Re: 12/08 Frip +10 122, AMBG 50, +2 74, +7 148 Dose tonight?
remembering that Frip is a very late nadir cat (his mid-cycle numbers are the highest numbers in the cycle, and his preshots are the lowest numbers in the cycle), I would really like to see the mid-cycle numbers come down some more before reducing the dose. At this point he really should be green pretty much all the time.
If you look at the spreadsheets of other cats who are on very low doses, for the ones that are getting blue preshots and lower green in the middle, we usually suggest holding the dose but changing the feeding pattern to try to get those blue numbers down and flatten the cycle out. With a late nadir, the concept is the same except the number we need to bring down is in the middle of the cycle instead of the end. For Frip, assuming that he is getting fed at preshot times already, how about trying a small snack at about +4 or +5 every cycle to see if that stimulates the pancreas to bring that mid-cycle number down? The time might need to be adjusted, I'm just suggesting that as a place to start. You'll need to start getting more mid-cycle tests to see how it is working. He could probably benefit from a later snack too, something to cushion the drop that is happening late in the cycle. You don't want to feed more food, you just want to take the food he is already getting and divide that into several smaller meals.
Also, at this point it is a MUST to get that last little bit of dry food out of Frip's diet. That is probably the ONLY thing keeping him on the juice.