Yeah, Bama does, too. But blues are good!
Yeah, Bama does, too. But blues are good!
You could be onto something. From the Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: You probably remember seeing this:I’ve been doing one thing differently these last few days.. instead of scruff/shoulder injections, I’ve been shooting into side of his chest, since he’s been getting thicker skin in the other two areas and was starting to resist the shots a bit.
I wonder if that s making a difference or if we’re just getting closer to his right dose. Either way, he’s happier with the injection site, so I’m happier too
You could be onto something. From the Sticky - Insulin Care & Syringe Info: You probably remember seeing this:
![]()
Some people have felt that shot location makes a difference to numbers. Some have said it makes no difference.I’ve been doing one thing differently these last few days.. instead of scruff/shoulder injections, I’ve been shooting into the side of his chest, since he’s been getting thicker skin in the other two areas and was starting to resist the shots a bit.
I wonder if that’s making a difference or if we’re just getting closer to his right dose. Either way, he’s happier with the injection site, so I’m happier too
Some people have felt that shot location makes a difference to numbers. Some have said it makes no difference.
But if he is developing scar tissue from shooting in the same place, a change of shot location would make the shot less painful.
It's possible that the improvement in his numbers is because he hit a good dose.
After 7 years, Bama has a few tough spots, too. For me it seems harder to shoot in the abdomen area as the skin seems tighter. When I have tried, I seem to do fur shots. I'm with Bhooma, though. I think Gus has finally hit a good dose.Should it concern me that he developed a tougher skin so soon after only 4 months of rotating spots on scruff and shoulders? Is that normal? Am I turning him into a rock? (Joke)
I have not had that issue with Bandit. I think that if you give the area a break, it should recover.Should it concern me that he developed a tougher skin so soon after only 4 months of rotating spots on scruff and shoulders? Is that normal? Am I turning him into a rock? (Joke)
I have not had that issue with Bandit. I think that if you give the area a break, it should recover.
After 14 years, Bama has a few tough spots, too. For me it seems harder to shoot in the abdomen area as the skin seems tighter. When I have tried, I seem to do fur shots. I'm with Bhooma, though. I think Gus has finally hit a good dose.
After 14 years, Bama has a few tough spots, too. For me it seems harder to shoot in the abdomen area as the skin seems tighter. When I have tried, I seem to do fur shots. I'm with Bhooma, though. I think Gus has finally hit a good dose.
You could do a +9 or +10. I like to get those numbers because Bama tends to be a little higher then sometimes than he is at pre-shot. Or like today with Bama it showed he was falling so I was prepared when I got a low pre-shot. If you test @ say, +9.75, and get a low number, you still have time to feed a little before the 2-hour no feed window kicks in. I know some say don't feed late in the cycle, after +6 or nadir, or whenever, but I have not noticed a big increase in pre-shot numbers by feeding late as long as I still allow time for the 2-hour no feed window.Looks like we are having a repeat of yesterday… wonder if he’s dropping more than that in the early morning before AMPS..
Sorry, correction needed. Not 14 years but 7 years since 2014. Duh! Brain still needs more sleep.
I have corrected the entry.
You could do a +9 or +10. I like to get those numbers because Bama tends to be a little higher then sometimes than he is at pre-shot. Or like today with Bama it showed he was falling so I was prepared when I got a low pre-shot. If you test @ say, +9.75, and get a low number, you still have time to feed a little before the 2-hour no feed window kicks in. I know some say don't feed late in the cycle, after +6 or nadir, or whenever, but I have not noticed a big increase in pre-shot numbers by feeding late as long as I still allow time for the 2-hour no feed window.
Yeah, I know what you mean about getting to sleep. I have started listening to a podcast called Get Sleepy. Basically bed time stories with details that get your mind off your thoughts. Most nights I am asleep before the story gets underway and I rarely even remember it. When I go back to bed after dealing with Bama, I restart it. There are other ones out there--some are stories, some just sounds to help you relax.+9 or 10 is a good idea… I mean his string of blues (and some green) on the 4th and 28th started or were at least caught, at +10… It’s just tough on the PM cycle week days .. wake up at +9, go back to bed, wake up for shot at 6am (+12) maybe go back to bed…then work starts at +3. I already have a tough time getting to sleep, tbh. I do think I’ll start doing more +10s on the AM cycles since that when the action has been happening
there were some +9 mornings I would wake up to give him a snack because he would have hunger vomits (happened maybe 3 times in the 4 months - or at least I thought that what it was .. so I started setting an alarm to feed him but now it depends what time I go to sleep late enough I’ll give a snack before I go to bed, seemed to have solved the issue. I never saw any major spikes in BG… tho it’s hard to say since he was on a lower dose at the time
Yeah, I know what you mean about getting to sleep. I have started listening to a podcast called Get Sleepy. Basically bed time stories with details that get your mind off your thoughts. Most nights I am asleep before the story gets underway and I rarely even remember it. When I go back to bed after dealing with Bama, I restart it. There are other ones out there--some are stories, some just sounds to help you relax.
It doesn't look like I'll ever get a complete night's sleep without having to get up. I am in Central timezone. I start pre-shot tests @ 4 [am & pm], feed and shoot by 4:20. I like to get up ahead of time and have coffee so that means I try to be up by 3 am. You may laugh but lately I've been trying to get in bed by 5 pm, then up again by 6:30 pm for +2 test, back to bed, up again sometimes for +4 or +5 test and feed snack, and on a good night I don't get up again until 1:30 am for that +9 test and usually feed a snack then, too. Then there are the test every hour nights or test every 2 hours and usually feed as I'm trying to avoid/catch drops that may result in reductions. My sleep has really taken a hit over the past 2 or 3 months. Fortunately, I am retired so I don't have work to deal with.