12/10-Cini Mini-PMPS 303

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=58271

Recap of numbers:

Started on inhalant steroids for asthma - Flovent 220mcg, 2 puffs twice a day
AMBG - 124
+3 - 155
+4 - 174
Flovent - 2 puffs
PMBG - 267
Stopped OTJ Trial
1 drop Lantus
+3 - 156
+11 - 257

Not only is it a full moon but a lunar eclipse. Anyone up and watching that? I went to get Cini's +11 and when I came back to look out the window the moon was completely hidden, took me a minute to find it again. Very cool. :thumbup
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - +11/257

just read your condo from yesterday - i know you're disappointed at having to restart the insulin, but overall, cini mini is doing SO incredibly well! and i absolutely LOVED the picture showing our stressed out little guy. :lol: what a tummy!

the lunar eclipse was about 3am here, so i missed it. too bad too, because usually our skies are cloudy and you don't have a chance at seeing anything but it was clear that night. by 3am it might have become foggy, though.

that conversation is making me think perhaps i will restart my nasal cortisone spray for allergies. i stopped it because my family has diabetes in the aunts/uncles and i don't want it - but my allergies have been terrible since i stopped. amazing how much you learn here.
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMBG 258 - Dosing Advice

OK, Cini's AMPS is 258

I gave him .10 units of Lantus this time. I figured his shed is empty and with the high numbers he probably needs 3 to 5 cycles of .10 units instead of 1 drop.

Just wanted to get a confirmation if anyone thought I should be doing something different coming off of 6 days OTJ.
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258 - Dosing Advice

that's what i would've done too. i doubt his pattern will have changed, so hopefully you'll get a little help without any cliff-diving!
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258 - Dosing Advice

Whether you give one drop or 0.1u, be consistent. You want to pick a dose and stick with it for approx. 5 days until Cini's shed is re-filled.
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258 - Dosing Advice

Sienne,

5 days or 5 cycles? Happy to do 5 days if that's what's needed, just want to make certain.
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203

Thanks for the reminder, Julie. I guess I should go back and review the stickies since it's been a while. :-D
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203

Sorry that you had to stop the trial, but you know the cause of the rising numbers. Cini will be headed back to the Falls in no time.
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203,+5/254

Man! I don't like seeing all these yellow numbers. I hope he comes down soon. :?
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203,+5/254

Wow, cathy...may i be the first to say
"rock on with your great attitude!" :-D

love the philosophical way you post!

celi
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini - AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203,+5/254

LOL, thanks Celi!

I'm trying to remain positive. Like reviewing Cini's spreadsheet and reminding myself that he got twice as far this time than the last time we tried an OTJ trail. So maybe next time he'll get even further or go the full 14 days :-D

But, there is an issue looming that maybe I am in denial about right now, that's when I leave town for 10 days to go visit relatives.

I have a friend who will be coming in to take care of Cini and the rest of the pack. He's pretty familiar with Cini's "old" routine, I just hope he can switch gears and make the paradigm shift to Cini's "new" routine. And I don't even want to think about how I'm going to explain the whole reducing the dose thing. I don't know if he's going to be able to handle that or if I should just find a dose that Cini will maintain well at for 10 days till I get back? :?
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini-AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203,+5/254,+9/233.+11

Oy! Cini!

Pink is not your color. Pull it together, man! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/10-Cini Mini-AMPS 258,+2/292,+3/203,+5/254,+9/233.+11

Hi!! I've been reading your condos and keeping up with Mr Cini for a while, but never posted before. ((wave)) :smile: You have been doing such a great job with him. I have been cheering for you guys during his otj trials :smile:

Cini!! Pinks?? You like pretty greens remember ? :mrgreen:
 
with little cini mini - it seems like anything could happen in 12 days.

some people show their petsitter how to log on here and your friend could check in and ask for help if he wanted.

one wild idea that you would likely have to consider - take cini mini with you. we've decided punkin is portable and he's gone more with us in the car this year than ever before. i haven't flown with him, and he yowls for the first part in the car. maybe you don't know that we drove punkin from oregon to colorado in September for the treatment for his acromegaly. 1300 miles each way. :shock:

but he tolerated it - what choice did he have?

another possibility - the DH & I went on a week trip in june and the son was here. i just had him test and call me so i could tell him what i wanted him to do - when i wanted the next test done and what i wanted the dose to be.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top