? 12/10/23 RICO INCREASE AGAIN? PMPS 402, AMPS 540, PMPS 378

Carol & Rico

Member Since 2023
Aftera series of fast reductions, Rico has been stuck to 0.75u for nine days. His nadir numbers are not so good and he seems very thirsty again. He was supposed to have an antibiotic shot 10 days ago (teeth problems) but I decided to stall and see whether his numbers would drop despite not getting medication. It seems that it didn't work. :(

Should I give him the shot and carry on with SLGS? (The vet said that when his numbers are 250-300, he can give him a dental. ) Or should I switch to TR and increase the dose?

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...n-consecutive-reductions.283704/#post-3124240

@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@King
 
Last edited:
Sorry nobody has gotten back to you yet!

You do test often enough to do TR as long as there's no kibble in the picture (but you do need to get at least a "before bed" test on every PM cycle.)

You are getting occasional tests after PMPS, but on TR, it's even more important that you know he'll be safe while you're sleeping or if you should stay up or set an alarm.

Another option would be to stay on SLGS, but lower your reduction point a little, like 80 instead of 90, but if you do that, be sure to add something to your signature like "reductions at <80" so people know what you're doing.
 
Even if following SLGS, you are due to increase him back to 1.0 units. With SLGS, you wait 7 days, do a curve if you don't have enough data (but you do) to see how low he's going, and if his nadirs are all above 150, you increase by 0.25 units. It's been over a week, you can increase back to 1.0 units at the next shot.
 
Thank you for your replies - please keep an eye on him for the next 48 hours. I'll keep threading! He was very HIGH this morning - back to the beginning??? :( I've just given him a 1 unit shot and I'm taking him to the vet in an our to get him back into antibiotics. Wendy, I will do that - decrease only when below 80. Chris, where do I note this in Rico's SS??

Any advice on how to deal with his teeth problem (gingivitis) at home until he's able to have his dental?
 
Chris, where do I note this in Rico's SS??

I'd put it in your Signature, not your spreadsheet. (you may have to take some of the information out to add anything else. Since he's no longer on Caninsulin or eating the RC, that can be removed as well as all the blood test results. If you look at the bottom of your spreadsheet you'll see a tab for "Labs" where you can enter those results.

Any advice on how to deal with his teeth problem (gingivitis) at home until he's able to have his dental?

There's really not much you can do for it once it's there but you can start getting him used to having his teeth brushed by using a 4X4 gauze pad, moisten and try rubbing along the gum line
 
OK, you said shot above at +3, that had me confused. Looks like he's still building the depot for this dose.

A favour to ask of you, next time you post, could you start a new thread? Instead of renaming the title to the new date.
 
Back
Top