12/06 WENDY = PMPS 453/ +2@414/ AMPS 303/ +2@271/ +5@231/ +8@287

Wendy and Eva

Member Since 2022
Wendy's dose went up to 7.5 units today and she has been in the yellows during 1st cycle (with the exception of AMPS). She has been very alert, eating well and moving around without any issues. I weighed her today and she's at 11.6 lbs. She's back to her normal weight.

Spoke with the vet today and he didn't recommend changing the insulin. He wants us to continue with Lantus and continue adjusting the dose. He also ordered the Cabergoline and will be administered every other day.

I have asked for some help getting my reports entered in the SS. Hopefully by tomorrow they will be posted.

Experts:
  • Is it possible that Wendy's realistic numbers will remain in the 200's?
  • Do we have to see some blue numbers before stopping the dose increase?
  • Ever since we changed Wendy's diet to wet food only (FF), her stools have been very mushy and very stinky. There are a few times that they are Extra mushy but not diarrhea. Is that normal? Any recommendations on what I can give her to help with that issue?
  • Should I start her on probiotics and/or any vitamins?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-4-305-igf-1-iaa-results.271536/#post-3022323

@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA) @Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

upload_2022-12-6_18-14-41.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-12-6_18-14-41.png
    upload_2022-12-6_18-14-41.png
    336.4 KB · Views: 89
Lovely string of yellows, going in the right direction.:)

First, we have no experts here, just people with more experience than others. We aren't vets.
Is it possible that Wendy's realistic numbers will remain in the 200's?
They will only remain in the 200's until you find a dose that moves her. That means increasing to larger doses as needed. Did the vet say why he was against Levemir? It's a very good insulin, and most of the high dose cats end of switching to it for comfort.
Do we have to see some blue numbers before stopping the dose increase?
No, you want to see green numbers before stopping increasing. The goal is to get her to be spending the majority of time under renal threshold, which means mostly blues and some greens. Over renal threshold is hard on her kidneys, acromegaly by itself is already hard on kidneys. If she's only showing a little bit of blues, she will be spending more of her time above renal threshold. That's just the way these insulins work.
  • Ever since we changed Wendy's diet to wet food only (FF), her stools have been very mushy and very stinky. There are a few times that they are Extra mushy but not diarrhea. Is that normal? Any recommendations on what I can give her to help with that issue?
  • Should I start her on probiotics and/or any vitamins?
What flavours/proteins are you giving her? It could be she has a mild allergy to some of them. Finding out what is disagreeing with her and eliminating it could help. If not that, probiotics can help, I give Visbiome, some people give some of the Renew Ultimates, Proviable is another options. Better quality food, like raw food, can also help. It is way less stinky.
 
Lovely string of yellows, going in the right direction.:)

First, we have no experts here, just people with more experience than others. We aren't vets.

They will only remain in the 200's until you find a dose that moves her. That means increasing to larger doses as needed. Did the vet say why he was against Levemir? It's a very good insulin, and most of the high dose cats end of switching to it for comfort.

No, you want to see green numbers before stopping increasing. The goal is to get her to be spending the majority of time under renal threshold, which means mostly blues and some greens. Over renal threshold is hard on her kidneys, acromegaly by itself is already hard on kidneys. If she's only showing a little bit of blues, she will be spending more of her time above renal threshold. That's just the way these insulins work.

What flavours/proteins are you giving her? It could be she has a mild allergy to some of them. Finding out what is disagreeing with her and eliminating it could help. If not that, probiotics can help, I give Visbiome, some people give some of the Renew Ultimates, Proviable is another options. Better quality food, like raw food, can also help. It is way less stinky.

Hello,

The vet said her body would take a big hit if we tried changing her insulin at this point. Furthermore, he said it was way more expensive (I think he said $400+/month). I know it varies from state to state, but do you know if that's how much you paid for Levemir? I know I wouldn't be able to afford $400 monthly on insulin. I'm currently paying $35 for the Lantus pen with the coupon they offer on their website.

Wendy is currently eating the Seafood Classic Pate. I ordered the Chicken & Beef classic pate today. Should I stop giving her seafood altogether? How do you feed raw food during the night hours? Would a timed feeder work? I have 9 other cats so it would be a bit tricky. Especially when I have to leave to go to work.
 
A full time diet of seafood is not good. Fish is also a common allergen, so it'll be interesting to see how she does on other meats. I would just stop the seafood and try the other one for a while and see if it improves things. I used to feed Neko at PMPS time and a couple of times after that before I went to bed, then nothing unless I was up to test her. Some times I used an autofeeder, that had a spot for a freezer gel pack under it, and it would keep the meat cool for quite a few hours. Alternatively you top it with an ice cube, which keeps it cools and melts to add water.

Most people in the US buy Levemir at Marks Marine. Buying insulin from Canada It's a real pharmacy about 1/2 hour drive from me. I never bought insulin there, too far and too expensive. I live in Canada so insulin is cheaper here. The Marks website says $169 US for a five pack of pens. That will be 1500UI of insulin. At Wendy's current rate of 15 units per day, that's 100 days worth. Maybe a bit less for waste.

As for "taking a hit", we do reduce the dose a little bit for safety when you switch insulin, but we can fast track the dose back up if needed. It's not that big a hit. Some vets think you start back at 1 unit, but you don't.
 
Back
Top