? 12/10-BEAR- amps 143, +2 149, +4 94

Yogi_Bear

Member Since 2025
Thread '12/9- BEAR- dosage increase ??

Hi quick post,

Our amps is 143 (7.9).. weve never shot this low and were planning for an increase today.. currently stalling to see if his # come up.. any advice?

**EDIT-
Stalled for 20ish mins, retested 183. Gave regular dose & fed.

Hindsight I should have retested immediately for a strip error, but we are still learning 😅 either way, he got his regular dose only about 10 mins late..

I was hoping to increase today as i can be home to monitor, but i was worried about how low he was going at night if his amps was 143..
The next day i will be home to monitor would be Saturday, would it be okay to wait til then to increase?
Going to try and get a curve going today
 
Last edited:
I think I would have done the same thing in your situation! Especially since you're following SLGS.

10 minutes is within the range of time for giving the shot so you will be on schedule for PM tonight.

Meters can have a 20% variance so it could have been a combination of that variance (20% of 143 is ~28, so up to 171) plus glucose rising while you stall.
 
I think I would have done the same thing in your situation! Especially since you're following SLGS.

10 minutes is within the range of time for giving the shot so you will be on schedule for PM tonight.

Meters can have a 20% variance so it could have been a combination of that variance (20% of 143 is ~28, so up to 171) plus glucose rising while you stall.
I feel like we should have kept with the increase today as we are not seeing enough blues from him.. easier said now that my nervous system is out of panic! Unfortunately i wont be able to up him til Saturday now when i can be home to monitor 😩
 
I feel like we should have kept with the increase today as we are not seeing enough blues from him.. easier said now that my nervous system is out of panic! Unfortunately i wont be able to up him til Saturday now when i can be home to monitor 😩
It’s fine Vanessa 💖
You are learning and next time you can retest in case a bad strip.
It’s better to be safe.
And you can always move a shot time 15 minutes a cycle or 30 minutes per day if needed.
 
Cheeky Bear, he sure likes to keep you guessing :smuggrin:. Good job shooting, Vanessa. Let’s see how this cycle plays out, for some kitties flat yellows can indicate a more active cycle to follow, or it’s just …flat yellows. Could you please stack the BG tests, so it’s clear that you stalled with BG 143 then shot 20 minutes later with BG 183. You can put 143 @ 12 in the +11 cell, then 183 @ 12.25 in the preshot cell. Today will give you some more data with respect to the possible increase; as Wendy and I both noted, you are looking for nadirs under 150, not just one or two, so I'm curious to see how he fares today.
 
It’s fine Vanessa 💖
You are learning and next time you can retest in case a bad strip.
It’s better to be safe.
And you can always move a shot time 15 minutes a cycle or 30 minutes per day if needed.
Thanks Staci 😇 💕
Il sure be glad once we’ve got a lot more experience under our belt with these different scenarios 😅
 
Cheeky Bear, he sure likes to keep you guessing :smuggrin:. Good job shooting, Vanessa. Let’s see how this cycle plays out, for some kitties flat yellows can indicate a more active cycle to follow, or it’s just …flat yellows. Could you please stack the BG tests, so it’s clear that you stalled with BG 143 then shot 20 minutes later with BG 183. You can put 143 @ 12 in the +11 cell, then 183 @ 12.25 in the preshot cell. Today will give you some more data with respect to the possible increase; as Wendy and I both noted, you are looking for nadirs under 150, not just one or two, so I'm curious to see how he fares today.
Yes interested to see how today goes, fingers crossed for a blue wave 🌊 🩵

I will add the 143.. i originally had it in the first column but it wasn’t stacking so I took it out, but +11 seems like a good place for it!
 
Nadirs move around, they aren’t always at +6. Might be his +4. I agree with feeding a couple teaspoons of his usual food now, and maybe do a bit earlier test, at +5. Keep on surfing little buddy!

1765393203792.jpeg
 
Using human meter, you want to intervene with HC food if the cat goes under 50. That said, feeding small snacks of regular LC food at onset, which is typically around +2 and then through to nadir is helpful to get new carbs on board when the insulin kicks in, and through to nadir when the effects of the insulin start to wane.

Yes, when following SLGS you’d reduce if he goes under 90.
 
Nadirs move around, they aren’t always at +6. Might be his +4. I agree with feeding a couple teaspoons of his usual food now, and maybe do a bit earlier test, at +5. Keep on surfing little buddy!

View attachment 75662
I did not know that about the nadirs!
do they vary by cycle also?
Yep hes eating his usual friskies, little less than half a can.. he was my chonky boy before the kittybetes so i would like to see his weight come up a bit also. He lost quite a bit and was down 2 lbs from dx.
Going to test at +5 and see where we’re going..

Thanks for surfing with us today Christie 🏄‍♀️ 🌊
 
Sounds good. Yes, nadirs can move around from cycle to cycle as well. Fun, isn’t it!? I call it spot the nadir :). Over time, you’ll get a better sense of how insulin and carbs influence Bear’s cycles, but one thing I learned over my time here is that cats are not always predictable. Mostly just because they are cats and like to keep us guessing :cat:
 
Sounds good. Yes, nadirs can move around from cycle to cycle as well. Fun, isn’t it!? I call it spot the nadir :). Over time, you’ll get a better sense of how insulin and carbs influence Bear’s cycles, but one thing I learned over my time here is that cats are not always predictable. Mostly just because they are cats and like to keep us guessing :cat:
+5 119 after friskies- the wave continues 🌊
I suppose my question is where would he have gone if no food? I will be at work the rest of the week so will not be able to test/feed during the day.

Its funny you should mention that- i was just saying that to bear’s dad.. “how the heck am i supposed to know his cycle if he’s always all over the place?!” but we are still fairly new to the game 😅
 
Well that’s still not a bad cycle, this time around nadir was +4. Looks like he dipped his paw in the lagoon, tested out the water and said, that was enough, back up to the beach lol

Just for my benefit, which Friskies? Ie. did you happen to check the food list for % carb? Any chance during the rest of the week you can leave small snacks out if you find he’s having an active cycle with a lower +2 like today? I used to use the automatic pet feeder, it was definitely helpful to get snacks at specific times earlier in the cycle when insulin taking effect.

I bet Bear is wondering what all the excitement is about?!
 
Well that’s still not a bad cycle, this time around nadir was +4. Looks like he dipped his paw in the lagoon, tested out the water and said, that was enough, back up to the beach lol

Just for my benefit, which Friskies? Ie. did you happen to check the food list for % carb? Any chance during the rest of the week you can leave small snacks out if you find he’s having an active cycle with a lower +2 like today? I used to use the automatic pet feeder, it was definitely helpful to get snacks at specific times earlier in the cycle when insulin taking effect.

I bet Bear is wondering what all the excitement is about?!
I do wonder how much the food affected the cycle?
It was friskies pate salmon dinner, unsure of the carb count. But the one we all use, so low carb around 10 per can, I assume? And less than half a can so let’s guesstimate around 5gs.

Ahh yes the snaccies.. we are a multi cat house 😣 i can leave some of the other’s kibble out. The only downside of that is.. will his siblings eat it all?! Theyve been pretty good about it lately though. When he was feeling poorly those few days he had no interest in it so I left it out for a while and they weren’t overly ravenous with it..
However, now that Bear is back to his usual appetite- HE may be lol.
 
That’d be about 3% carb. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others, so I wouldn’t say the food affected the cycle in a bad way. I actually like how the cycle went, albeit he could have hung out a wee bit longer in the lagoon :D. Most cats do well with small snacks, and usually feeding a little earlier in the cycle is helpful to flatten out the curve. Finding a feeding schedule to suit our diabetic cats while having other kitties is a bit of a challenge. Perhaps I should ask what is your usual feeding schedule for Bear?
 
That’d be about 3% carb. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others, so I wouldn’t say the food affected the cycle in a bad way. I actually like how the cycle went, albeit he could have hung out a wee bit longer in the lagoon :D. Most cats do well with small snacks, and usually feeding a little earlier in the cycle is helpful to flatten out the curve. Finding a feeding schedule to suit our diabetic cats while having other kitties is a bit of a challenge. Perhaps I should ask what is your usual feeding schedule for Bear?
Typically 1 can of friskies pate pre shot 9am,
Lunch around 330-5 depending on the day which is usually about 1/3 can, and 1 can again at 9pm.
Churu rewards for pokes, so usually about 2 of those a day.. sometimes hel get some chicken breast snacks depending on what we have for dinner etc.

He was a free fed kibble kitty prior with the pate for lunch always 😅
 
Our first GREEN today 💚 overall i think he had a good surf 🏄‍♀️ for most of the day..
We had another strip error pmps, 234.. i felt like it didn’t fit his curve so retested and surely we got our pmps 288.. strip error? Not enough blood? 🤷‍♀️ holding his dose for now.
 
Good clarification on the feeding, thank you! Does he typically eat the whole can at once, or does he come back to it? Definitely hold the dose. Sometimes depending on the meter and how much blood it needs, if you don’t get quite enough it will give you an off reading. I also found if I didn’t get enough of a bead, where the blood ran it would just error out and not give a reading at all with the meter I used.
 
Good clarification on the feeding, thank you! Does he typically eat the whole can at once, or does he come back to it? Definitely hold the dose. Sometimes depending on the meter and how much blood it needs, if you don’t get quite enough it will give you an off reading. I also found if I didn’t get enough of a bead, where the blood ran it would just error out and not give a reading at all with the meter I used.
When he was poorly he was grazing a lot more but now that he’s back to his normal self, hes a foodie! Hel try to eat his and everyone elses lol

We’re using the freestyle meter, someone here recommended it as it requires less blood, but not every poke is perfect.
Things learned today- mom learned the importance of retesting (lol). & baby bear learned to surf 🏄‍♀️
🐻
 
Back
Top