12/09 Tiny Solè +9:93, AMPS:91, +3:126, +5:101, +9:75, PMPS:109, +2:101, +4:100, +8:98

Joanne&TinySole

Member Since 2018
YESTERDAY

AMPS: 91 AT 7 AM :D

I drew up some Lantus this morning, pushing the plunger in, holding it in, inserting it into the pen and letting go. It's a drop, folks. It could also be three little drops. Unless one person is consistently drawing the insulin up, there is no way to get the exact amount of insulin every time.

Semantics need not be argued to make a point. Were either here to help each other - many helpers, many ways - or we're not. And witholding or withdrawing help to anyone at any time because opinions or methods differ would be a moral and ethical failing that I hope to never see. In fact, people should be standing at the ready for guidance more, not less at critical times and at times of differing opinions.

I'm continuing the course, as rogue as some may think me to be. When Friday comes along, I'm hoping no shots will be involved, but I'm going to give my my kit every opportunity for the best, and most permanent remission possible.

I'm hoping everyone wants that for Tiny, regardless of how we get her there.

Good morning and may everyone's needs be met today.
 
Last edited:
I practiced the drop method with water and I always got one drop of insulin. That said, I am not sure if the viscosity of water and Lantus are the same and if that would make any difference.

When pushing in the plunger, I always pushed hard and help tight each time to hopefully get the same amount of insulin: one drop. Also, I think it's important to continue to hold the plunger in while removing the needle from the skin as to not suck back up the one drop into the syringe.

I am glad you reduced to a drop, as that 68 yesterday AM cycle she is telling you that she needs less. On your SS just put 1 drop for this AM ; it says 0.1

Glad I could pop in today and see her progress. Go Tiny!
 
Out of curiosity, did you ever measure the number of drops in a 0.1 unit dose? Just asking cause I've seen the number be all over the place depending on caregiver and syringe. Neko's last dose for months was under the zero line cause the lines on the BD syringe were so badly placed. I was glad I was using calipers cause I figured it was more like 0.25 units.

Go Tiny! :D And stay safe please.
 
I think it's important to continue to hold the plunger in while removing the needle from the skin as to not suck back up the one drop into the syringe.

Yes, this is the method I'm employing. I used the Lantus because I wanted the exact product/viscosity; wasting a couple of drops is worth it to me to get an accurate idea of what the most precise amount might be. Yes, again; squeezing the syringe when removing it from Tiny. ❤
 
Back
Top