12/1 TAFFY-AMPS126/+2 43, 34/+3 48/+4 57/+5 72/+6 117/+7 122/+9 170/PMPS 217/+2 280

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...261-pmps-252-2-267-4-247.168930/#post-1832382

@Chris & China you were right! A good drop out of the yellows this morning and that was even after a midnight FD snack and a 4am LC snack.

Home today, so we'll see. Off to get more test strips after I check +2.
Nice to see that blue amps(looks like a possible falling amps), I would probably get a test at +1 (if you have enough strips), with a the bounce breaking at amps you might find he drops earlier, and if you can get in with the food earlier, staying ahead of the insulin it can help you to get him to surf.
 
LOW!! +1 @ 58, +2 @ 43, rechecked 34!!!!

I'm not panicking...
Treating with gravy after +1, after +2 gave some honey and food
 
Last edited:
checking in ten minutes, maybe can remove the 911...
he is not exhibiting any symptoms
Checked on the Alpha Track at 58
 
You can remove the 911. Keep your title updated though. Regadless of what the AT says you want him up over 50 on the human meter. The protocol was written using a human meter so that's what we go by. I'd wait 15 min, they usually don't respond that fast.
 
Once he's over 50...because of the honey & gravy you'll need to keep checking every 30 min or so to make sure he stays up. Not sure if you have data on Taffy regarding how much honey/gravy is needed and how long it takes those carbs to wear off and if he surfs from there.
 
Not sure if you have data on Taffy regarding how much honey/gravy is needed and how long it takes those carbs to wear off and if he surfs from there.
Only our 2nd time in these #s, so not a lot of experience. Last time was middle of night, too, so I wasn't totally alert! But I am trying to keep track.
 
I like to check with the AT meter, too, when #s are significantly low (or high), so that I have AT #s to show his vet. He only has experience with AT meter and I am trying to show him the comparison.
Yep, I have the AT as my back up too. Just didn't want you to be complacent because of the AT meter. Although 58 is still too low even on AT.
 
Very considerate of Taffy to wait until you have a day at home.
Right?!!
So glad. Was planning some errands, but they can wait.
+3 @ 48
Gaveanother bite of LC food + gravy. Will give just gravy now. Taffy is sleepy.
So, when you say reduction, this means tonight's insulin dose is reduced?
 
Keep going up Taffy!

Yes, his new dose is 1.5 units. However, there are some options for tonight. You can give him the new dose tonight, or, if he decides to bounce to the moon (over 300 say), you can do what we call "shooting through the bounce", where you give a one time only dose at the old 1.75 units to help him get over the bounce faster, then shoot 1.5 units tomorrow morning. However, if you have to be away tomorrow during the day, I'd shoot the 1.5 units tonight, to help drain the depot a little to help prevent any funny stuff tomorrow.
 
or, if he decides to bounce to the moon (over 300 say), you can do what we call "shooting through the bounce", where you give a one time only dose at the old 1.75 units to help him get over the bounce faster, then shoot 1.5 units tomorrow morning. However, if you have to be away tomorrow during the day, I'd shoot the 1.5 units tonight, to help drain the depot a little to help prevent any funny stuff tomorrow.

Well, we'll see what he does today. I can be around tomorrow. Taffy does seem to take fast & deep dives, however, so I'll have to think about those options. I'll think he'll surf today and bounce tomorrow, but what do I know???
 
+9 @ 170
So far no big bounce! I predict a bounce after tonight's dose, though. But, then again, I should know better than to try to predict what a cat is going to do!
 
Well look at Taffy work that juice! Scary but sweet reduction! :D:D
So today you got a daytime taste of just how you Do have the tools you need to bring Taffys numbers up when they drop! That is a powerful tool you have in your toolbox now! :)
I'm glad you decided to stay in!:woot:
Go Taffy!:D
Congrats on the reduction!!:):cat::):bighug:
 
Sweet! Ok so now make room for tonites numbers by taking off some of the ones from today..:) hoping you don't need to post up quite so many..:p meaning I hope tonites cycle is not as eventful as the earlier one was! :D:bighug:
 
Sweet! Ok so now make room for tonites numbers by taking off some of the ones from today..:) hoping you don't need to post up quite so many..:p meaning I hope tonites cycle is not as eventful as the earlier one was! :D:bighug:

But the #s from today are so cool!
PM+2 @ 280, so it looks like a bounce, and I can get some sleep. Still fighting something! I'm going to set an alarm for +4 or 5 just in case.
 
You are all so awesome to spend your time helping us newbies! My brain often freezes in a panic and I am figuring this stuff out, but I would be lost without such great support...:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
@Barbara & Uncle, I just checked out your condo and you guys have sure had a busy 24 hours! Hope you get some rest. :cat:

I need to learn to fine tune directing Taffy's surfing with the right foods (amounts and types). When those #s get so low, I just start throwing gravy at him! And I prob overkilled on the honey. (I hope this doesn't mean I caused his bounces.) Still learning about how everything works.

I stayed pretty calm today when we got to the 40s, but I was only pretending to know what I was doing!

Thanks, again! Everybody have a good night, or a beautiful day if you are around the globe! :kiss:
 
Totally concur with Chris' post above!
Sleep well....if you look at Gussies SS for 9/9 you will see I did the same thing! Loaded him up and then he had higher numbers for a bit then came back down..until you get comfortable knowing you can gently steer him back up it's easy to load him up on Gravy and honey/syrup... the folks here reminding me I knew what and how to keep him safe helped me to learn to moderate how I did things! :bighug::bighug:That's where notes on what you gave come in handy, you can see what gives him a gentle bump, what slams on the breaks, what helps him surf etc. Data gives you options!:):bookworm::)
And I ALWAYS sought help here when his numbers dropped! Even if it was just to verify what I was doing was right..and that's how they kept me from panicking!:) It's really hard to learn to do things that take thinking from a sheer panic perspective!:woot:;):):bighug:
You had a wild ride today! :D Get that rest, you will need it again one of these cycles!;)
 
I stayed pretty calm today when we got to the 40s
you did way better than me!
I hope this doesn't mean I caused his bounces.
No, I don't think so. The honey and high carb food does bump up their numbers for a while (of course that's what we're using it for) but it's relatively temporary compared to a bounce. There is a really good older condo regarding bounces that I have bookmarked. It brought me to another level of understanding. So helpful, cause Uncle was bouncing A LOT. I felt so helpless, well it turns out we kinda are when it comes to bounces. When you read it that statement will make sense to you. I'll try to find it tomorrow and get it to you unless someone reads this and beats me to it. I'd do it now but I am really fried! Good night to you and Taffy as well.
 
@Barbara & Uncle, is this the post you're talking about: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/discussion-pogo-stick-cat-how-to-dose-stop-bounce.76617/? I think there are others on the subject, but that is the first one I found.

Julie, here is another post that might be helpful, regarding when and how to feed to keep control:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

Taffy, step away from the trampoline. Slowly and safely, of course
. ;)
 
Bouncing....Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Thanks, All! Read and bookmarked! Taffy up slightly at +4 but not too high. 297

Now...tomorrow I need to be re-instructed how to change Taffy's SS link in my signature to say "Taffy's SS"! I asked before, but things got crazy and I can't find the thread w/ the answer. I feel very uncool having that long url name and I want to be like everybody else! Or just direct me to the sticky with the instructions if it's in one!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top