12/09 Tiny Solè +9:93, AMPS:91, +3:126, +5:101, +9:75, PMPS:109, +2:101, +4:100, +8:98

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Joanne&TinySole, Dec 9, 2018.

  1. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    YESTERDAY

    AMPS: 91 AT 7 AM :D

    I drew up some Lantus this morning, pushing the plunger in, holding it in, inserting it into the pen and letting go. It's a drop, folks. It could also be three little drops. Unless one person is consistently drawing the insulin up, there is no way to get the exact amount of insulin every time.

    Semantics need not be argued to make a point. Were either here to help each other - many helpers, many ways - or we're not. And witholding or withdrawing help to anyone at any time because opinions or methods differ would be a moral and ethical failing that I hope to never see. In fact, people should be standing at the ready for guidance more, not less at critical times and at times of differing opinions.

    I'm continuing the course, as rogue as some may think me to be. When Friday comes along, I'm hoping no shots will be involved, but I'm going to give my my kit every opportunity for the best, and most permanent remission possible.

    I'm hoping everyone wants that for Tiny, regardless of how we get her there.

    Good morning and may everyone's needs be met today.
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018
  2. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    You can never 100% count on the drop dose to be consistent. All you can do is the best you can and hope it is. It is exciting that Tiny is doing so well and on such a small dose. I hope she surfs safely today.
     
  3. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Thanks, Carla.
     
  4. Rosie & Bailey

    Rosie & Bailey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2018
    Surf safely Tiny! We are celebrating your approach to the finish line! :D:D:D
    Bailey's a little jealous, but she'll get over it :)
     
    Sue and Luci and Joanne&TinySole like this.
  5. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Very exciting times, and like Bailey, I think some friendly jealousy abounds here too. :p Is that an oxymoron? I don't know, but this is a super exciting time for you and Tiny, and I hope she continues to do well on her drop of insulin!
     
    Sue and Luci and Joanne&TinySole like this.
  6. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Thank you!! ❤❤❤
     
  7. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Thank you, Amanda!
     
  8. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    +3: 126 at 10 AM
     
  9. Bobbie And Bubba

    Bobbie And Bubba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    I practiced the drop method with water and I always got one drop of insulin. That said, I am not sure if the viscosity of water and Lantus are the same and if that would make any difference.

    When pushing in the plunger, I always pushed hard and help tight each time to hopefully get the same amount of insulin: one drop. Also, I think it's important to continue to hold the plunger in while removing the needle from the skin as to not suck back up the one drop into the syringe.

    I am glad you reduced to a drop, as that 68 yesterday AM cycle she is telling you that she needs less. On your SS just put 1 drop for this AM ; it says 0.1

    Glad I could pop in today and see her progress. Go Tiny!
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  10. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Looking good Tiny! Keep going! :joyful:
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  11. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
  12. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Out of curiosity, did you ever measure the number of drops in a 0.1 unit dose? Just asking cause I've seen the number be all over the place depending on caregiver and syringe. Neko's last dose for months was under the zero line cause the lines on the BD syringe were so badly placed. I was glad I was using calipers cause I figured it was more like 0.25 units.

    Go Tiny! :D And stay safe please.
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  13. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Yes. Under the 0 line. 1 big drop, or 3 little tiny drops. :confused: It's all in how the operator squeezes it out.
     
  14. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    ×5: 101 AT 12 PM
    +9: 75 at 4 PM
    - small LC snack given at 4 PM

    She's holding steady! It's a good day!
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2018
    Reason for edit: more info
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  15. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    Yes, this is the method I'm employing. I used the Lantus because I wanted the exact product/viscosity; wasting a couple of drops is worth it to me to get an accurate idea of what the most precise amount might be. Yes, again; squeezing the syringe when removing it from Tiny. ❤
     
  16. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    PMPS: 109 at 7 PM
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  17. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    +2: 101 at 9 PM
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  18. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    +4: 100 at 11 PM
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  19. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    +8: 98 at 3 AM
     
  20. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Numbers have been just beautiful
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  21. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    She's being amazing. I'm so grateful and hoping for goid things to come, without jinxing things! :nailbiting: ;)
     
    Bellasmom likes this.
  22. Bellasmom

    Bellasmom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2018
    Ur doing an awesome job Joanne
     
    Joanne&TinySole likes this.
  23. Joanne&TinySole

    Joanne&TinySole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2018
    ❤❤❤ Thanks, Jamie.
     

Share This Page