12/10 Emma IGF-1 =88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristen & Emma (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good afternoon LL -

I haven't been around much this past week...life is crazy, and Emma is back in the yellows, so nothing really interesting has been happening with her. Most days we have all 5 Ps, so everything is fine.

I just walked in the door from work and found the envelope from DCPAH with her IAA results in it. The test was for 81% - so we know what at least part of the problem is! I won't find out the results for the IGF-1 til at least tomorrow.

So, what do I do now? I know I need to get ahead of it, but how aggressive should I be? If you check out her spreadsheet you'll see she periodically dips into the blues, and then bounces right back to yellow. I thought it was interesting that I had reduced her dose while I was gone over Thanksgiving, and I bumped her up a whole unit (from 7 to 8) when I got back, and that's when we started to see some blues. So, what about the idea of reducing her dose for a bit, and then really bumping it up fast? Any thoughts on that? Or do I just get aggressive from here? I appreciate any input!
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

I think dropping it for a bit may be unhelpful as it means she'll have higher glucose levels, which may damage tissues permanently.
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

I wish I had an answer for you, I just have never dealt with an IAA kitty - but his will bump you at least until someone with experience with this can help.

We have missed you, it was good to see your condo on the board. Nice too that Emma is doing well.
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

IMHO, I'd wait until you hear about the acro results. Certainly increasing by 0.5u makes much more sense than increasing by 0.25u if for no other reason that Emma is already getting a big dose of insulin. An increase of 0.25u is a tiny drop in a big shed! Perry has been increasing Sooty's dose by 1.0u. That may make sense but I'd like to have a few people with more experience with high dose kitties take a look at Emma's SS.
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

thanks for the replies...Michelle, I miss being here too! There is just too much going on right now for me to balance everything well, and since her numbers haven't been doing much of anything, I've kind of let this slide for the moment. Once Christmas is over, and I can finish baking, shopping, wrapping, shipping, playing piano at various places, and basically get my life back in order, I'll be back!

BJM, thanks for the advice. I'm not sure how much it would actually raise her numbers, as they've been fairly consistent in the mid yellows for quite a long time now, even at a much lower dose. I don't want to see her up in the pinks, but would it be bad to drop the dose when she mainly stays yellow?

Thanks Sienne. I think they ran the IGF-1 test yesterday, and the results should be available tomorrow. I'm going to try to call them to see if I can get the results. I expected them to contact my vet, but they mailed these results to me, and I don't want to wait til next week for them to mail the next results!
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

Sienne and Gabby said:
IMHO, I'd wait until you hear about the acro results. Certainly increasing by 0.5u makes much more sense than increasing by 0.25u if for no other reason that Emma is already getting a big dose of insulin. An increase of 0.25u is a tiny drop in a big shed! Perry has been increasing Sooty's dose by 1.0u. That may make sense but I'd like to have a few people with more experience with high dose kitties take a look at Emma's SS.
i'm sorry for the diagnosis, but glad you know there's a reason for what you've been seeing. i agree with sienne. wait til you hear about the acro results before adjusting the dose. with IAA kitties, we aim for green. acro kitties aim for blue. if a kitty has both IAA and acromegaly, treating the acromegaly trumps the IAA. once the rest of the results come in, we'll know what path to follow.
(((hugs)))
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

no advise here, just wanted to offer my support and say hang in there.
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

((((Kristen)))) well, the good news is that you just gained an extension to your FDMB family. The high dose moms are verra cool. :smile: The other good news is that now you have a reason for Emma's higher dose. Once the acro results come in, then you'll have the full picture.
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

Hi Emma,
I do have a cat who is positive acro and IAA: Oliver.
You asked what do you do - I'd say continue as you have been but just in case Emma is acro, if you hit a green, feed Emma. With acros, their pancreas is functional so feeding can work the opposite for acros... I see you had a few greens awhile ago. It's best to try to keep Emma above 100 until you get the acro results.
I think with IAA in the picture, you may see a bit of a tug of war with the numbers. If needed, you can always be more aggressive if needed, making larger increases or even increasing after 4 cycles. And if acro result is negative, you can aggressively attack the IAA.

In the meantime, you just keep doing what you are doing, giving Emma the amount of insulin Emma needs, keeping above the 100 mark for now.

It's a relief to know the reason for the high dose though; you don't have to wonder now.
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

Hi Kristen,
Sorry to hear about the IAA results, but the good news is that you know something is going on, right? We'll all be back tomorrow to look for your Acro results, and we'll help you with a game plan either way! Scritches to your girl cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

Hello,
I'm another hi dose mom - just wanted to send a warm hello. I'm sorry to say our group continues to grow but like it's been said already - you now just have an even bigger family to support you! :)

In the hi dose section we have a STICKY about acromegaly, IAA, and cushings with links about each subject. And we keep a list of all the mom/dads/ and their kitties. I hope you won't mind if I add you and Emma to our list?!

Wishing you and Emma all the very best. We'll be anxiously waiting with you for your IGF1 results!
xx
patti
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

Thanks all!

Sorry, I've been out all evening, so I'm just getting to read everyone's messages now. I'll post tomorrow and let everyone know the results if I'm able to get them from MSU. Thanks for all the warm welcomes to the high dose group, and for the well wishes! I am glad to know there's a reason for her high dose - it's confirmed what I've been thinking for a while. The good news is her numbers aren't outrageously high, so she's not feeling bad. She's actually feeling a little too good these days I think....I caught her trying to steal my ice cream off the coffee table last night! Pretty adventurous for an old lady who can't see too well anymore!
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

She may have a hard time seeing but it sounds like her nose is working just fine!
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

you're right Sienne - it is! She has quite the super sniffer. She can be sound asleep, and if I walk in the room with ice cream, she bolts right up and starts plotting how she's going to get it. It's almost comical to watch her try to get on the coffee table...it's glass, and she can't quite figure out where there's a surface to jump onto, so she goes around the edge, gently standing up on her hind legs, touching the edge of the table with her front paws. I pick up my dish before she makes it all the way around though. ;-)
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

hi, kristen...

hadnt seen this until now...

thoughts and prayers for both you and the Divine Miss Emma...

celi & binks
 
Re: 12/8 Emma AMPS 209 IAA test results are positive

I know that their noses work great, and also the ears. If I ever need to find Shadoe for a test... no problem! I just rattle the treat bag and she ZOOMS into the room. I feel kind of guilty so I always give her one, but it's a healthy little thing that is only 1.2 calories and no sugar.

They are sly though.... ice cream! MMMM bowl of carbs! I think some cats are just more drawn to the carbs; Shadoe always tries to steal my yogurts as well as ice creams.

If you call for the acro results and they are not in, ask your vet to call and get them. I had to make my vet call and we got the results over the phone before MSU had faxed the paper to my vet. All you need is the number, even if it's negative, you want the number.
The range is 12-92 for negative, but if you got a 91, it may still be negative, but not as negative as say a 24, yes?

And when you are having ice cream, give Emma a little low carb treat, even if just to distract her so you can eat your treat!
 
Thanks Gayle! She does usually get a treat in the evening with me - some FD chicken. She LOVES them. But as soon as she finishes, she tries really hard to get into the ice cream. I don't think I've ever given her any, but she really wants it!

The results are in - the IGF-1 is 88. So, does that mean she MAY have it, and it just hasn't progressed? I guess I'm wondering what the numbers actually mean, and if they can change.

Thanks for all the support so far!
 
Awesome news.
I sure wish I knew enough to say nope that's a definite negative, so I'll leave it to the others to say for sure.
To the vets and those doing the tests, they may say nope that's a negative.
When you can, get a copy of the results that your vet should receive and read the notes/comments from the person who ran the test/ did the interpretation. Geez, I'd feel a whole lot better if the number were lower but it is what it is.

I don't know what others will say but I think you may not need to be as fearful of green numbers, and you may be able to attack the IAA more aggressively. There are a couple others who have just IAA kitties, so maybe looking at their ss and getting tips from them would be good.

As for the ice cream and chicken treats, you either have to eat faster or give more chicken treats!

Let's see what the others have to say about the acro result.
 
thanks so much Gayle! I'll poke around some spreadsheets to see what others have been doing. I'll also try to be better about being around here. Life has been ridiculously busy the past few months, and I need to get my schedule under control! Especially if I'm going to be getting aggressive with her dosing.

Thanks again - I really appreciate the support!
 
All the information I have says that an IGF-1 result 100 nmol/L or more is considered positive and indicate probable Acromegaly. Your result being 88 therefore, would be Negative.

But as was already stated, the DCPAH Endocrinology Interpretation that will be provided with the formal Test Report should be your best guide here.

Good luck!
 
Thanks Perry. I called for the results this morning, and they gave me the numbers over the phone. The snail mailed the IAA results to me, so I'm guessing I'll get these results the same way sometime next week. They said they could email them to me, but it would be a few hours because they have to go through some web processing, or something like that. I told them I'd be happy with the number for now. They can send the rest of the info later.
 
((((((((((Kristen))))))))))) I'm no help whatever in interpreting the result, but things look hopeful. Sending hugs and vines!
 
Kristen & Emma said:
Thanks Perry. I called for the results this morning, and they gave me the numbers over the phone. The snail mailed the IAA results to me, so I'm guessing I'll get these results the same way sometime next week. They said they could email them to me, but it would be a few hours because they have to go through some web processing, or something like that. I told them I'd be happy with the number for now. They can send the rest of the info later.

The "normal" range for IGF-1 is 12-92 nmol/L - so by that standard, Emma's test would indeed I do believe, be deemed Negative.

This I think is very good news - but again the DCPAH will confirm, I am sure!

Have a terrific weekend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top