12/1 Jade / Has turned into an other bad day

At the vet . She is straining and she has passed 3 blood clotS and there is blood in urine. This is right after peeing a full amount and pooping. We are getting an extensive ultrasound in the morning. My poor Jade. @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
At the vet . She is straining and she has passed 3 blood clotS and there is blood in urine. This is right after peeing a full amount and pooping. We are getting an extensive ultrasound in the morning. My poor Jade. @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

I'm so sorry to hear that...I hope they can figure out what's going on and take good care of her tonight. Poor baby.

Sending lots of prayers your way. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Jill: You may want to update your title to let everyone know what's going on currently.
 
I'm so sorry to hear that...I hope they can figure out what's going on and take good care of her tonight. Poor baby.

Sending lots of prayers your way. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Jill: You may want to update your title to let everyone know what's going on currently.
Thank you....
So, they sent us home with Buprenorphine and Prazosin. We are scheduled for an extensive bladder, liver, kidney Ultrasound in the morning. They have NO idea what is happening. Jades urinalysis from last week looks normal. She had JUST peed and pooped and was playing. Then, she started straining. It was bad. She passed 2 blood clots here and there were really big, thick pink urine drops coming out of her and she was having urethral spasms. She peed at the vet, on the table and there was blood in that as well and also passed a third clot. The doc said it didn't feel grainy at all. They did a quick ultrasound and said her bladder is inflamed ( but empty). I am so stressed and so worried about my girl. I tried putting the new meds in some food for her when we got home but she didn't eat much. At least she ate a bit and hopefully that will give her some relief. I am starting her back on the Veraflox this evening as well.
 
I am sorry to hear this :bighug: they don't think it's kidneys? Speaking from human perspective, I've had a few kidney infections (blood clots and all). I hope that's all it is and you get some easy answers in the morning.
 
I am sorry to hear this :bighug: they don't think it's kidneys? Speaking from human perspective, I've had a few kidney infections (blood clots and all). I hope that's all it is and you get some easy answers in the morning.
She has early stage kidney disease but they looked at her urinalysis from last week and things look normal. Just spoke to my in home vet and she seems to think that it's most likely stress related from her FD relapse.
 
Jill, I am very worried about Jade. Please keep me posted. I am so sorry that she is going through this and you, too!
I gave her her shot a bit earlier than I had planned. She’s at 526 for her PMPS and I have to make sure she gets her shot before I take her in for her ultrasound in the morning. Doc said it’s ok to give gabapentin AND the Buprenorphine in the morning but I think I’ll just go with gabapentin unless someone here suggests that both are fine . She’s very sensitive to that sort of drug and I don’t want her to be too sedated as I think she gets scared when she’s that high. I hope that I can get her to take all her meds and eat enough to shoot tomorrow. i really worry that .25U is too low of a dose for her now that she earned a reduction but I can revisit that topic for advice in a day or two.
We are both very tired and very stressed. I hate this and I hate this for her.
 
I gave her her shot a bit earlier than I had planned. She’s at 526 for her PMPS and I have to make sure she gets her shot before I take her in for her ultrasound in the morning. Doc said it’s ok to give gabapentin AND the Buprenorphine in the morning but I think I’ll just go with gabapentin unless someone here suggests that both are fine . She’s very sensitive to that sort of drug and I don’t want her to be too sedated as I think she gets scared when she’s that high. I hope that I can get her to take all her meds and eat enough to shoot tomorrow. i really worry that .25U is too low of a dose for her now that she earned a reduction but I can revisit that topic for advice in a day or two.
We are both very tired and very stressed. I hate this and I hate this for her.
As high as her numbers are, combined with inappetence and a mystery thing going on - I think you need to shoot, even if she doesn't eat much. Have her ketones been checked yesterday or today?

Do you have any ondansetron or Cerenia? Mirataz?

Do you have any food you can syringe to mix meds in and get something in her belly? They often develop an aversion to whatever you syringe, so don't use a normal food. I keep a stock of the Gerber baby meats on hand, some people like the A/D recovery food.
 
As high as her numbers are, combined with inappetence and a mystery thing going on - I think you need to shoot, even if she doesn't eat much. Have her ketones been checked yesterday or today?

Do you have any ondansetron or Cerenia? Mirataz?

Do you have any food you can syringe to mix meds in and get something in her belly? They often develop an aversion to whatever you syringe, so don't use a normal food. I keep a stock of the Gerber baby meats on hand, some people like the A/D recovery food.
I don’t know what any of those meds are so the answer is no..:confused:
She’s eating just not a ton because I believe the meds have kicked in. She’s dopey. She ate before I shot her. I won’t shoot on an empty stomach but I’m honestly not terribly worried about her not eating as she always has had a pretty good appetite ( knock on wood!!) I can mix the liquid meds in with her wet food I just have to make sure she’s super hungry. I’ll give her the Veraflox with her food that I leave out at tonight . And she will get gabapentin and the Prazosin in her morning snack and then eat a bit more before her amps and shot ( hopefully). Then, off to the vet for her ultrasound. At least that’s the plan.
 
I don’t know what any of those meds are so the answer is no..:confused:
She’s eating just not a ton because I believe the meds have kicked in. She’s dopey. She ate before I shot her. I won’t shoot on an empty stomach but I’m honestly not terribly worried about her not eating as she always has had a pretty good appetite ( knock on wood!!) I can mix the liquid meds in with her wet food I just have to make sure she’s super hungry. I’ll give her the Veraflox with her food that I leave out at tonight . And she will get gabapentin and the Prazosin in her morning snack and then eat a bit more before her amps and shot ( hopefully). Then, off to the vet for her ultrasound. At least that’s the plan.
Ok, gotcha.
The ondansetron and Cerenia are for nausea/vomiting, I'm not saying she is but if she's in pain with whatever else is going on it's a possibility. The mirataz is an appetite stimulant.

If she stays this high, I would still shoot on an empty stomach. Of course, better if you can try to spoon feed her at least a little something if she's out of it. The risk of ketones is much higher than risk of hypo.

If I remember correctly, Veraflox is very bitter/nasty. I would not mix with food. Advice I got from vet last week was to hold head straight up, shoot it in back.of mouth, hold mouth closed til you're reasonably sure they've swallowed it. It needs to be given with food, but the nasty taste may turn her off to eating, so I'd try to feed before giving it
 
Ok, gotcha.
The ondansetron and Cerenia are for nausea/vomiting, I'm not saying she is but if she's in pain with whatever else is going on it's a possibility. The mirataz is an appetite stimulant.

If she stays this high, I would still shoot on an empty stomach. Of course, better if you can try to spoon feed her at least a little something if she's out of it. The risk of ketones is much higher than risk of hypo.

If I remember correctly, Veraflox is very bitter/nasty. I would not mix with food. Advice I got from vet last week was to hold head straight up, shoot it in back.of mouth, hold mouth closed til you're reasonably sure they've swallowed it. It needs to be given with food, but the nasty taste may turn her off to eating, so I'd try to feed before giving it
She was already on the Veraflox for a week ( she’s going on it again) and I mixed it in her wet food and she ate it without a problem. Did you look at her SS? She dropped down to 80 during last nights cycle. I think she’s just so high tonight from all the stress. This morning she was at 137 and then I stalled her to get to 213 and ok to shoot. I will see what the morning brings tho. If she’s super high like tonight, I will absolutely give her .25U.
 
Ok, gotcha.
The ondansetron and Cerenia are for nausea/vomiting, I'm not saying she is but if she's in pain with whatever else is going on it's a possibility. The mirataz is an appetite stimulant.

If she stays this high, I would still shoot on an empty stomach. Of course, better if you can try to spoon feed her at least a little something if she's out of it. The risk of ketones is much higher than risk of hypo.

If I remember correctly, Veraflox is very bitter/nasty. I would not mix with food. Advice I got from vet last week was to hold head straight up, shoot it in back.of mouth, hold mouth closed til you're reasonably sure they've swallowed it. It needs to be given with food, but the nasty taste may turn her off to eating, so I'd try to feed before giving it
She’s eating the evening meal with the Veraflox now. :)
 
She was already on the Veraflox for a week ( she’s going on it again) and I mixed it in her wet food and she ate it without a problem. Did you look at her SS? She dropped down to 80 during last nights cycle. I think she’s just so high tonight from all the stress. This morning she was at 137 and then I stalled her to get to 213 and ok to shoot. I will see what the morning brings tho. If she’s super high like tonight, I will absolutely give her .25U.
Oh you're right I'm sorry it wasn't loading since the last time I looked at your spreadsheet, now I have all the numbers. Very frustrating glitch in Google Sheets.

Today is a bounce then, no knowing when she'll clear it... plus larger depot still there. I still think you're good to shoot provided she's not surprisingly low, but whatever makes you comfortable (just the caveat of be sure to check ketones).

Hey, great she'll eat it mixed in! I certainly didn't taste it :D
 
Are you able to do a +3? I'd feed a little at +2 and hopefully slow down any potential dive if there's going to be one
 
Oh you're right I'm sorry it wasn't loading since the last time I looked at your spreadsheet, now I have all the numbers. Very frustrating glitch in Google Sheets.

Today is a bounce then, no knowing when she'll clear it... plus larger depot still there. I still think you're good to shoot provided she's not surprisingly low, but whatever makes you comfortable (just the caveat of be sure to check ketones).

Hey, great she'll eat it mixed in! I certainly didn't taste it :D
I trie
Are you able to do a +3? I'd feed a little at +2 and hopefully slow down any potential dive if there's going to be one
She’s eating now and I will definitely do a +3 and post. Thanks!!
 
Ah I wouldnt be too sure! Look how she dove last night. I mean yes go to bed now, but I would feed a little LC now, and set an alarm for +5.
 
Oh you're right I'm sorry it wasn't loading since the last time I looked at your spreadsheet, now I have all the numbers. Very frustrating glitch in Google Sheets.

Today is a bounce then, no knowing when she'll clear it... plus larger depot still there. I still think you're good to shoot provided she's not surprisingly low, but whatever makes you comfortable (just the caveat of be sure to check ketones).

Hey, great she'll eat it mixed in! I certainly didn't taste it :D
What? You don't taste your kitty's meds? Sometimes I do. But then I'm kinda weird that way. :rolleyes:
 
I don’t know what any of those meds are so the answer is no..:confused:
She’s eating just not a ton because I believe the meds have kicked in. She’s dopey. She ate before I shot her. I won’t shoot on an empty stomach but I’m honestly not terribly worried about her not eating as she always has had a pretty good appetite ( knock on wood!!) I can mix the liquid meds in with her wet food I just have to make sure she’s super hungry. I’ll give her the Veraflox with her food that I leave out at tonight . And she will get gabapentin and the Prazosin in her morning snack and then eat a bit more before her amps and shot ( hopefully). Then, off to the vet for her ultrasound. At least that’s the plan.
Hope you get some answers soon. Feel better Jade
 
I’m thinking about you and Jade today. I pray all goes well. I know it’s always rough going to the vet because Jade gets soooo stressed; I know that stresses you out as well. I hope the person doing the ultrasound is very experienced.
 
I’m thinking about you and Jade today. I pray all goes well. I know it’s always rough going to the vet because Jade gets soooo stressed; I know that stresses you out as well. I hope the person doing the ultrasound is very experienced.
Thank you so much! I did get up and test her at +4.5 and she was at 372.
Her doctor is doing the Ultrasound. She is pretty drugged. I gave her a nice dose of gabapentin at %:30 this morning and just fed her food with the Prazosin and a very small amount of the Buperenorphine. I will give her .25U right before we head to the doctor so I can make sure she's back home for her+3. I have not slept more than 2 hours.Ugh.
Her amps is 346. About to start a new condo for today.:bighug:
 
Back
Top