KATIE&ovie
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-30-ovie-pmps-128-1-116-2-5-78-3-92-4-89.187390/
What are your thoughts? Stall or shoot?
What are your thoughts? Stall or shoot?
Yep. He is really liking this dose. I can shoot it. Lagoon here we comeOvie is really working on this dose! I think you're going to have to get used to lower preshots and greens, Ovie sure is!
Totally your call. This number is not unlike the 116 PMPS you shot before. You have lots of test strips and food and can monitor?

I'm betting on book ends..106I'm playing guess the PMPS, and my guess is 83
Nice day today, Ovie!![]()
You are a wealth of knowledge.Great job of shooting!!!
Remember that now you’ve started shooting green numbers, you can shoot above 50. Since you don’t have a ton of data, take into consideration if he’s dropping or if he’s got a second dip. "How do I tell the difference", you might ask
A dropping number “usually” occurs when they are clearing a bounce and it starts to drop from one shot and continues to drop all cycle to the next one. A second dip is where the kitty nadirs, comes back up, and then drops back down at the next PS. However, the second dip is not lower than the nadir.
Also remember that it takes about 30 mins from food-in-mouth to affecting the BG. The only time I ever suggest testing less than 30 minutes is if the kitty is below 50 and dropping fast or below 40. The only thing that I know that affects the BG fast (as in 15-20 mins) is syrup/honey/sugar water.
Great job today!


You were close! Lol 89.I'm playing guess the PMPS, and my guess is 83
Nice day today, Ovie!![]()
Thank you Wendy. Will doGood job on shooting without stalling.Double dips are safe to shoot. Paws crossed for a calm night of surfing. As usual, get a +1.
That's what I'm hoping. I will so be on my toes. paws crossed for no dramatics tonight.Shooting green was right around the corner. I know you'll be on your toes all night, but I hope it plays out as a lot of non dramaticsurfing!

Hmm.. I do need to keep track of his food. He had 2 teaspoons of Friskies poultry platter after the +4 reading. I see where that would definitely help you guys help me out.Oops....sorry I missed your post. I was fixing dinner and stepped away from the board. Great job shooting!!! You are becoming a pro at it.
Today’s PMPS was the perfect example of what a second dip looks like although he dropped low a little early. I’m thinking if you had not fed the curve, he might have actually nadired a little later. One thing I forgot to mention earlier, that Wendy did, is that second dips are safe to shoot. Shooting a dropping number can give you a great opportunity to take advantage of carryover and overlap but it’s best to do it the first few times when you’ve got a little help or when the PS is higher than 50 or 60 because they can keep dropping even after you shoot and they eat. Then, on top of that, they onset.
BTW, I know it is a huge hassle but it might help you in the long run and that is to keep track of what you feed him when and how much. You can look at Gracie’s SS in her food column and get an idea. It also helps those of us helping if we can see how many carbs were fed when.
As an example, when I look at his SS today, I’m wondering if he went to 104 because of something he was fed.....because he came back down OR did he have an inverted curve today? That tells me something different about what he might be up to.
Just a suggestion![]()

I will post now. Sorry. I was reading Marje's post.Did you get a +1?

Will do. I had a feeling it was going to be a fun filled night.Looks like you might have another night like the other one if the +1 is down a bit. I’d definitely grab a +2.
I will be back in about 10 minutes with the +2.5 reading.I'm not sure which it calls for, but I would give a little MC at least to encourage some surfing


I was thinking that too.I'm not sure, feeding the curve is super new to me, he came up, but only a tiny bit, and that's essentially the same reading as the first one. I would give a little more.


I hope so.Good boy, Ovie! Now just surf there for the rest of the night, K?![]()

I fell asleep. I just poked him and he's at 133 at +6..Ovie update?

