12/1 Angie pmps=167 +2=52 more dose advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good evening LL folks,

Our last condo is here.

Sienne - thank you for trying to help with dose advice last time. I know that I'm not following TR protocol so I appreciate that dose advice is tricky. I was trying to find a balance between allowing her to heal and avoiding reductions one after the other. Your point about the depot not draining was a good one. I hadn't thought of that.

I did reduce to 0.6, despite Sienne's advice to hold on 0.7 because I knew that I wouldn't be able to test enough. Small dose reductions might work for Angie but I find them very confusing because I don't have a protocol to follow. Also, I don't get a break after a reduction and she's had hypo's the last 4 days - maybe even the last 5 days and maybe even almost every cycle. I'm not testing enough to know.

I wan't to reduce again tomorrow morning - I was thinking of going to 0.4 units from 0.6. Then if she earns another reduction to 0.2 and then 0.1. That's almost back to protocol so it seems clearer to me. Or, because I haven't been able to test enough, do you think I should reduce even more?

It's not so much that I'm sleep deprived - I have CFS/ME (whatever you want to call it) and tachycardia issues. I'm actually really sick and need a carer myself - I give Angie everything I can, but there's not a lot left to give. I spend most of my time in bed and can't get up again till I have rested after each test - sometimes I can't get back up again to test in half an hour and sometimes not for much longer. I get dizzy, heavy feeling and weak if I sit up for too long or do too much. At the moment I'm getting up to test, eat and then maybe once a fortnight have a bigger outing to a cafe or doctors appointment. My mum washes my hair, does my washing, cooks, cleans, shops and drives me to doctors (and tries to live her own life too). I help a little in the kitchen and clean up when Angie vomits and every now and then do some container gardening. I'm really grateful that mum's willing to help me so much, especially when I use my energy on looking after Angie, rather than looking after myself. But, if it wasn't for Angie, living in bed would be a lot harder. She's my almost constant companion and such a loyal sweet friend.

Sorry - I don't mean to complain. I just thought I needed to make my limitations clearer when asking for dose advice. Sometimes I'm just not able to test as much as I should - that's why sometimes she's low and I just don't test again. It's not at all because I don't care.

Carla - thanks for the visit the other day. I'll come and visit you soon - I promise!

Michelle - thanks for the visit. I always loved your Mannie in the garden photos - he reminded me of Jetzin - they lounged in the sun in the same way, surveying their domains. Angie sits primly and neatly. She rarely looks relaxed anywhere other than on her door step or on my bed.

Lots of vines to cats and beans in need. Once again, I'm not keeping up with condos but I am thinking of you all, sending the best of wishes for your cats, and am very grateful for your help. :-D

Grace
 
Thank you for your explanation, and I am sending you healing vines too.

I think your plan to reduce to 0.40 will work. I wish you more strength vines too, to hopefully be able to get more tests in when it is needed most.

Good luck with the new dose.

Surf along nicely, today, Angie.
 
Morning Grace ~O) ~O) ~O)

I agree with Dyana, the .4 will be good.

Many positive thoughts for you, and healing vines. take acre, and a big kudos to your mum.

And you are welcome... I love Mannie's garden too. and it's still hanging in there.

Take care. I wish you a great day, And Angie: surf well.
 
Morning Grace,
I'm a newbie and just wanted to say Kudos for taking care of Angie with all your challenges. I know how hard it is, I basically have the same challenges (3 brain aneurysms) which has left me with poor eyesight, hard of hearing, no balance and dizzy all the time. I too I'm in bed most of the time between taking care of Michael. Michael is my soul mate and all I have.
You are doing a great job and I hope Angie surfs well for you today.
Again Kudos to you! This sugar dance isn't easy, but in time does get easier.
Paula & kitty Michael
 
thanks for explaining, grace. it definitely helps to know when the caregiver has limitations. You just work with what you've got!

i agree about reducing the dose.

whenever you aren't able to test more, are you able to leave food out for Angie to get to? Some cats will feed themselves if their blood sugar gets low. Have you noticed her being more hungry with low numbers?

by the way, we differentiate between low numbers and a hypo. a hypo means that there were symptoms, and on Lantus or Lev that can be very serious and can last a long time. If you see a number in the 40's and you can't retest in 30 minutes, i'd make sure she has access to plenty of food. Can your mother learn to test Angie as well?

Sending feel better thoughts to you. CFS is a burden. :YMHUG:
 
Thank you for letting us know, Grace. It really helps us help you when we have all the pieces of the puzzle. You are doing an amazing job caring for Angie, and we are happy to help you in any way we can.
 
On my goodness Grace, thank you for explaining your situation and health conditions, sending tons and tons of healing vines- :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Hugs to you and Angie
 
Like the others mentioned, it helps to have a context for what you can do and what the limitations may be.

My thinking with my earlier post was to have you hold the dose and take larger reductions. The frequent, small reductions may not let the depot catch up with the dose reductions. it's a strategy that's more in line with tight regulation but if it doesn't seem like that will work for your situation, then you do what you can do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top