12/1 Simon AMPS 251; +8 68 PMPS 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I was able to get home today at +8 and Simon's numbers went low again from the AM, even lower than yesterday at +6. I went ahead and gave him a little more Friskies since I won't be home again until the PMPS. All this bouncing around is so confusing. I know the green numbers are good but it just makes me nervous since he goes high and then low in the middle of the day. I won't be able to check him in the middle of the day every day. Good advice on holding the dose since he dropped to 68 today -- it might have gone much lower with a larger dose.

I am going to get my profile up soon once I figure out how to do it. I have tried to post it using the instructions, but am still having problems. I guess I am just very technologically challenged. I also had someone at work try to figure it out but no luck.

I am putting a little warm water in with his food but I will take your suggestion about the tuna oil.

Simon started on the Lantus on 11/16 but I didn't start testing until 11/27 when I got a glucometer.
 
Re: 12/1 Simon AMPS 251 time to increase dose?

Good morning.....I don't think I have posted in your condo yet....so welcome. :-D

In my opinion I think you should wait a few more cycles before you raise the dose. He did have some green yesterday.
In most cases when increasing the dose we only go up in .25 increments.
Let' see what others think today.
 
Re: 12/1 Simon AMPS 251 time to increase dose?

Good morning guys! I also don't think I have ever welcomed you to Lantus Land before so welcome! I won't be giving out any dosing advice as we still have to ask ourselves .. but Im pretty sure most kitties poop less while on wet food because their body is actually using most of what is in the wet foods, unlike the dry ... someone correct me if I'm wrong though .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 12/1 Simon AMPS 251 time to increase dose?

Hi I don't think I've visited before so once again welcome. I'm not an expert so no advice on dosing but I agree with Miriam Simon's SS looks really good for just starting out. It takes time to build up that shed. You're doing great. :-D His numbers are coming down. I'll pass along a message that I need quite often ;-) Try to be patient Lantus works more slowly than other insulins like NPH and Reg. Have a great day.
 
Re: 12/1 Simon AMPS 251 time to increase dose?

Was 11/27 your first dose of Lantus? Generally, we don't suggest changing the dose for 5 - 7 days so you can get the shed built.

Tight Regulation Protocol said:
General" Guidelines:

* Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 cycles).

* Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

* Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Devon is correct -- she offered one explanation. I feed a primarily raw diet and my cats don't always poop on a daily basis. It may also be that as you've transitioned food, Simon's system is readjusting. Just keep an eye on the litter box and make sure he continues to defecate and he's not showing signs of constipation or other sort of lower GI problem.

You may also want to put together a Profile for Simon. I've linked the instructions.
 
Re: 12/1 Simon AMPS 251 time to increase dose?

Thanks for the great advice so far. Simon has actually been on Lantus since 11/17 but it was at a much higherdose, prescribed by my vet. My vet started him on 3 units and then increased him to 4 units on 11/23. I did not start testing Simon until 11/27. That is when I found out that 4 units was probably way too much. I guess I am just anxious to get his numbers down but I will be patient and give it a few more days to see what happens.

I feel better knowing that canned food may cause less pooping in the box. It seems like the opposite would be true. I am having a hard time seeing just how much he is using the box because I have another cat. I think I will separate them tomorrow and have a more accurate idea of what he is doing in the litter box. Georgia and Simon
 
Re: 12/1 Simon AMPS 251 time to increase dose?

Thanks for clarifying! Let me make a suggestion -- in your signature, you note "Using Lantus" could you add the date that you started? That way, since your SS reflects numbers only from 11/27, we'll know when you actually started and not keep bugging you for info or asking the same questions over and over. (That's the value of the Profile!)

So, given that the shed is already in place, given the green number yesterday, it probably makes sense to hold the dose a bit longer. It's quite likely that the AMPS is a bit of a bounce from that green. You don't want to increase dose based on a bounce. We can evaluate dose once we know that the bounce has cleared. If you increase when numbers are reacting to the previous low, you could easily put Simon over his needed dose.
 
Re: 12/1 Simon AMPS 251 time to increase dose?

Hi Georgia! Here is the link to your previous condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30983
We link in our first post of each day so we can click to see what transpired the day before.
How is Simon doing with the other Ps? Purring, Peeing, Preening, Playing?

It is good that you are keeping an eye on the Litter Box action. Sometimes, a little tuna oil will help with keeping this moving...and some of us add a little Miralax to the food. It is tasteless but we do add more water to the food when using it. Star with 1/8 teaspoon mixed in. Do you add water to the canned food? I add warm water to all their meals.

If you could get a Profile made up for you and Simon as Sienne suggested, it would be very helpful.
That was a lovely green yesterday! :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top