12/1 Herman amps 99 +5 68 ….Herman has had it with testing these days :(

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Hello everyone! Still overwhelmed with my current schedule but am popping on for some advice…or maybe just an ear or two to vent and bounce ideas off of.

Herman had been pretty steadily posting blue preshots with a nadir between +3 to +5…often getting to around or slightly below 80…feeding at +2 wasn’t really helping with the drops which I wondered if might be causing the blue preshots…either way…not earning reductions but not making me super-comfortable with an increase.

Now over the last few days I think Herman went a bit lower than he was used to and we had our knock ‘‘em down blow out complete freak out sessions. No chance whatsoever to get a test….to be honest he got so distraught that even feeding him was impossible. I couldn’t get near him and if a left food out he was so untrusting that I would come back he wouldnt eat..

Close to his am shot time (4am) he has still been doing his super cuddle sessions with me and when he isn’t stressed he is playful, goes on walks with me, etc. But he is extremely wary of ear pokes these days ESPECIALLY near usual nadir. It’s gotten really bad over the last few days….I need to try to fix it….Given this, how do I keep him safe?

Here’s what I am thinking/decided:
I am going to reduce him to 0.75. I am hoping we get a bit of a trust reset going with less testing and I am going to only get a +3 or +5 if he seems very quiet and sleepy to the point where I can get it without really waking or stressing him. I will do this for a week or so. Hopefully we can get out of this nadir time hiss-fest, freak out, run away mess we are into. Would this be considered a modified SLGS? Open to input.
 
I am sorry Herman is giving you a hard time. Any chance his ears are bothering him? I would not worry about what to call the unearned reduction. Just note it in your spreadsheet and see how it goes. He’s tightly controlled so it won’t hurt to take the reduction. See how it goes and take it a day or week if stable at a time is what I would do.
 
Oh gosh, Amy, that sounds so stressful and upsetting for both you and the fluffmeister. I think your plan sounds like a good one, and I'm glad Elise has given it her blessing. Also glad he's still as playful and cuddly as ever at non-testing times so that you know not to take it personally. :blackeye: Good luck, and keep us posted :bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Amy, I’m sorry poor Herman is having a rough patch right now. It makes it even more stressful for both of you.
Your plan sounds logical and being safe is so important.
Sending big hugs and prayers for Herman to mellow out and come back to his calmer self. Keep us posted on things. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yesterday was a re-bonding day. A different cat altogether, he spent tons of time with me, lots of pets, no pokes. And yes, @Angela & Cleo , lots of play! Play had been my go to but even that wasn’t working for those few days of misery! So far so good. Will leave him be today and in a day or too see if I can get a couple mid-cycle pokes back in without upsetting him. :cat:
Hope it’s going well. Come on Herman, show your Mama some love. We know you can do it, sweet boy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yesterday was a re-bonding day. A different cat altogether, he spent tons of time with me, lots of pets, no pokes. And yes, @Angela & Cleo , lots of play! Play had been my go to but even that wasn’t working for those few days of misery! So far so good. Will leave him be today and in a day or too see if I can get a couple mid-cycle pokes back in without upsetting him. :cat:
Aww, that's great. I'm so glad to hear that Herman is coming around. He really does love you -- he just has a funny way of showing it sometimes.
:bighug::bighug::cat::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top