12/10 Bama Kitty AMPS 97 +2 89 +4 74 +9 186; PMPS 171 +3 196 +6 183 +9 178

Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: 12/9 Bama Kitty AMPS 91 +1 89 +2 77 +3 85 +5 87 +6 108 +9 106; PMPS 147 +2.5 93 +5 137 +9 84
Bama seemed to recover his appetite last night around +3 or +4 when I opened a can of Luvsome Chicken pate that he hasn't eaten in a while. While he had no interest in eating @ +5, his BG was 137 and I felt he was safe enough for the night. By +9 he was @ 84 but was waiting on me when I got to his room. He was a bit impatient for the testing as he was hungry and eager to get to the food. He ate the pate from earlier plus some kibble. At AMPS, he was not super hungry but ate well enough for a sick kitty and drank his warm water drink afterward. Plan to get a +2 since he did rise a little from PM+9 to AMPS. If he drops, maybe it will be a gentle decline.

Cleaned his ears and applied 4 clicks Ondansetron cream to left ear; will be testing from right ear today.
 
+2, 89, not much of a drop. He got up when I came in the room but was not super interested in food, although he did eat a couple bites. Was mainly interested in water and using his litter box. No poop since a tiny one overnight but he did not eat all the Miralax-laced food from last night and I ended up throwing it out.
 
+4, 74--Bama has earned a reduction to 4.75 starting tonight. He's not diving but slowly descending. Fed couple teaspoons LC + kibble; dunked his 2.5mg. Famotidine into his beloved Squeeze-up and got it down him after a couple tries. He lapped up plain water as I syringed it into his mouth--maybe up to 6cc--plus he's been drinking at his water bowls.
 
Don't know if the upper 100s are the beginnings of a bounce. Plan to get a +2 or +3. He seems to feel better today than he has in a while. Met me at the door for his pmps test and ate well. Gave his Ondansetron after his meal. Was a little harder to hold down for his sub-q fluids and there was a slight leakage but not bad. He ate a snack afterwards @ +8 which may have contributed to his +9 rise to 189. Hope tomorrow will be a good day as well. We can only do this one day at a time.
 
Any particular reason you are doing transdermal ondansetron? There is a study that shows it doesn't work in cats if given that way. Oral is better. I did read yesterday's post that he's difficult to give the ondansetron. The dog duck and pea pill pocket, just use a little bit, are lower carb. If you can still get them. I have heard of people putting the pills in a gel cap and surrounding with Churu or other yummy thing.
 
Don't know if the upper 100s are the beginnings of a bounce. Plan to get a +2 or +3. He seems to feel better today than he has in a while. Met me at the door for his pmps test and ate well. Gave his Ondansetron after his meal. Was a little harder to hold down for his sub-q fluids and there was a slight leakage but not bad. He ate a snack afterwards @ +8 which may have contributed to his +9 rise to 189. Hope tomorrow will be a good day as well. We can only do this one day at a time.
Were you doing the75 mL of fluids? How’s that going with the leakage? Any difference?
 
Any particular reason you are doing transdermal ondansetron? There is a study that shows it doesn't work in cats if given that way. Oral is better. I did read yesterday's post that he's difficult to give the ondansetron. The dog duck and pea pill pocket, just use a little bit, are lower carb. If you can still get them. I have heard of people putting the pills in a gel cap and surrounding with Churu or other yummy thing.
Yes, he is a "pill" to pill. Even when I get better at giving them, he gets better at resisting. The pill pockets worked for a time until he bit into one, it fell apart and he tasted the bitterness within.
 
Were you doing the75 mL of fluids? How’s that going with the leakage? Any difference?
I'm doing 100mls sub-q. Since I started giving in the flank as Melissa suggested, I've only had a tiny bit of leakage and I think that was because he jumped up too fast afterwards and I didn't get to press down as long as I wanted to close the hole.
 
Back
Top