12/09 Musette Day #3 split dosing

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
yesterday's thread http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=58202&p=631902#p631902


Another morning being awakened by a Princess Fluffybutt wanting to cuddle with Mom, she also brought her feathers with her this morning as she was begging to play @ 6am. It is so nice to wake up to her in a happy mood, she hasn't been much of a morning girl until recently. She is getting more confident too, this morning she even continued to play even once Lady Jane and Maxwell jumped into the game, up until now she would retreat if they wanted to play too, so definite progress there as well.

Looks like we are starting out with a slight bounce this morning but not nearly as high as she would normally have gone after low numbers, I'm guessing that she probably went lower than that 92 right before I went to bed, but I really didn't worry too much about her being that low, since she had plenty of food out and she is good about snacking if she thinks she is going too low.

I'm going to try to start introducing her to the rest of the fur gang this next week as Jon will be out of town except for the weekends for about a month which will give me more one on one time with her to do some introduction slowly. It upsets him too much if they hiss or swat at each other, even though I have told him multiple times that it is just the normal sorting out of the pecking order... :roll: One of these days I will turn him into a true cat person. :lol: Plus with her improved mood I think now would be an excellent time to start intergrating her into the full family, she was so cranky before that I had kept the introductions to brief visit in the bedroom with only one cat at a time.

amps#1 - 285 .5u fed 1/4 can Friskies Seafood Entree (7% carbs)
amps#2 ~ 324 .5u
+5 ~ 200 (giving her little ears a break today)
pmps#1 103 no shot yet (now that is something different)
+13 ~ 140 but could be a food spike so holding off on shot until I'm sure she is rising
pmps#2 ~ 156 .5u given...Full Moon Fever?
+3 ~ 164
+4 ~ 122 (should have sucked it up and shot the 2nd half of her dose here)
----------------------------------------
Average = 186.75

Hey BJ,
So much for her following yesterday huh? :lol:

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
It appears like it is following yesterday's pattern (threw off the graph by using +5! now I'll have to interpolate some values for the other 2 days to make it graph correctly! (done)

Dfenitely getting a smoother, shallower curve. Go Musette!
 
LOL I have to keep your math geek skills up by throwing you a curve ball every now and then. But yes, she is starting to get a much smoother and more gentle curve which has to feel so much better than those fast rises and drops that she was getting.

Right now the plan is to hold this schedule for 5 days...curve her and then start tweaking things a little bit to see if we can start getting overall better numbers.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
I'm sure you realize any dose increase, you'll want to be very careful.

And when/if you go back to 1 dose a day, do so gradually, as separating the 2 curves is what flattens it out, while combining them will make the resulting curve steep again.
 
actually what I was thinking about was possibly moving the second dose to later in the cycle to possibly +4 so its onset would be right after she hits her nadir on the first dose, but that will all depend on where she settles in as things stand now.

Yes, I realize she is really touchy on the slightest increase or decrease of dosage, so anything I do will be done with lots of care and very slight tweaks followed with lots of testing to make sure she stays in safe numbers, at least I have the luxery of being with her all day long to keep an eye on her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
You might do the shifting in 15 minute increments, as they do when changing the times for Lantus & Levemir.
 
That is pretty much how I was thinking about shifting her doses, since she is so reactive to the slightest change...she truly is a go slow kitty. I honestly think the dose is correct it will just take figuring out the best timing for each half. My biggest goal for her is to keep her curve smooth and gentle while trying to get her the best numbers possible.

While I still hope somewhere down the road she will still get OTJ, it really isn't what I'm shooting for as much as just keeping her feeling good and in as near to normal numbers as possible. It is kind of sad as well as she responds to such tiny doses that she didn't get the proper treatment earlier, she was dxed back in March but didn't get surrendered until May and I didn't get her until late June.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Once again she decides to throw me a curve ball....Now I wish I wouldn't have given her ears a break so I would have know how we got here. Just tested her for what should be her evening preshot #1 and she gave me a lovely 103!!! WTH? Where did that come from, not that I'm complaining I just wish I knew why so I could repeat it.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Well she got the first half when she should have gotten her second half tonight, kind of depends where she is in a couple of hours...if she is lower than 120 probably not if she is up to a shootable number then yes, I will give her the second half, and will probably set the alarm to wake me up to catch her +6 just to check in with her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
It is kind of sad as well as she responds to such tiny doses that she didn't get the proper treatment earlier, she was dxed back in March but didn't get surrendered until May and I didn't get her until late June.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang


she might surprise you - maybe her reactivity to the doses is because her pancreas is sputtering variably.

Hang in!
 
looks like I'm skipping tonight's second dose again...she has already dropped down to 122, which is just to low for me to shoot and go to bed comfortably, during the day I might brave it but not without me being alert to watch her.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top