12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.+9.5 75 phew

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129460
holy moses! my boy scared the life out of me tonight!!! talk about "don't go into panic mode" and breath,think, yoghurt first as he just goes to that,head in pot full of sugar then a shringe of syrup (which he HATES) nailbite_smile

I thought a couple of nights ago hed shown a ridiculously high bounce so I 'guessed' hed thrown a real low before I started testing at late pm (please see ss) how fab though that we now have a pattern with bounces etc... whodve thunk it!!! so I reduced 2 cycles ago and now look...................

I do not feel comfortable just dropping .25.hes NEVER dropped as low as 47.that freaked me out tonight so what do I go to. what would you guys do if this was your kitty.help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

REMEMBER WERE ON ALPHATRAK!!

on the positive side...............hes doing so well. I think while im off sick after the car accident hes just wanting to keep me busy!! cat_pet_icon

edited to say, ive got him back up to 75 with the syrup and yoghurt !
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 yoghurt/syrup given.terrified!!!

Okay, Anna: Breathe!!!

How much syrup did you give him? You don't want to get too carried away right away. It only takes a little. I'm sure you know the drill - test again in 20-30 minutes. Do you have any hc food to feed him? He might like that better than the syrup, and sometimes if you give that first, it's all you need. Be sure to post after your next reading and let us know how he's doing.
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.terrified!

sorry was just in such a panic. hes had a half shringe of syrup,half a yogurt and some hc food. I know ive gone slightly crazy but it takes a lot to raise him. 30 mins after hes at 75. thank goodness. sorry to get in such a state. hes NEVER go that low EVER and ive been dealing with his up and downess for a yr and a half!
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.terrified!

Wow! :shock: :o :mrgreen: Good catch Anna! Sometimes a flat blue cycle can mean an exciting cycle to follow, and he sure did that!

Could you do a favour and update your first post subject line to say that he's now at 75, so we can breathe a bit here too.

You've got some options for dosing. I think that today's cycle is partly influenced by the 7.0U he was just getting yesterday AM. However, that 47 really screams "pay attention". Tonight, one option is doing a one time reduced dose, especially if he's low at shot time, to help get rid of the depot. Maybe 4 or 5 units, whatever you feel comfortable with. He bounced for a bit after the last reduced dose, but he saw blues again within a few cycles. I think it's fine to do a .5U reduction this time. Just realize that if it's too much of a reduction, you may need to take him back up .25U if he doesn't come back down to nice numbers.

Tricia is right - you'll have to keep testing for a while. That was pretty low!
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.+9.5 75 ph

thanks wendy and tricia. yep changed my subject line. I was poopying my pants and that doesn't happen often I can tell you. I keep a cool head usually!!!
hes never gone that low ever! jeepers!! his eyes were going funny. I was on the phone at the time and just dropped it cos I knew something wasn't right.the poor boy hadn't a clue what was happening. shringes,syrup...............then of course mmmmmm yoghurt.he sure knew what was going on then ;-)

il see how we go at shot time but im going out tomorrow for 5 hours so I may reduce a little more to be safe keep the boy whos my everything safe,but then I can always raise again as soon as I see high numbers.were old school at this now ;-)

edited to say......wendy the problem is he bounces sooooo high real fast. so no doubt by his shot time hell be sky high so il reuce .5 (maybe more depending)
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.+9.5 75 ph

The eyes being funny - is that the first time you've seen something off with him being low? Very scary. nailbite_smile

You'll have to play it by ear tomorrow on the dose, there's a decent chance he'll bounce given how low he went.
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.+9.5 75 ph

yep ive never noticed anything abnormal barr his wanting of mc food which I leave out once he gets to a certain point! he heads to that and I think mmmm whats going on here. but tonight the weird eyes said it all. it was horrid!
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.+9.5 75 ph

I'm so glad you were there and noticed it. It really helps to know your cat! I hope he doesn't bounce too high. Remember all that yummy hc stuff you gave him will wear off, so you need to test again and again....

Hope you get sleep at some point, Anna. Nice job! :-D And congrats on the reducie.
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.+9.5 75 ph

so do I. here In the uk its 11.30pm so im tired but looks like it could be a pj party here as hes coming down again at +10.5 hes at 70 so we'll c. bless my boy he knows its test time as ive shut the bedroom door so he cant hide under the bed. hes curled up in my arms. test strips and alphatrak at the ready......along with more yoghurt.hes not eaten since the erm....scare so it doesn't look like hes heading up any time soon. these things are sent to try us!!

I wouldn't be without him. I guess its time for a large coffee ~O)
 
Re: 12/09 bailey uk +9 47 (alphatrak) syrup given.+9.5 75 ph

Yikes! I know how you feel.. My girl jumped off the diving board the other night to 36 (human meter) and I gave her HC gravy mixed with karo.. we were fortunate that she came on up.. Booger is a VERY bouncy kitty and bounce she did (into the 400's... where she never ventures).. but it was a very long night for us as well.. as it was VERY early in her cycle right before her typical insulin onset.. just keep testing and keep up the good work on the treatment. One thing I can tell you that I was told is that kitties can be more sensitive to insulin after these sort of things so keep that in mind for tomorrow as you make your decisions... for us it was a no doubt decrease.. no dose advice from me, but I'll link you to my condo where I had exceptional help from Julie, Wendy and others and I'll say good luck and sending positive vibes for you and Baily!!

Booger's Hypo Condo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top