12/10 Butters - Help with Dosing, Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eva & Butters

Member Since 2010
Hi, Everyone ~

I don't think I know what I'm doing with dosing :sad:. You can see that we've been doing some inconsistent dosing since increasing to 1.0U. I was concerned right away that the 1.0U might be too much but couldn't let go of it because I thought I liked the numbers we were starting to see for Butters. And, yes, I know that Lantus generally works best with the same dose AM and PM.

My question for today (well, one of them :smile: ) is do you think the low numbers today are still the result of the 1.0U depot, too much insulin? Would you recommend .75U dosing AM and PM which is what I'd planned to do today? Or is that dose likely too much?

I really liked how the .5U fat was working recently, but then that dose seemed to stop working well. My husband thinks that old Lantus might have been the cause. We started a new vial of Lantus on 12/4 AM.

Butters is scheduled for a dental on Monday 12/12. We just got a call from the vet's office to give Butters half his usual Lantus dose Monday AM. Do you think .25U is a reasonable dose for Monday morning?

Any suggestions/advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Eva
 
Butters earned a reduction with that 40...
if it were Binks, I'd shave to the F .50,
but let's see what more experienced folk say :-D

and hello!!

celi & binks
 
So here's my read... With the way you've been tinkering with the dose, you basically need to start the dose clock over to reflect a consistent dose. So, you have two cycles at the 0.75u dose.

However, Butters was diagnosed in Sept. (Is that correct, btw?). He's a newly diagnosed cat and when his BG numbers are below 50, that warrants a dose reduction. Given that he's already on a small dose, I'd suggest shaving the current dose and shooting a skinny 0.75u tonight.

My vet recommended a half dose, as well. I dropped the dose more than that. What I would suggest is that you see what Butter's numbers look like on Monday. If he has a low AMPS, I'd skip the shot.
 
Thanks, Celi and Sienne, for taking a look at Butters' spreadsheet. I appreciate your advice. I will get back to consistent dosing starting tonight, and I know that's best for Butters. My skinny .75 will probably be about the same as a fat .50. I wear trifocals and use a syringe magnifier and still have trouble with microdoses.

"What I would suggest is that you see what Butter's numbers look like on Monday. If he has a low AMPS, I'd skip the shot." -- Good advice, Sienne. That's what we'll do. My husband and I are worried about Butters' blood glucose going high and our vet shooting 2U which is what he wanted us to start out with in July when Butters was first diagnosed. My husband said we'll instruct our vet not to shoot insulin, letting him know that we'll get Butters' Lantus readjusted after his dental.

Thanks again to you both.

Eva
 
I doubt that the vet would give insulin if he thinks you shot in the AM. Further, make sure he doesn't give a shot because it will put you hopelessly off schedule. The other issue with insulin and any procedure is that anesthesia lowers BG levels. He would be foolish to give a shot given that Butters will be recovering from anesthesia and his BG could be unpredictable. That's why you'll want to test as soon as you get home and again at PMPS.
 
Thanks, Sienne, for letting me know that anesthesia can lower BG levels. I didn't know that. We'll be sure to check Butters when we get him home and again at PMPS. I just want Butters' dental to be over...I worry so much when any of our cats has to have surgery.

Thanks for your support and great information, Sienne.

Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top