12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 +2 98 + 3 93 + 4 96 + 9 163? Dosing?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
I need some help. I didn't think 186 was very low. I have shot 169. I must have shot a dropping number. However at + 2. I am at +98 which is about 68 on a human meter. Should I start to feed HC food now? My cat has been running high numbers lately but has been known to drop many points from +1 to +4. I just fed some LC but I will test again in 30 minutes. I have Karo and hc food if needed.6
 
Re: PMPS 186 + 2 98? Help? Alph Trak

Morning Catherine,

I won't be around much this morning to help, but if this were me, yes I would. It's a big drop from your PS number, I'd feed some HC, not alot, and then recheck in 30 minutes to see where kitty is at.
 
Re: PMPS 186 + 2 98? Help? Alph Trak

Thank you very much for your help Michelle. I fed a few teaspoons LC but I just gave her a teaspoon of HC. I have a cat that loves to eat so that's helpful. I will test her in 30 minutes.
 
Re: PMPS 186 + 2 98? Help? Alpha Trak

Good morning, Catherine. Any update on Lovey's numbers? I generally like to check on my kitty every 30 min. if I'm concerned about numbers.

Here's the link to the post on handling low numbers, if you need it.
 
Re: PMPS 186 + 2 98 + 3 93 Help? Alpha Trak

Hi Sienne,

I just gave another teaspoon of HC food and I will check again in 30 minutes. Should I give mabye two teaspoons of HC good since I am still early in the cycle?
 
Re: PMPS 186 + 2 98 + 3 93 Help? Alpha Trak

Hi Catherine - wow, a nice surf setting up here. For me, I'd just stick with the 1 tsp, Lovey seems to be responding well to that. I too would check her again in 30 minutes. Good luck.
 
Re: PMPS 186 + 2 98 + 3 93 Help? Alpha Trak

I agree with Michelle. So far, this is a great surf.

Is this your PMPS or your AMPS? (And how about putting Lovey's name in your subject line along with the date?)
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 + 3 93 Help? Alpha Trak

I would stick with 1 tsp at a time. You don't want Lovey to get too full and not eat later if she needs to.
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 + 3 93 +4 96? Alpha Tra

Thanks Carla. We are doing well here. I was worried at +2 with such a drop, but we are at 96 at +4 so Lovey is still in a safe range. I gave her a 1/2 teaspoon of hc food at +4. Should I add some LC food now or keep with food until +6 when the insulin tends to peak sometimes?
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 + 3 93 +4 96? Alpha Tra

Hi Catherine - what an awesome surf for Lovey. This is really nice! You could try and switch to an LC food, see what Lovey does, or if you're more comfortable continuing with the HC, then do that. This really is an excellent surf. If you go LC, make sure to test to verify she didn't drop too much, say in 30 minutes or so. Remember too that the HC will wear off after a while, so test now and then after nadir too, just to be sure the surf is being maintained. I will be gone for a bit, but it looks like there are others online now that can help if you need it.
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 +4 96 +5.25 133? Dose?

I tried 2 units for a few days with Lovey due to some low 80's with 2.25 and me working during the day. I usually would feed lovey LC to get her to surf the few times at 2.25 when she was in the 80's. I was concerned since I am at work and my husband was not able to come home at lunch and tt est her as he was at times.

I thought the 2 units wasn't working. So I tried a skinny 2.25, but it is hard for me to be consistent and then I just gave 2.25 since the numbers seemed higher. Lovey was bouncing a lot again so I am not positive that she wasn't going low from low numbers of just getting used to higher numbers and bouncing from blues. Yesterday, she went from 431 to 218 in 5 hours but then was at 186 at AMPS. I gave about 2.25.

If I didn't give HC today, do you think Lovey would have gone below 80. It seems that she may have?

Any advice on dosing would be appreciated?
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 +4 96 +5.25 133? Dose?

the only problem with feeding hc in anticipation of low numbers is that we don't reduce the dose based upon that. which isn't necessarily a problem. so technically, you wouldn't reduce the dose tonight because she didn't get there.

the good thing is that having enough insulin in her may bring the upper numbers down. i think what you did was just fine. sometimes with kitties that are bouncy we encourage people to do exactly this in order to flatten out their cycles.

have you considered switching to a human meter, catherine? the strips cost a fraction of the AT strips, easily saving you $$ over time, even though you'd have to get a new meter at the beginning.
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 +4 96 +5.25 133? Dose?

Hi Julie,

I don't feed HC unless to prevent a possible hypo event. I was concerned because it was so early in the cycle, a pretty big drop, and a relatively lower preshot. I probably could have tried LC first, but after posting...I felt better be safe than sorry. I don't use it to flatten Lovey's cycles .

I bought a human meter, a relion micro and strips, but I haven't finished reading the manual yet. I think you have to hold it to the cat's ear until it gives the reading. I have to try it... that may tricky for Lovey she shakes her ear pretty quickly. Lovey just tolerates the testing experience. the alpha would track lets you move it when it starts processing after about a few seconds. it costs $1 a strip for alpha strips so it would be a great savings.
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 +4 96 +5.25 133? Dose?

With the Relion, you only have to hold it to the cat's ear until it sucks the blood onto the strip. It will beep and you move it away while it processes it and shows the reading.
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 +4 96 +5.25 133? Dose?

Oh thanks Carla. I didn't know that. I am glad to hear that. It probably doesn't take long to suck the blood up. The alpha track doesn't suck the blood into the strip. You just touch it. I have to try it.
 
Re: 12/1 Lovey AMPS 186 + 2 98 +4 96 +5.25 133? Dose?

The Relion Micro works like my Confirm...it sucks that drop up so quickly you don't have to hold it there any longer than you would with the AlphaTrak..as soon as it touches the sample, it "sucks" it up

And it takes a really tiny sample size too..I was shocked at how little I could get by with and still get a good reading
 
i think you''ll be pleasantly surprised with the relion. it tells you when it's got enough, which is usually very quickly. i waited to touch the drop until i was pretty sure there was enough beaded up to test.

on another condo - maybe Twice's? - you said you have trouble seeing the difference between a bounce and not enough insulin. i had to have people explain it to me about 100 times and eventually wrote a post about it when i finally got it! :lol: maybe it will help you start to "see" them on Lovey's ss. The first post here is about New Dose Wonkiness and the next one is about a bounce. New Dose Wonkiness
 
Thanks Julie for the tips. That condo on NDW and bouncing was very well written. I did it understand bounces much better than I did. It still can be tricky for me to distinguish when lowering a dose and when a bounce is prolonged though. Hopefully better numbers will lessen them. After those nice morning 90s and a PMPS of 217, I got a 298 at +3.5 so probably a bounce I suspect. Drats! :-| Have great night and thanks!
 
Beautiful cycle today for Lovey. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: I hope that s2.25 dose works for you.

You can always test the Micro on yourself first to get the hang of things. I have the Confirm and it does suck the blood up pretty quickly. Plus you can set the sound level if that's what is bugging Lovey.
 
You can turn the beep off the micro if Lovey doesn't like it. That's what I did on our micro. You'll know when it has the blood sucked up because the display goes from a blood drop icon on the screen to a blinking line while it is "processing".
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top