12/1 TR Mikey PMPS 338 Not eating well.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
I don't have a link hand at yesterday's condo, because I'm not on my own computer.

I'm pretty worried about Mikey today. I'm not so sure what is going on, but he seems depressed and is not eating well. My suspicion is that he got too stressed last night, and just isn't feeling like himself.
 
Mary --

Any cat can have an "off" day -- just like any of us can. Give him some quiet time to get readjusted. Try to gauge if he wants attention or wants to be by himself. It helps to remember that cats are territorial animals and like routine. Take them out of their territory or change their routine and they are upset. You did both so it's very likely that Mikey needs to settle back down and trust there won't be any more disruptions. If it keeps up or you see other changes in his behavior, it may mean a vet visit.
 
dang, little buddy, what's up!?

Mary, Jill just added a post to the single topic links at the bottom of the New to the group sticky on helping a cat get eating. You might take a peek there and see if you can tempt him. Sometimes even getting a little food on your finger into his mouth will "prime the pump." Rotisserie chicken is pretty yummy to most cats.

Did he get into any catniptini's at the party at Rusty's? ;)

hope he perks up a bit. :bighug:
 
See if you can get him to play a little bit. That can trigger the hunt/catch/kill/eat behavior cycle.
 
Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!!

Too much partying last night??

Eat yer fuds!!

It seems they all have days where they just don't want to eat....Hope you can find something that interests him tonight!
 
Thank you, everyone. This has been the most stressful vacation I've ever had, and I think Mikey is feeling it. I went off to another family gathering tonight, and Don stayed home with him. The problem is that DK and Mikey are both very territorial about their humans. Don is the property of DK, and I am the property of Mikey. The two of them established that, and they tend to stick by it. Mikey loves Don, but having so much time with me gone, sick or seriously stressed, mixed with last night, really seemed to get to him.

Tonight's gathering was not very pleasant (nothing serious) so I decided to leave early. I'm glad I did. Mikey ate some for Don, but when he realized that Mommy was home, he ate the latest portion, which he had been ignoring. I gave him a good bit of petting, and he came downstairs to hang out on the desk with me. I'm trying to test him as little as possible tonight, since his ears are sore from so much pricking, and he seems to be getting stressed from it. I will get one more test tonight, though, and I'm going to keep a very close eye on him. My vet is open tomorrow and Saturday, so I can take him in if I need to. However, if the problem is stress, that will make it worse, so I'm going to watch him carefully.
 
Apparently there has been some confusion in my communication to my beloved DH about how much fud Mikey should be eating. Although Mikey seems a bit off, he ate half a can of Friskies while I was gone. Half. A. Can. Yep. And thinking he hadn't eaten enough, I just gave him 1/4 can more, which he may or may not eat. Yep, half a can. As in half the amount he should eat in a day, and the whole amount he should eat during his PM cycle. Yep.

Note to self: DH does not KNOW that he should be a eating a can means a can of FF, not a can of Friskies.
I still don't get why he can't read my mind.

Still, keeping a close eye on Mikey, of course.
 
I still don't get why he can't read my mind.

This part.
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif
icon_lol.gif

I often feel the same way about my DH. ;)
 
Boy, Mary, he has you totally wrapped around his little paw!! HaHa....what am I talking about? They all have us wrapped. Well I'm glad he's actually been eating.

Darn it, but I'm almost thinking Mikey needs a dose increase. He's had more than ten cycles at this dose and he's just blech. What do you think about an increase tomorrow or Sunday? I'm going to talk to some of the other ladies about it and one of us will post tonight.

Try to get some rest.

Happy New Year!
 
Julie and I agree it looks like he needs more insulin. It is usually better to increase by 0.25u for a newly dx cat but Julie is concerned what Mikey would do in terms of his dropping. I think the decision has to be yours since you are the one that has to deal with those drops.
 
Glad to hear that the food problem was mix up and Mikey is still eating.

Perhaps sticky notes strategically placed on top of each can of food might help to serve as a reminder. I've been using this system around here lately with fairly good results. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top