No need to apologize. It's not on the spreadsheet because I started the spreadsheet at the same time that I started using the Libre regularly and also posting here, on 11/24. I also didn't have regular testing/BG numbers until 11/22, so there wasn't anything to backfill (I didn't bother to backfill 11/22-23 because it was literally all "HI"/over 400 and I wasn't following any board protocols or really "here" yet.)
Here's a quick timeline of pre-11/24 info:
- On 11/14, he was at the vet dentist for surgery, but they cancelled it because his BG was 400.
- My regular vet squeezed us in for an appointment the same day and gave me a prescription for insulin.
- The plan was to give him insulin for a week, bring him back to the vet for testing, and also get the Libre installed at that time.
- (We had established in 2021 that Gen would not tolerate home BG testing. We were following the protocol we used then. I hadn't found this site yet.)
- On 11/20, Gen woke me up wailing. He was in hypoglycemic crisis; I didn't have BG numbers but the symptoms were VERY clear. I rushed him to the ER.
- Gen came home that night, we went to the vet (another last minute squeezed in appointment) on 11/21 and he had a Libre installed.
- I originally found/came to this board for advice about the Libre, as my vet's office is closed on weekends. At first I wasn't sure I was planning to spend time here, so it took me a couple days before I decided to make a spreadsheet. I did this on 11/24, which was the day we restarted insulin following the hypo crisis.
(I realized later that I'd been giving him a much larger dose than I realized in the days leading up to the hypo crisis/hospitalization. Otherwise we probably would have been okay until we got the Libre. But I also might not have found my way here, and I'm glad I did, so IDK.)
I'm feeding the Hills m/d dry because I'm trying to make changes gradually, and he's been eating it for years. It wasn't too hard to move him from the Hills m/d wet to a lower-carb option but I spent a few days doing it, and now we've just had a bunch of dosage changes. I'll work on the dry food once he's had a few days with the current setup. I want to bring his numbers down, but I also don't want to risk hypo again, and things are very tense at work right now, so I'm going to have a hard time getting time off for another emergency. Thank you for the suggestions, I will look into them later!