Ivy broke her hind leg earlier this summer (before you were around here), I bought her a very low entry litter box, so she really didn’t have to step up over an edge, as it had a low cut out lip to just walk straight into the box. It was pretty large also, so she could turn around in it easily.

Probably between a low entry litter box, and some kind of supplements for either the arthritis or neuropathy may help. Certainly worth a try.
As usual, detective hat is on trying to figure out causes and what to do to correct or make things better. You’re on the case great job, Mum!
Big hugs of support coming your way as always! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly, I’m glad you got a little extra sleep this morning with Robert helping out.
I agree with everyone on the peeing situation. It sounds like Fistuk’s legs are bothering him, poor baby.
When Ivy broke her hind leg earlier this summer (before you were around here), I bought her a very low entry litter box, so she really didn’t have to step up over an edge, as it had a low cut out lip to just walk straight into the box. It was pretty large also, so she could turn around in it easily.

Probably between a low entry litter box, and some kind of supplements for either the arthritis or neuropathy may help. Certainly worth a try.
As usual, detective hat is on trying to figure out causes and what to do to correct or make things better. You’re on the case great job, Mum!
Big hugs of support coming your way as always! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks for your encouragement, Staci! It means a lot

Yes, it begins to become clear that he might just struggle with the box. I've added 1mg of B12 to his lunch and am looking into the supplement Angela suggested. Much prefer to try this before I try the vet. Vet has to be last resort. They've proven over and over to be so useless and it's a massive stress for Fistuk.

Here I go with my Hercule Purrrrirot task, figuring out what murdered my sleep :p:p
 
Hi Shelly! I give Bella Adequan. Bhooma @Bandit's Mom mentionned it when Bella was having pain in her legs, she was limping, somewhat wlaking flat on her heels, which was greatly improved by vitamin B12, but the limping continued. She would also pee out of the box, but she was IN the box, it's just that she was too close to the sides and not crouching enough. All that got better very fast with the Adequan. It's also a form of glycosamin. Now I give her a shot (it's a SC shot, same than insulin) about once a month/6 weeks, depending on how she is doing.
I had a cat years ago who started peeing on the floor, after my parents moved to an apartment. She lived all her life until then being an outside/inside cat where we lived before, in Provence, and was best friend with our dog. The dog died, my parents moved to a city, and she started peeing everywhere. My mom took her to the veterinatry school (she lives very close, in Lyon), and they diagnosed depression. She was put on Prozac and stopped peeing on the floor. Just to give you one more idea, since you just moved, who knows?
 
Thanks for your encouragement, Staci! It means a lot

Yes, it begins to become clear that he might just struggle with the box. I've added 1mg of B12 to his lunch and am looking into the supplement Angela suggested. Much prefer to try this before I try the vet. Vet has to be last resort. They've proven over and over to be so useless and it's a massive stress for Fistuk.

Here I go with my Hercule Purrrrirot task, figuring out what murdered my sleep :p:p
It’s certainly worth a try of these options to test a change with Fustuk. Maybe something will work so you don’t have to put him through a vet visit.
I understand how you feel about the stress of going to the vet, it’s always awful for Ivy too, and I have to sedate her just to get her there which she and I both don’t like doing.
I know some people here have vets that visit their homes, which I think is such a great thing. Is that something available where you live?
For me, unfortunately, I use a holistic vet that I really think I do like the practice, but they don’t do home visits so that doesn’t work out for me. :(
 
Hi Shelly. I don’t have anything to add to this very helpful discussion, just wanted to weigh in with sympathy for Fistuk’s discomfort and kudos to you for your astute observations and always loving care. He’s a lucky boy to have you for his best friend. Hang in there, both of you… I hope you will soon find the right solution.
:bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
 
It’s certainly worth a try of these options to test a change with Fustuk. Maybe something will work so you don’t have to put him through a vet visit.
I understand how you feel about the stress of going to the vet, it’s always awful for Ivy too, and I have to sedate her just to get her there which she and I both don’t like doing.
I know some people here have vets that visit their homes, which I think is such a great thing. Is that something available where you live?
For me, unfortunately, I use a holistic vet that I really think I do like the practice, but they don’t do home visits so that doesn’t work out for me. :(
I know what you mean. I need to sedate Fistuk for blood work. He complains all the way to teh vet but when we reache the vet's place he goes mute and makes himself so small in teh corner of the box, it's painful to see.
We do have home visits but they're so expensive and if I then need to take him to the vet for tests it's going to be just too much :(
 
Hi Shelly! I give Bella Adequan. Bhooma @Bandit's Mom mentionned it when Bella was having pain in her legs, she was limping, somewhat wlaking flat on her heels, which was greatly improved by vitamin B12, but the limping continued. She would also pee out of the box, but she was IN the box, it's just that she was too close to the sides and not crouching enough. All that got better very fast with the Adequan. It's also a form of glycosamin. Now I give her a shot (it's a SC shot, same than insulin) about once a month/6 weeks, depending on how she is doing.
I had a cat years ago who started peeing on the floor, after my parents moved to an apartment. She lived all her life until then being an outside/inside cat where we lived before, in Provence, and was best friend with our dog. The dog died, my parents moved to a city, and she started peeing everywhere. My mom took her to the veterinatry school (she lives very close, in Lyon), and they diagnosed depression. She was put on Prozac and stopped peeing on the floor. Just to give you one more idea, since you just moved, who knows?
Thakns Cecile. I can't find Adequan here. I need to know what teh important ingridients are so i can look for alternative.
I don't think Fistuk has depression.

I love the story of the dog adopting the cat. It's so sweet when it happens. Thanks for sharng and for the photo :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Shelly. I don’t have anything to add to this very helpful discussion, just wanted to weigh in with sympathy for Fistuk’s discomfort and kudos to you for your astute observations and always loving care. He’s a lucky boy to have you for his best friend. Hang in there, both of you… I hope you will soon find the right solution.
:bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Karen. I appreciate your kind words :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I watched Fistuk walk this evening. He looks quite weak.
At +10.5 he was ready for test and feed. So I gave him just a tsp. At supper, he didn't want much to eat and walked towards his bed. I picked him up to the toilet and he peed.

I watched him and it looked like he was contracting a bit :/
He hasn't pooped yet today...

We got a new car yesterday and I sqeezed gifts for the cats ;)
Fistuk in his new bed

upload_2023-12-10_20-24-58.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-12-10_20-24-58.jpeg
    upload_2023-12-10_20-24-58.jpeg
    56.4 KB · Views: 301
I watched Fistuk walk this evening. He looks quite weak.
At +10.5 he was ready for test and feed. So I gave him just a tsp. At supper, he didn't want much to eat and walked towards his bed. I picked him up to the toilet and he peed.

I watched him and it looked like he was contracting a bit :/
He hasn't pooped yet today...

We got a new car yesterday and I sqeezed gifts for the cats ;)
Fistuk in his new bed

View attachment 68303
Poor baby. He sounds uncomfortable. :(
His bed looks so cozy and he looks so sweet in it :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Congrats on the reduction, I hope upping the Methyl B-12 helps with his legs. Poor baby. :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat: If he continues to pee on the bed or where ever, and you take him to the vet, I wish you all the best. I hate vet visits too
 
+2 112
+3 119
(Ran out of space in the title)

I hope he's not planning another lime visit. He's eating like there's no tomorrow. Or is it just a bounce from this morning?
Well... I'm offf to bed. Lets see what the night reveals :bighug:
 
Back
Top