12/1 Bid +48 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bid's Mommy

Member Since 2010
Good Morning All!! Can't believe it's December!! :o

Bid is still doing good!! And we got to the Vet tonight at 5:45pm... Can't wait! I can't believe it's only been a week since she started him on the insulin and wanted us to blindly give him 2U 2x each day!! And told us that tonight we'd probably be increasing it to 3U!! I don't think so.... She might want to do some research after this appointment tonight ;-)

Hope everyone has a good day!! cat_pet_icon

Yesterday
 
Don't be surprised if your vet has a bit of apoplexy because you "didn't follow her instructions." Hopefully, your vet will be as pleased as you are but some vets get bent out of shape if you don't follow the doctor's orders to the letter.
 
Woot! Woot! Go Bid! I gave my vet a little packet with Janet and Binky's chart and a copy of "Intensive blood glucose control is safe and effective
in diabetic cats using home monitoring and treatment with glargine". Of course, this was after I had 'let him go', but I bet he still read it out of curiosity! I'm so excited for you and Bid!!!
 
Indeed...! But you have done a great job here - your vet should be impressed (and even relieved... that you have done what you have done.)

Suggestion: If you can, print out a copy of your SS, take it with you and give it to the vet (edit out any comments you wouldn't want the vet to read!) - when we did this our vet about fell over backwards - she'd never seen anyone ever do this much hometesting, before...

(I found that using Google Docs toolbar "File / Download as / PDF" first - then, print out the resulting PDF file locally on the PC, works best, as regards formatting & colors...)
 
Thanks for the advice.. I will print that out and bring it with us! I think she thought we would hurt the cat with home testing but he's better today then he was a week ago!

And I defintely think she will be giving me an attitude tonight (god forbid I know more about my cat & diabetes then she does!) But depending on her attitude I think we will be 'letting her go too' :lol: . She may surprise me but we shall see..
 
Oh yes...do print out your SS for her...and maybe, if you want to, print out the protocol too....
A lot of vets start them out at higher dose...my Shadow was on 4.0u bid and I finally learned to home test after a week. They usually say we test too much ....but, you have the proof so it shouldn't matter to you what her reaction is. It would be nice if she was impressed and pleased. No matter...YOU won in any case, right?
You have done a GREAT job...look at that number! +48=62!!!!!! WOW!!!!!! :mrgreen:

ETA: Here is the link to yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30978
 
Awesome job! I hope for a great reaction from your vet - I hope she is pleased. Good luck, go armed with your data. You have done such an incredible job. Diet controlled only after a couple of days - simply amazing!
 
This really is amazing! What a success story! You have done such a great job. Good luck tonight with the vet that you probably will "let go"!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Good morning guys! What a beautiful number at +48! I hope your vet is thoroughly impressed with how you have taken charge and gotten Bid so much better ... Let us know what the vet says! Have a great day!
 
Jenn, I'm so happy for you! Please do take a copy of your SS, and a copy of the protocol...you could make a difference even if she is not happy with you and you end up looking for another vet. She will most likely be curious, and will read the info you give her later.....it may actually make her change her approach.

I truly think most vets are trying their best to treat FD, but they can't spend a ton of time keeping up with research on one disease in one animal. The info you give her may act as "Continuing Education".....and you could help many cats coming down the road behind you. What could be better than that?

Be vigilant though, I don't want to burst your bubble, but it's possible that Bid's BG could go back up, so keep testing at your normal PS times.
 
Oh I know.. I'm not trying to get too happy yet and plan on still testing at the 12 hour marks of when he should be getting his insulin shots.. I definitely want to stay on top of it.

Thanks everyone.. I'm just about to leave for work.. tested him one last time before I leave and it was 52. Also fed him some Fancy Feast.
 
Wow Wow Wow. dancing_cat flip_cat dancing_cat

You two made my day!!!!!! I also can't wait to hear how your visit goes. Hope your vet leaves his/her ego at the door and can acknowledge how awesome it was that you managed things so well. You and Bid deserve a pat on the back not a snarky lecture lol.
 
I was at the computer at 6:00am EST this morning waiting for your post....I was excited to see what Bid's number was......I guess I need a life huh. :roll:
Wow only a week.....is the paint dry in your condo yet?

Good luck with your vet.
 
WOOT WOOT WOOT!!

(don't be surprised if vet says that Biddy had 'transient' diabetes instead of giving credit to your dosing and testing).

hey... has anyone mentioned that it would be good to feed lots of small meals instead of big meals? helps to avoid overwhelming the pancreas.

go go go Bid!!
 
One word for Bid's numbers lately: SSUUUUUWWWEEEETTTTT!!!! Cannot wait to hear what the vet says!!! Maybe she will rethink her position on using Lantus and how to do it. Good luck!!
 
Jenn,

Bidd is doing so awesome! I can't wait to hear about your his vet visit. You have done a great job taking Bid's care into your hands. If you had blindly followed the vets advice you probley wouldn't have a cat. My guess is this is going to be quite an eye opening experience for them. Whether you still keep them as Bid's vet or not.

When Sara went OTJ [for about 1yr] I took her ss in to put in her records and was looking for some positive feedback. I didn't get it from the vet but I was told to take it [ss] to the receptionist and maybe she could scan it for the records. She never even looked at it. grumpy_cat It was a great feeling when the girl behind the desk asked me what Dr's office it come from? I said it's not from a dr, it's from me. :-D I changed vets after that.

Anxiously awaiting,

jan and sara
 
Alrighty back from the Vet... She was less then under-amused :roll: She looked at us like we were CRAZY for having a spreadsheet of his records.. She's like "I'm glad you love your cat so much but I'm really nervous about your home testing him that much!" She's like "I just don't want him to be scared of you and run and hide" .. Ok our Bid has NEVER hid ever after or before a ear prick and he always comes back 4 seconds later to cuddle!! She's very perplexed on why his numbers are so low but she wished we had brought our glucose meter in to check his numbers... She doesn't believe ours is accurate. We tested before we went and his numbers were at 46 then when they tested him his number was 84... We go back in a week and are bringing our tester with us to compare. But she did say no giving any insulin til next week! But she also said no home testing except maybe once Monday and Tuesday... I will still be checking at least twice a day.

She was completely pissed we aren't feeding him the DM food and was like nothing compares.. So she gave us a can of some m/d canned food to try (I personally think looking at his numbers that hes been awesome on the FF!)

She also hates that we changed his insulin intake.. she's like we have to promise not to change that! She's like he's not a human so we have to treat his diabetes different then we would treat a human!!!

She did want a copy of his ss.. and asked us to bring in the calories printout for Fancy Feast next time.

She's really nice but I just feel like she doesn't get it and she can't be mad I stopped giving my cat insulin with the numbers he was coming up with.. I would rather my cat have no insulin then be dead!! And she so looked at us like we were the crazy cat couple who has a ss!!

I might be a little crazy but at least I still have my cat!! I can't even begin to think of what I would do if he went to a coma or something crazy!
 
I'm so proud of you Jenn! YOU and BID are what's keeping me going right now!
:lol: :lol: :lol:


I love the "crazy ss couple!"

Great work!
 
And she so looked at us like we were the crazy cat couple who has a ss

:lol: :lol: :lol:

Honestly I was hoping you'd have a different experience but expected you wouldn't. I hope you weren't too intimidated. Maverick's vets so far have been very intimidating and very defensive. I hope you had your fingers crossed when you made the promise about insulin.

Do you have to pay again when you see your vet next week? That visit would buy a whole lot of fancy feast. I would call and make and excuse for not being able to make it. What you are doing right now is working for BID, not anything your vet has said yet was good for him (except Lantus - but not that starting dose).

You and BID and LL make a great team. He is kicking BUTT!!!!!
 
I do get quite intimidated going in there.. I just feel like sometimes I should listen to her but I can't get over her start at such a high dose! and for her not to think that what we've been doing is helping him is crazyyyy! :lol:

Yea tell me about it! Tonight for us to do NOTHING cost us $27 dollars! And next week will cost again, the only reason we are going is too get his rabies shot and yearly exam which he's due for.. Although I'm extremely nervous for them to give him any shots!

Thanks guys.. I love the support from this page! And I thank you all because I think without you and this board that I would have listen to the vet 100% and he would be soo sick or worse!!
 
Your vet sounds like our old vet. He wanted to do fructosamine tests even though we were testing and had the spreadsheet. I finally found a vet that supports our home testing. It doesn't sound like you're going to have to worry about it though. :-D Bid is just doing so great. Are you going to start the count down to OTJ? antijinx!
 
Good for you, Jenn! It's hard to believe a vet could look at cold, hard evidence and still try to call you wrong, but that happens sometimes. Obviously Bid is doing just fine the way things are. Great job!
 
If you get the rabies vaccine, please be sure it is a non-adjuvanted vaccine and that it is given very low on the leg, or even the tail. I wish I'd known that before.
 
Jenny and Sue said:
If you get the rabies vaccine, please be sure it is a non-adjuvanted vaccine and that it is given very low on the leg, or even the tail. I wish I'd known that before.

What happened before? Is he ok if he doesn't have the rabies shot? He doesn't go outside.
 
Great job, Jenn!! I'm always super nervous with our vet, too. It sucks, but I just remember that they don't *mean* to be completely ignorant. :lol: I just wish they could admit it. I'm glad you're going to keep up with the testing. That's so ridiculous that she thought the home testing was hurting Bid in any way. Has she ever suggested bringing him in for a curve? Ours did and we decided against it and went with hometesting (thanks to this board!). I can't believe vets would think that bringing a cat to the vet for a full day of testing would yield anything but inflated numbers from anxiety. Keep up the good work!
 
Bid's Mommy said:
What happened before? Is he ok if he doesn't have the rabies shot? He doesn't go outside.

My civvie just developed a large mass on the back of her neck and it is likely feline vaccine associated sarcoma. She's having surgery tomorrow. :cry:
 
She has not suggested bringing him in for a curve yet but she did roll her eyes when I mentioned that his BG might be a little higher at the Vet cause he was stressed.. (We got a BG of 46 at home then 84 at the Vet an hour later) So I said maybe he was stress from the ride and being there but she seemed to think that was not at all true.. And also today it was raining hard so on top of the drive, it was loud from the rain. So I would think he was a little stressed out.

And you should see him now, sleeping under the Christmas tree not phased one bit from any home testing! :smile:
Jenny and Sue said:
Bid's Mommy said:
What happened before? Is he ok if he doesn't have the rabies shot? He doesn't go outside.

My civvie just developed a large mass on the back of her neck and it is likely feline vaccine associated sarcoma. She's having surgery tomorrow. :cry:

Oh no! I'm so sorry to hear that! That scares me even more! I hope and pray that the surgery goes good tomorrow!!!
 
I've attached a paper from a veterinary journal that includes the Lantus dosing protocol that's used here. You might want to pass this along to your vet. It can be pretty hard for a vet to argue with research literature that comes out of a respected veterinary journal. Of course, there's always the "don't confuse me with the facts" response.
 

Attachments

Jenn...on the rabies vaccination...it depends on whether you are required by law to have it, how you feel about that, and any chances that Bid could get out or a rabid animal could get in. In AZ, we are supposed to have animal companions vaccinated for rabies; I never have. Gracie did have to vaccinated for me to bring her from Canada to the U.S. In fact, after their first year FVRCP, I don't vaccinate. Our cats are totally indoors and it's just Mike and me and the housekeeper. I know one cannot say they will never get out but I also lost a cat to a feline leukemia vaccination site sarcoma and that's when we stopped vaccinating our totally indoor cats. It's a personal decision for you.

I am so proud of you that you presented the info, you stuck to your guns, you knew what was right for Bid. You're awesome!!
 
Jenn I was reading your condo and like most posting here experienced the same reaction from my vet. He wasn't impressed with my using Lantus or with Powder's SS which was not nearly as impressive as Bid's. He barely looked at it and didn't want it.
At least he writes my RX. :roll: So when I read about the heavy rain tonight I looked at your avatar info because I had heavy rain too and ohmygod_smile we live in the same area. Anyway you have done a great job with Bid :smile: I think your vet is jealous cause he didn't get better from her treatment plan, he got better from you following LL protocol. :mrgreen: It looks like there will be another OTJ party soon no jinx and so soon. I wonder if this is a LL record. I will be watching your condo with anticipation of good news.keep up the good work. :RAHCAT
 
this is awesome!! wonderful to hear...

i feel totally blessed in the fact that the dx vet who really knew little about FD referred us to her classmate when we relocated to boise...makes a world of difference when you have a great vet who is open-minded. i know she cruises the board at times just for the education.
 
Bid has been great!! His BG was a little low this morning.. Only at 38 I fed him some chicken and FF right after so I'm sure it will come up.
I think someone mentioned it before but should I be worried about him going too low if he hasn't had insulin in 4 days?
 
Nope, nothing to worry about if he hasn't had insulin. Next time you go to the vet I would get a number right before you head out the door, right when you walk in the door and again an hour or 2 later. Just to see how stress affects his BG. My bet is he will go up after being at the vet and then come down again once he relaxes after being home for a bit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top