12/09 Ivana +10=43,+10.5=47,+11=47,+11.5=61,+12=63,PMPS=83,+1=79,+2=81,+3=92,+5=128,+7=193,+11=322

Status
Not open for further replies.
You certainly won't be shooting on time that's for sure!
It seems that way, doesn't it! Our normal shoot time is 6pm. I have to go to work at 6.10pm, but hubby will be here. I think I might leave this post open for him to post in if he needs help.

I know it's not quote shot time but I'll ask now anyway - does a reduction from 1.5 skinny to 1.25 seem reasonable? (Ie. it doesn't need to go any lower, does it?) Also, our current no-shoot number is 4.4 / 80, so if she's below that at shoot time then we've just been testing until she gets up to that and then shooting. Should that still be our plan of attack tonight? We will be able to test all night tonight if needed.
 
When she's running this low you can't shoot a number that may have any food influence so you're going to need to shoot at least 2 hours after her last food. At the moment I'm thinking feed on schedule (maybe reserve a third for later) and aim to shoot two hours after that - numbers and schedule permitting.

I'm just going to check on Woodsywife and have a bit of a study of Ivana's spreadsheet before I comment on dose.
 
+11.5 and she's 3.4 / 61 - finally on the way up, and by a bit more than just a smidgeon.

Now, normally we would do PMPS in 20mins, so that we can feed and then shoot in 30mins at +12. That ain't gonna happen.

Her last food was at +11, so if she's >4.4/80 (our current no-shoot number) at +13, will that be ok to shoot? Will wait for advice before doing anything.
 
Last edited:
She was particularly stubborn about coming up - I think I'd lean to a full .25u reduction. This also means her depot is quite full and you might see action the next cycle or two. Other options if she doesn't come up much are to skip, or do a reduced dose, or do two 18 hour back to back cycles. These last three options will drain the depot.
 
I think I'd lean to a full .25u reduction.
So 1.25 skinny? Yep we can do that. Prefer not to skip if we can help it, as the last time we skipped it took her almost a week to recover. And we'll probably be skipping on Xmas Eve, so don't want to skip too often.

The 18 hr cycles sounds good though. So if we're normally on a 6am/6pm schedule, we don't shoot at 6pm tonight but wait til midnight, and then her next shot will be at 6pm tomorrow back on schedule. That sounds good I think, if she hasn't come up much by +13 which will be 2hrs after her last bit of food. Will post closer to the time before we do anything though.

Will be testing again in a few mins for +12 to make sure she's not dropping again, then might leave her alone til +13.
 
Yep I agree with Wendy if she'd 'just' touched on the 30s with her history I'd consider taking the slightly reduced reduction but with the delve into the 20s and such a long surf in the 40s I'd go the full .25
 
+12 and she's 3.5 / 63. She's not dropping, but not coming up very much either. Will wait til +13 for next test, hopefully that will be a shootable number. If not, we will do the 18hr x 2 thing.
 
The issue with the 18 hour thing, so waiting another 6 hours before the shot, is that you might have to monitor afterwards. Unless you've got night owls in the house, that can be a chore. And since she did give you a number in the 20's, her depot is full and raring to go. The delay will help though.
 
Yes true Wendy, good point that I didn't think about. Perhaps skipping might be best if we can't shoot at +13. Will post in about 30mins what her PMPS number is, and get confirmation if we should shoot then. If not, we'll skip.
 
My but you have had a busy cycle. Max has never been quite that stubborn. I don't give dosing advice but if I had a cycle like that I think I would skip. I bet her ear will be happy to get a break.
 
I think you're right to go. You could wait another half hour to be sure if you're not comfortable or if you know that HC takes longer than two hours to wear off with Ivana
 
I wouldn't skip, you have a fresh body there to do the monitoring and Ivana is still newly diagnosed so I'd want to push for remission. It's different when it's a more long term thing and they're well regulated then they just get right back on track most of the time.
 
@tiffmaxee unfortunately Ivana doesn't recover well from skipped shots, hence why I was eager to shoot as I want to keep up her good work over the last week or so.

We've just shot the 1.25 skinny, so will see what she does tonight :-) Thanks for your advice everyone!
 
Since she is coming up the last couple of tests, without additional food, you are probably good to shoot. Just be aware that it could be an active cycle because of that overfull depot. Giving a slightly reduced dose to drain the depot, is also an option, but it depends on how well Ivana can be monitored tonight. With a reduced dose, the first part of the cycle could still be busy, but it probably wouldn't last as long. All that said, kitties don't always read the rule books.

I see I took too long to type. Paws crossed for surfing tonight.
 
One more question - we usually get a +2 after each shot and then further tests from there depending on that result. Is it fine to wait til +2 for the first post-shot test or should we get a +1 as well?
 
The rule of thumb is a +1 when you are shooting your lowest to date. Also wise if you shoot a dropping number, but Ivana was rising. Good luck tonight. I'm off to bed myself.
 
Looking good. I think you're okay to wait another hour.

Did Tara show you how to update the subject line on the condo? (If you go into her original post for the day there's a button on the top on the right that lets you edit it). That is going to be the best way for people to see if you may need attention.

Leave the date and Ivana's name but update the rest to something like 'Darryn BIC AM 40s surf PMPS @ +13 83 +1 79 +2 81' and then keep entering the new readings as you get them.

That will let everyone know that you're managing on your own (BIC is bean in charge) so may need a little extra attention, that it's been a busy day and what's happening now. They will be able to see all that at a glance without going in to the condo. There are also icons you can add once you're in the subject line editing it. They are on the left edge of the subject line. You may find the '?' useful tonight and if you think that you may be in trouble at any time use the 911 icon for instant attention.
 
It's me (Tara) back again, thanks Serryn for looking after Darryn.

Just did a +3 and she's 5.1 / 92, so on the rise a little. Suggestions for when to test throughout this cycle? I'm able to either stay up or get up at any time through the night (the benefits of not working during the day tomorrow ;) )
 
It's me (Tara) back again, thanks Serryn for looking after Darryn.

Just did a +3 and she's 5.1 / 92, so on the rise a little. Suggestions for when to test throughout this cycle? I'm able to either stay up or get up at any time through the night (the benefits of not working during the day tomorrow ;) )
Last time she had a long run in green in 28/11 she started to climb @+4, in her pm cycle, but you know cats and the rule book. Me as a newbie would probably test in a couple of hours, I probably wouldn't be able to sleep anyway.

By the way ivana, nice run in green!

Gikl
 
+5 and she's into the blues. Relieved that we didn't skip the dose tonight or she'd be much higher. I'm thinking I might set the alarm for +7 and see how she is then, if she's still climbing I'll be able to safely sleep for the rest of the night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top