12/06 Mali AMPS 340 +7 101 +9 85

Belinda23

Member Since 2023
Hi, we are only into our second week since diagnosis and I've only been doing home BG tests for a few days. Today's drop since AMPS has been the largest yet. He's on 2 units twice daily of Lantus.

How does this look? Any thoughts, insights or advice very much appreciated for a newby! We are going with the SLGS method.
 
Hi, we are only into our second week since diagnosis and I've only been doing home BG tests for a few days. Today's drop since AMPS has been the largest yet. He's on 2 units twice daily of Lantus.

How does this look? Any thoughts, insights or advice very much appreciated for a newby! We are going with the SLGS method.
Hi Belinda,
With the 85, Mali has earned a reduction in dose down to 1.75 U with the SLGS dosing method. Congratulations!
He is doing well!
Let’s see what he is at PMPS.
 
Hi Belinda,
With the 85, Mali has earned a reduction in dose down to 1.75 U with the SLGS dosing method. Congratulations!
He is doing well!
Let’s see what he is at PMPS.
Wow he’s gone up to +11 160 then PMPS 439 without hardly eating. I have no idea what to do
 
Wow he’s gone up to +11 160 then PMPS 439 without hardly eating. I have no idea what to do
He is bouncing from the 85 earlier in the cycle. Very common in newly diagnosed cats. Don’t worry. He may stay in higher numbers for up to 6 cycles, or he may come back down in a few cycles. But stay at the 1.75 dose unless he drops under 90 again.
Give the reduced dose that he has earned of 1.75 units.

Here is an explanation about bouncing.
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Thanks Bron, I called the vet earlier when he was at 85 and they said don’t shoot tonight as they are not available to help and call them in the morning after monitoring overnight and they will assess.
 
Thanks Bron, I called the vet earlier when he was at 85 and they said don’t shoot tonight as they are not available to help and call them in the morning after monitoring overnight and they will assess.
It is safe to shoot when he has gone up to 439. He is bouncing which is normal in newly diagnosed cats. I would not skip the dose.
If you skip you will be leaving him in high numbers unnecessarily.
I will tag @Bandit's Mom to give you a second opinion
 
It is safe to shoot when he has gone up to 439. He is bouncing which is normal in newly diagnosed cats. I would not skip the dose.
If you skip you will be leaving him in high numbers unnecessarily.
I will tag @Bandit's Mom to give you a second opinion
I ended up going with a 1 unit dose tonight but close to 2 hours later than normal dose as still not eating well.
 
I ended up going with a 1 unit dose tonight but close to 2 hours later than normal dose as still not eating well.
Because you gave it close to 2 hours later than normal, you will have to work your way back to your normal schedule by 1/4 hour each cycle or by 30 minutes once a day. Does that make sense?
 
Back
Top