12-07 Small Kitty - amps 374 pmps 365 +3 293 +5.5 229 - Heading down

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning everyone,

Lucky I spent basically the entire week-end sleeping and had some rest in bank
cause Small Kitty needed me yesterday. Way after bed time, the routine last test
before sleep was another surprise from Small Kitty. Less then 2 days after
what could have been an hypo he was heading straight there (might dramatize a bit here).
Any how, he was in the safe zone but at the wrong timing so had to stop him so he
would stay there. No 2/3 medium can Friskes with gravy this time :). One
table spoon of raw (no change) then 1h. later same bonus but with LC.

Just when I was sleeping help from very dedicated members came in, test
one more time. Sadly I was like a zombie and fallen a sleep. Will never
know if he went down or up but he's far from coma this morning. Someone
exit the building and he ran away like a horse just hearing the sound of door.

Same dose for now, have a day or 2 to think about it, he's on a bounce.
Same dose is the way to go, I think. Want to keep it for 5 or 7days to
Small Kitty get used to it.

Agree ?

Good day everyone, time to take a coffee to survive.

Sébastien
Yesterday
.
 
Last edited:
Was so tired this morning that I didn't click ''Submit'' while at home.

At the office right now...
 
I'm not surprised by the bounce this morning. Since SK didn't go under 68, you want to hold the dose. The more time he can spend in normal numbers, the more his body will get used to them and then his bouncing should settle down. Good job last night keeping him surfing safely.
 
With those lower numbers last night I would hold the dose, although it is possible that SK went lower last night. With SLGS you would take a reduction at 90 and since you are using a pet meter which has never had an equivalent number, but does read higher than a human meter, SK was basically at reduction level. However since it has not been established what that "90" would be on a pet meter, you can hold for now, but be diligent about testing. Once he clears the bounce you may see active numbers again.
 
Our documentations of SLGS is an abbreviated one. The full Scale one says :

''* If a serum chemistry analyzer or plama-equivelent meter calibrated for cats is used (eg, AlphaTrak), increase the target blood glucose concentration by about 1mmo/l, 18mg/Dl, or adapt the normal range reported for cats as the target nadir glucose concentration (eg, change 2.8 to 3.8 mo/L: change 50 to 68mg/dL)''.

That basically means ''Hold the dose'' with no ambiguity. The thing is that Small Kitty
has fallen from 88 to 47 within an hour on the 4th...

Small Kitty might have broken the sound barrier with no air resistance. That's
the only thing I can see for these drops :). Might need to deploy air brake with
food as soon as he's at yellow on preshot, or lower the dose so he doesn't cross
the sound barrier.

.
 
The SLGS approach is not a protocol as such,but more of a "relaxed" approach to TR.

According to the guidelines here:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/

"
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately."
That "90" is a number obtained on a human meter. Since "officially" there is no cross-reference number for pet meter numbers that it what most people using pet meters, will use as a reduction point. I have however with my own comparisons using a human meter with a reading of 5mmol (90 US) found that the reading on the AT2 is definitely higher. Regardless you can hold the current dose, but just be vigilant about watching the numbers once the bounce clears.

If you are choosing to follow the TR protocol then the reduction would be taken at 68 on a pet meter. I don't know if you have changed to TR since your signature still says SLGS
 
Ooops. I forgot you are doing SLGS. Mary Ann is right, he still hasn't earned a reduction. If you try feeding at different times to try and slow the drop, make good notes so you can know what works and what doesn't work.
 
Small Kitty has remained the way he was this morning, straight an level.
He might have come down but it was to better go up.. part of the game.
Will go to bed very very soon tonight, tired.

My last call of the day was really a test on my patience. A lawyer from the
city of Québec (not the province, the city) called me because she was missing
a font in a program that she needed for official modification to a legal document.
Pretty simple isn't it ? Just a set of characters to stay uniform in the current
text format... (Quebec city is one of our client).

Heck, she started recount me her entire life from the day she was born at the
hospital until now... I always stop that kind of people and politely
squeeze them up in a corner. ''Sorry mam, so you need a font to in
installed in your program to match the exist.....'' she started again..
:mad::mad::mad:

She did that something like 3 times, there was no escape, she was cutting
me off before I could place a word..
:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:


Had to go to my second job and not being be late for Small Kitty plus she
was something like my 30th troubleshooting calls of the day. :stop:

I put the headset on the desk and resumed my Air Navy Fighter game
mission that I had almost finished on my cell.... (had one
missile left for one ship to sink).:woot:

When I came back she had stopped. Listen to what I told her :

''I'm very sorry mam but interrupting someone talking is something
usually never do, sorry not to let you talk when you try to.'' ;):)
''You can resume what you were saying''... silence...

''What you need will be fixed in an instant if I can connect to your computer''

Got access to her computer and brought a on her screen a form for
software installation request.

''Told you it would be simple ?''. Anything else I can do for you ?
Now it was her turn to :mad::mad::mad::mad:.

:D:D:D:D:D

She came in 20min before the end of my shift, with super big
smile in the voice told her that this was a very interesting conversation
and hoped I was helpful to her, to contact us no matter the problem ;)

Hear her slam the phone on it's socket :D

Sarcasm is such a good remedy when someone is testing your patience just a bit to far..

:p:p:p:p

.
 
Okay SK, clear the bounce!

Sorry about your phone conversation that tried your patience. Every job has a certain amount of stuff we have to deal with. Sounds like you handled it well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top