12/08 Gizmo AMPS 232, +1=270, +1.5=276 *PMPS 212, +4=149, +5=150, +6=174

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am on cycle #7 (12/08 AM) with the new dose decrease. Other than the 2nd cycle on this dose - Gizmo has not seen any greens. I think the green he did see was carry over depot from the 1.5U. When should I consider increasing?

I would like to wait until late next week to consider increasing but don't want to lose momentum. I have next week at work and then I am off until the first of the year but don't want to cause him to linger too long with no greens (I can't find the term I am looking for here - it is where it is counter-intuitive to hold a dose longer than beneficial).

Since I use calipers to measure - could I increase by 1/8U (0.125U)? I would feel comfortable managing that through next week and then, if necessary, increase again on 12/16 (or there-about).
 
I agree that this dose does not seem to be doing it for Gizmo, the greens he saw early on when you reduced to the 1.25u I think were being influenced by the depot of the 1.5u.
Not sure what to suggest though Lizzie, taking him up to an inbetweenie dose may no have any effect on him.

Another option perhaps might be to take him up on Friday and over the weekend reducing him again for your working week, if you felt you needed to.

Glucose toxicity (ie when their bodies get used to higher numbers and a bit of insulin resistance sets in) can set in quicker in some kitties than others. At the moment he seems to be seeing yellow and a little high blue, so it looks like you have some margin to take him up.
 
Glucose toxicity
That was the term I was looking for. I looked and looked for it. :bighug:

Thanks Gill. I am going to leave the "?" up a bit longer to see if anyone else has any other suggestions. I really don't know what to do:confused:. Maybe the next two cycles (tonight/tomorrow AM) will give me some idea but I don't want to wait to try and decide at the last minute. I really didn't want to decrease when I did (though I know I had to with work). I can manage dosing through bounces as long as I am home but not with work.
 
Tonight is cycle six after the last greens, if you don't see green tonight, then it's a failed reduction. I like Gill's idea of bumping him up for the weekend, maybe Friday night, to give him a boost. Actually you might be able to increase tomorrow morning, as he usually shows some NDW for the first cycle or two. What do you think?
 
Actually you might be able to increase tomorrow morning, as he usually shows some NDW for the first cycle or two. What do you thin
To be honest it scares me to death - lol. It does sound like a reasonable plan. The only exception would be if he has falling numbers between +11 (PM 12/08) and AMPS tomorrow morning. If that is NOT the case I guess I could put a scant teaspoon of HC in each of his "LC snacks (+2, +4, +6)" for tomorrow morning and that would give me some reassurance. Does that sound reasonable?
 
I could put a scant teaspoon of HC in each of his "LC snacks (+2, +4, +6)" for tomorrow morning and that would give me some reassurance. Does that sound reasonable?
Honestly that doesn't make sense to me. Might as well leave the dose until Friday night when you can monitor rather than add HC to his food. He saw blue the last 2 nights on this dose so really don't think glucose toxicity is a concern at the moment. Just my 2 cents.
 
PMPS 212

Let's see what this brings. The dose increase may be a moot point if it is going to be an active cycle.
 
+2 218

What do you make of that #? Staying flat? Last time he did that he had a very active cycle the next cycle - I guess we will see in another two hours.
 
Still no green. It's fine to defer the increase if he's dropping into AMPS. I just thought if you could start the increase earlier, then you'd get over the NDW and see what the dose can do before dropping it back down for next week.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top