12/08 Frip AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148, +10 65, PMPS 86,+1.5 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frip&Grip

Member Since 2010
Last week :(

Frip is doing well today. cat_pet_icon Me not so much... but it's getting better...

BG +10 122 and AMBG 50 (2.8) < 3.0 .. It's amazing what 1-2 drops of Lantus can do :shock: I skipped the dose this morning because I have an appointment this afternoon.

For tonight... where do we go from Fat 0 dose (drops)? Plunger is aligned to the 0 line...
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, Dose tonight?

I'm off to my appointment... Back later...

For tonight... where do we go from Fat 0 dose (drops)? Plunger is aligned to the 0 line...
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, Dose tonight?

hi Sylvie

I forget, are you a late nite shooter?
you've been giving a couple of drops, my assumption would be one single drop (I call it a fat drop)
but see what others can add tonight.k?

very nice SS by the way, hope you are doing better.
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, Dose tonight?

I don't know what + hour it is for you now. By any chance did you get any more spot checks after the 74? Or can you get any before PMPS?
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148 Dose tonight?

Libby, just got a +7 148..

Ronnie, I can try the fat drop... kind of hard to do accurately though.. the Lantus sticks to the syringe and sometimes I get air bubble at the top above the 0U line. Any trick?
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148 Dose tonight?

practice with a used syringe, it's tedious getting the bubbles out, but a drop is feasible.
Let's see what Libby can add, she was looking for a spotcheck, I see u got one,, Good!
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148 Dose tonight?

remembering that Frip is a very late nadir cat (his mid-cycle numbers are the highest numbers in the cycle, and his preshots are the lowest numbers in the cycle), I would really like to see the mid-cycle numbers come down some more before reducing the dose. At this point he really should be green pretty much all the time.

If you look at the spreadsheets of other cats who are on very low doses, for the ones that are getting blue preshots and lower green in the middle, we usually suggest holding the dose but changing the feeding pattern to try to get those blue numbers down and flatten the cycle out. With a late nadir, the concept is the same except the number we need to bring down is in the middle of the cycle instead of the end. For Frip, assuming that he is getting fed at preshot times already, how about trying a small snack at about +4 or +5 every cycle to see if that stimulates the pancreas to bring that mid-cycle number down? The time might need to be adjusted, I'm just suggesting that as a place to start. You'll need to start getting more mid-cycle tests to see how it is working. He could probably benefit from a later snack too, something to cushion the drop that is happening late in the cycle. You don't want to feed more food, you just want to take the food he is already getting and divide that into several smaller meals.

Also, at this point it is a MUST to get that last little bit of dry food out of Frip's diet. That is probably the ONLY thing keeping him on the juice.
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148 Dose tonight?

Libby, I updated Frip's SS with the food I feed him. Maybe that will help to see the pattern. I'll get a +10 in 1/2 hour...
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148, +10 65

We are starting to go down at +10 65... Be back in 2 hours with PMPS.. I'll give a big drop (top of the 0.0U line) to be safe... and will reduce Dry food to 1 tbsp... We'll see again tomorrow for the dose..
 
Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148, +10 65, PMPS

PMPS 86. I gave him a Fat Drop (I think). Going to practice that one a little more... ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top