12/1 Ovie PMPS:89, +1:72,+2:53,2.5:56,+3:73,+3.5:83,+6:133

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ovie is really working on this dose! I think you're going to have to get used to lower preshots and greens, Ovie sure is! ;)

Totally your call. This number is not unlike the 116 PMPS you shot before. You have lots of test strips and food and can monitor?
 
Ovie is really working on this dose! I think you're going to have to get used to lower preshots and greens, Ovie sure is! ;)

Totally your call. This number is not unlike the 116 PMPS you shot before. You have lots of test strips and food and can monitor?
Yep. He is really liking this dose. I can shoot it. Lagoon here we come :D
 
Ovie's +2 was 60. Feeding him now. I think that romp around the house had something to do with the drop. I will test again in 30.
 
I hope he surfs for you, he could just really enjoy being in the 60s & 70s, he's new to being on a "magic" dose, like Asia, so you have to learn as you go.

I tried as best I could to calculate Asia's drops and rises from one hour to the next in different types of cycles. For Asia, anything much more than +/- 20 points is funny business, typically. There are exceptions too, when she is trying to come down from a higher number, it's more like +/- 50 there. If you can try to do that with Ovie, it will help you know if there's something to look out for (not that he will always be so predictable, but it is better than nothing). ;)
 
I need to really study his spreadsheet and see what patterns are forming for him. He is hanging in the 60s for now.:D I don't foresee anymore drops for him this cycle but I could be wrong.:confused:

The Oval is really enjoying his nap right now. He's super cuddly.:cat:
 
Great job of shooting!!!

Remember that now you’ve started shooting green numbers, you can shoot above 50. Since you don’t have a ton of data, take into consideration if he’s dropping or if he’s got a second dip. "How do I tell the difference", you might ask :):)

A dropping number “usually” occurs when they are clearing a bounce and it starts to drop from one shot and continues to drop all cycle to the next one. A second dip is where the kitty nadirs, comes back up, and then drops back down at the next PS. However, the second dip is not lower than the nadir.

Also remember that it takes about 30 mins from food-in-mouth to affecting the BG. The only time I ever suggest testing less than 30 minutes is if the kitty is below 50 and dropping fast or below 40. The only thing that I know that affects the BG fast (as in 15-20 mins) is syrup/honey/sugar water.

Great job today!
 
Great job of shooting!!!

Remember that now you’ve started shooting green numbers, you can shoot above 50. Since you don’t have a ton of data, take into consideration if he’s dropping or if he’s got a second dip. "How do I tell the difference", you might ask :):)

A dropping number “usually” occurs when they are clearing a bounce and it starts to drop from one shot and continues to drop all cycle to the next one. A second dip is where the kitty nadirs, comes back up, and then drops back down at the next PS. However, the second dip is not lower than the nadir.

Also remember that it takes about 30 mins from food-in-mouth to affecting the BG. The only time I ever suggest testing less than 30 minutes is if the kitty is below 50 and dropping fast or below 40. The only thing that I know that affects the BG fast (as in 15-20 mins) is syrup/honey/sugar water.

Great job today!
You are a wealth of knowledge. :cat:

I tested him right now and he is at 89 for his PMPS. I know you say I can shoot. Should I stall or just go for it? :nailbiting:
 
Shooting green was right around the corner. I know you'll be on your toes all night, but I hope it plays out as a lot of non dramatic :D surfing!
 
Oops....sorry I missed your post. I was fixing dinner and stepped away from the board. Great job shooting!!! You are becoming a pro at it.

Today’s PMPS was the perfect example of what a second dip looks like although he dropped low a little early during the a.m. cycle. I’m thinking if you had not fed the curve earlier today, he might have actually nadired a little later.

One thing I forgot to mention earlier, that Wendy did, is that second dips are safe to shoot. Shooting a dropping number can give you a great opportunity to take advantage of carryover and overlap but it’s best to do it the first few times when you’ve got a little help or when the PS is higher than 50 or 60 because they can keep dropping even after you shoot and they eat. Then, on top of that, they onset.

BTW, I know it is a huge hassle but it might help you in the long run and that is to keep track of what you feed him when and how much. You can look at Gracie’s SS in her food column and get an idea. It also helps those of us helping if we can see how many carbs were fed when.

As an example, when I look at his SS today, I’m wondering if he went to 104 because of something he was fed.....because he came back down OR did he have an inverted curve today? That tells me something different about what he might be up to.

Just a suggestion :):)
 
Last edited:
Oops....sorry I missed your post. I was fixing dinner and stepped away from the board. Great job shooting!!! You are becoming a pro at it.

Today’s PMPS was the perfect example of what a second dip looks like although he dropped low a little early. I’m thinking if you had not fed the curve, he might have actually nadired a little later. One thing I forgot to mention earlier, that Wendy did, is that second dips are safe to shoot. Shooting a dropping number can give you a great opportunity to take advantage of carryover and overlap but it’s best to do it the first few times when you’ve got a little help or when the PS is higher than 50 or 60 because they can keep dropping even after you shoot and they eat. Then, on top of that, they onset.

BTW, I know it is a huge hassle but it might help you in the long run and that is to keep track of what you feed him when and how much. You can look at Gracie’s SS in her food column and get an idea. It also helps those of us helping if we can see how many carbs were fed when.

As an example, when I look at his SS today, I’m wondering if he went to 104 because of something he was fed.....because he came back down OR did he have an inverted curve today? That tells me something different about what he might be up to.

Just a suggestion :):)
Hmm.. I do need to keep track of his food. He had 2 teaspoons of Friskies poultry platter after the +4 reading. I see where that would definitely help you guys help me out.

Feline diabetes makes me feel like I'm back in math class. Lol!:nailbiting:
 
I'm not sure, feeding the curve is super new to me, he came up, but only a tiny bit, and that's essentially the same reading as the first one. I would give a little more.
 
+6 seems to be the usual time he starts rising in the pm cycle, he could also be starting a baby bounce? But more than likely they answer is: because cat :cat::joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top