12/1 remi AMPS 90, +2 77, +4 76, AMPS 93, + 6 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

phlika29

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone

I cant believe it is the first of December already :shock: Remi's breathing is still improved, this morning there was some stuffiness in his nose but his chest seems much better to me. I am thinking of buying a stethoscope. is that a little over the top? I wonder if I would actually be able to tell what I am listening to. I am worried that I think he is better but actually he isn't and I am missing it. Certainly when I pick him up his chest doesn't seem to tighten. when he sits on me it feels less rumbly and he seems to sit more easily.

His blood glucose is similar to yesterday and tonight I might go to the 0.1 dose.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129269

Thanks Wendy and Julie for your comments about this. At the moment I am using a metal ruler to measure the dose and be consistent. Most of the time the measurement is already putting the plunger onto the zero mark so I guess I will just have to decrease on the ruler. Am not at home but I think I am using 1 mm now so would have to go to perhaps 0.8. Basically I think it will almost be what is just left in the needle?!
 
Re: 12/1 remi AMPS 90, +2 77, +4 76

I just bought a stethoscope today on Amazon that has been sitting in my basket waiting for me to need it to get free shipping so you won't get me saying it's over the top. Several on yahoo lists use them and since Max makes noises and has had some episodes I look upon it as insurance that I will never need it. But if I do, I will have it.

It's looking like insulin will soon be behind you. Yea for that too!
 
Thanks Melanie and Tiff

I am going to go ahead and get a stethoscope :-D it seems to me that each minute remi's breathing is different and I am becoming more and more paranoid about it.

I am going to attempt to reduce his dose tomorrow morning. I think he was probably already on less than 0.25 so will just go ahead and reduce to what I think is the next dose down. Basically the plunger almost flat on the bottom and just what is in the syringe. So just a drop -0.1.

Not many readings today. I was so focused on getting remi antibiotic into him I forget to test his +2. Then we both fell asleep on the sofa together :-D
 
Hi Sarah and Remi! I have been out of the loop and am just catching up on Remi's latest. Sorry to hear that his asthma flared up, but I'm glad it's getting better! How exciting that he is ready for another reducie! One thing I have noticed with Billie is that when her asthma flares up, her BG goes up too. That doesn't seem to happen with Remi, so that's a good sign that something is going right! I am sending him lots of clear breathing vines.
 
Remi is looking great. Good luck with the new dose!

Sorry about the fleas. I've been watching for that here too, after I fostered a couple of cats that had them. I use Advantage Multi (because heartworm is also prevalent where I live), but I don't use it consistently so unfortunately my cats are probably not well protected. I would call the vet and ask what they recommend. There is also a pill called Capstar that will apparently kill live fleas immediately without hurting the cat, but it doesn't do anything about flea eggs or fleas that are already in the carpet. Some folks I know who foster frequently use Capstar if they see live fleas, then usually follow with something like Advantage or Revolution. If he has live fleas, you may also want to treat with a dewormer because fleas can lead to tapeworms. Yuck!
 
Hi again Sarah! I didn't catch your comment about Remi having fleas until just now - the allergy specialist that Billie saw said that flea bites can exacerbate asthma symptoms because of the way they stimulate the immune system, especially if a cat has a flea allergy. I never used to use flea protection since my girls don't go outside, and she was strongly recommending that I use something on them because of Billie's asthma. I did some googling for "cats fleas asthma" and found some info to support that. So, they now get Advantage II once a month. There are other cats and dogs as well as mice in my building so it is possible that fleas could find their way in here.
 
Hi deanna and Libby

Thanks for the extra info on fleas. I never knew that leaving them might be bad for remi's asthma but I guess that makes sense. I just never liked the idea about putting chemicals on him. I also never knew that fleas can lead to tapeworms :shock: :shock: will check with the vet tomorrow and have a look at that capstar.

I am a little late with today's thread as I had some upsetting news about a friend . I will do it in a minute but it's knocked out my normal testing schedule somewhat so there aren't as many tests as normal.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top