12/07 WENDY = PMPS 329/ +2@324 / AMPS 318/ +2@374/ +5@348

Wendy and Eva

Member Since 2022
Wendy is doing well overall :cat:. We are waiting for the Cabergoline to arrive so that we could start her treatment. I have been noticing more frequent fur shots as we increase her dose.

@Wendy&Neko, thank you so much for providing the information on where to buy the Levemir at a reasonable price! Now that I know it's affordable, I have a few questions:

  • Should we first change the insulin before starting her on Cabergoline?
  • If we make the change of insulin after starting Cabergoline, will it be harder to detect if she's having a reaction to the insulin and/or Cabergoline?
@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA) @Marje and Gracie
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ps-303-2-271-5-231-8-287.271570/#post-3022680
 
You can change to Levemir first or start cabergoline first. Cabergoline typically takes at least a week and a half to start working, sometimes longer.

Switching to Levemir won't make a big change in her dose, just give her more comfort in her shots. She will start at a lower Lev dose, but may have to go up closer to her Lantus dose. Unless of course the cabergoline changes what dose she needs.
 
Now that I know it's affordable, I have a few questions:

Just wanted to add....since Wendy is on such a high dose, if you can afford it, you can get up to $500 worth of Levemir from Marks and only pay the $25 shipping fee once.

Rough math...3 boxes would be about $510 + $25 shipping...so $535 would give you almost a year's worth of Levemir at 15U per day
 
Sorry about the diagnosis :bighug: Those of us with acro kitties have a special little place in our hearts for the other acros.

As others have said, Wendy has given you a lot of great info. If it were me, I would start the Lev first and give that depot time to build before starting the cabergoline. At her numbers and dose, you probably won't see anything too drastic just by switching to Levemir.

I put Mr Kitty on Levemir about 2-3 weeks before we started cabergoline and I'm glad I did one before the other - he was one of the two Wendy mentioned that very quickly went OTJ...bit of a "fun" ride down.
 
Sorry about the diagnosis :bighug: Those of us with acro kitties have a special little place in our hearts for the other acros.

As others have said, Wendy has given you a lot of great info. If it were me, I would start the Lev first and give that depot time to build before starting the cabergoline. At her numbers and dose, you probably won't see anything too drastic just by switching to Levemir.

I put Mr Kitty on Levemir about 2-3 weeks before we started cabergoline and I'm glad I did one before the other - he was one of the two Wendy mentioned that very quickly went OTJ...bit of a "fun" ride down.
Wow, that's amazing! You give me hope for my Wendy.:bighug:
 
Just wanted to add....since Wendy is on such a high dose, if you can afford it, you can get up to $500 worth of Levemir from Marks and only pay the $25 shipping fee once.

Rough math...3 boxes would be about $510 + $25 shipping...so $535 would give you almost a year's worth of Levemir at 15U per day
I will talk to my vet tomorrow about switching her over.
 
Back
Top