12/1 Bailie amps 17.9 +4 7.2 thoughts

Nice to see the blues. I think Bailie likes this dose.
I gave him food with gravy because I was terrified he dropped so much 3 and a half hours after his shot so the following are his numbers 10:15 7.2 10:40 6.2
11:05 5.5 11:28 6.1. 11:56 6.0 12:43 4.3 12:59 6.1
1:30 7.0. Do you think these numbers are ok I’m scared for the pm shot I’m afraid he will go too low ?
 
I gave him food with gravy because I was terrified he dropped so much 3 and a half hours after his shot so the following are his numbers 10:15 7.2 10:40 6.2
11:05 5.5 11:28 6.1. 11:56 6.0 12:43 4.3 12:59 6.1
1:30 7.0. Do you think these numbers are ok I’m scared for the pm shot I’m afraid he will go too low ?
 
He didn’t need gravy. We usually give that if under 50 with a human meter. I would try some lc next time and check in 30 minutes. With SLGS a reduction was earned though. With TR he would need to be under 50. Since he’s not used to being under 100 he might bounce and be high by pmps. I think the bounce has already started but the increase is also due to the gravy.

Will you reduce to 2.75? See the pmbg and if under 200, stall without food , test again in 20-30 minutes and if still under 200 post for help.
 
I’m in a bit of a pickle with the vet as Bailie needs a dental and I can’t lie about doses to her . She told me to either follow the group or follow her. I think she was quite annoyed with me. And another vet isn’t an option.
 
I’m terrified enough for him to have to go under. My vet is getting an anaesthesiologist specialist to be in the room for the dental.
 
11 is still a younger cat! We've had cats here who have had dentals in their 20's. My China had her last one at 19.

Anesthesia has come a long way and if you are also having an anesthesia specialist, I don't know how you could be any safer.

Of course things can go wrong, and there's no way to predict those, but they are extremely rare.

Your vet should do full bloodwork within 30 days of the dental to make sure all his organs are working well enough to be able to filter out the anesthesia.

If the bloodwork looks good, the benefits of the dental greatly outweigh the risks.

Lots more information in the link I posted in the FD group on dentals and how they're done so you know what to expect but I'll post it here again.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/info-on-dental-procedures-including-pictures.144338/
 
11 is still a younger cat! We've had cats here who have had dentals in their 20's. My China had her last one at 19.

Anesthesia has come a long way and if you are also having an anesthesia specialist, I don't know how you could be any safer.

Of course things can go wrong, and there's no way to predict those, but they are extremely rare.

Your vet should do full bloodwork within 30 days of the dental to make sure all his organs are working well enough to be able to filter out the anesthesia.

If the bloodwork looks good, the benefits of the dental greatly outweigh the risks.

Lots more information in the link I posted in the FD group on dentals and how they're done so you know what to expect but I'll post it here again.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/info-on-dental-procedures-including-pictures.144338/
So what will you do about the dose?
Wow thanks so much you just made me feel so much better about the dental . The vet wants Bailie to lose a bit of weight before do you think that is reasonable?
 
The vet wants Bailie to lose a bit of weight before do you think that is reasonable?

We aren't vets and dentals are WAY out of my wheelhouse, I would assume that if she's grossly overweight, losing a little would make her a little healthier overall, but waiting until she loses a certain amount of weight continues to let her dental disease affect her overall health too.

Being grossly overweight adds some risk to any procedure, but so does dental disease. In humans, I've never heard of a surgeon refusing to do surgery on a fat person until they lost weight (except those that are doing weight loss surgeries on people who are 600lbs +)
 
We aren't vets and dentals are WAY out of my wheelhouse, I would assume that if she's grossly overweight, losing a little would make her a little healthier overall, but waiting until she loses a certain amount of weight continues to let her dental disease affect her overall health too.

Being grossly overweight adds some risk to any procedure, but so does dental disease. In humans, I've never heard of a surgeon refusing to do surgery on a fat person until they lost weight (except those that are doing weight loss surgeries on people who are 600lbs +)
 
We aren't vets and dentals are WAY out of my wheelhouse, I would assume that if she's grossly overweight, losing a little would make her a little healthier overall, but waiting until she loses a certain amount of weight continues to let her dental disease affect her overall health too.

Being grossly overweight adds some risk to any procedure, but so does dental disease. In humans, I've never heard of a surgeon refusing to do surgery on a fat person until they lost weight (except those that are doing weight loss surgeries on people who are 600lbs +)
Ya I hear you I’m beyond confused . She has contacted the anaesthesiologist specialist. So we’re just gonna have to wait until she schedules it. The vet says it will be done in January the vet said his teeth aren’t really that bad. But he definitely needs a Dental There is also a background story Bailie had some sort of a neurological event a year and a half ago, and the vet feels that it would be in Bailies. Best interest if we had a Veterinary anaesthesiologist specialist, and I am all for that. so I have to wait until she can schedule Bailie (January)in. She is not in our province and she’s going to be on zoom overseeing the procedure. Do you understand how difficult it is to go against your vest? I mean it’s not only the diabetes I’m dealing with here. I’m sorry I’m just really confused right now and I feel like I’m being pulled in all different directions. I really want to do the right thing.
 
Back
Top