12/10 - Alphyne - 252 @ AMPS - 380 @ +8 - curve day

bobjoh

Member Since 2021
(previous) 12/1 - Alphyne - AMPS @ 390 - PMPS @ 156 - PMPS is possibly the nadir - curve day?? | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Hello!

So, I'm running a curve today. She was bouncing the other day, so I waited until she had a lower than usual reading (in the AM this time).

But, now it looks like she's bouncing in the middle of the day for no reason!

She was getting in to the low 100s after the last curve, as I held her at 2.5U. There were a few times I did reduce her dose, since she has a tendency to crash when I shoot her in the low 100s. But she was doing quite well (for her) and holding steady in the yellows; slowly working her way down to blues.

I'm anticipating that when I check the next two times, she'll be well over 400, and that kind of throws a kink in my 'testing when she's not bouncing' theory. As I've mentioned before, she usually has one or two good cycles, and then bounces the rest of the time.

She'll be increased to 2.75U after this curve, but does anyone have advice for me? (Side note: all of her labs came back ok - or at least not horrible. Her BG was really high, but we were at the vet for over 2 hours, since they were backlogged.) :nailbiting:

Thanks!
 
I suspect she's been hitting some blues overnight. Those fast drops to +2 or +3 at night hint at that. So that's likely what's causing those bounces. Plus fast drops alone can cause bounces. Last night was over 150 points in three hours. At what times are you feeding her now? Just wondering if a food timing tweak could help. Or when she eats the Glycobalance which is so much higher in carbs.

Good luck with the new dose.

Other than the lab values (steady is good), how is she feeling/acting?
 
At what times are you feeding her now? Just wondering if a food timing tweak could help. Or when she eats the Glycobalance which is so much higher in carbs.

Other than the lab values (steady is good), how is she feeling/acting?

I've still been working on getting her off dry, so she only gets Glycobalance 2x a day at 7:30 am/pm, and it's only 1 tbs each time.

In order to control the vomiting, which is still happening often, but no cause can be found, she can't go over 6 hours (right now) without eating. I'm trying to lengthen that slowly. She eats at 5:15 am/pm, 7:30 am/pm, and 11:30 am/pm. Working on the feeding is a priority for me right now, because I haven't slept more than 4 hours at a time since about July. :( I'm definitely open to suggestions! I just recently switched to the 11:30 (from 12:30).

Her walking is getting a bit funny (more stiff) and we just tweaked her gabapentin to 25mg twice a day. Hard to tell if the walking is from the diabetes or the arthritis. But, she jumps up on things and plays now and then, so it's not impacting her activities. She still does all her same daily things, so she seems to feel ok.

I will actually be in the hospital for a day next week (possibly...they are planning a room for me, but if surgery goes well I might get to go home) and I'm very stressed out that the person watching her will have to give her a reduced dose since no one will be here to watch her and her bg is so erratic right now. So, I know she'll be on this new dose a bit longer than normal before I can do a curve. Hopefully she starts heading in the right direction!

Thank you for responding...I just want to get her stable!
 
I should mention that she will always eat the Glycobalance (of course), so if she does have an off day where she doesn't want to eat, I can at least make sure she eats enough to get her shots. I haven't feed more than 4 tbs total in a loooong time.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top