? 12/06 - Freckles- PMPS 268 - dose increase tomorrow? vet visit today

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
Well, Freckles seems to be swallowing normally now compared to the description in previous condo. Vet checked lungs and all is well there too, but he did find a fair bit of tartar on molars so booked teeth cleaning in January. The vet would like me to reduce the number of feedings to 2-3 times/day and see if the food is keeping Freckle's numbers so flat and in the yellow zone. I'm going to compromise and bring it down food 4 times/day since Freckles just wolfs down her food, I don't want another 'scarf and barf' episode.

He also suggested that I hold the dose for 7 days and increase by .5 u if needed. I think I'm going to continue following TR as the SLGS was keeping Freckles at higher numbers longer.

I printed out and showed the vet Freckles' SS, and I don't think he's ever seen anything quite like that format before! lol I happened to find a journal article that referenced the spreadsheet template and referenced FDMB. It can be viewed on this search - first result. if anyone is interested in reading the article. I don't know if @Marje and Gracie created the spreadsheet but she is certainly well versed in it!

Unless something happens tonight, I'm planning a .25 increase starting tomorrow morning. Correct? I am determined to find that 'magic amount' of insulin for the little one.
 
Glad the weird swallowing episodes have subsided. Interesting observation by your vet on multiple feedings, I like your compromise of 4 feedings a day. Most of us do find multiple minimeals work the best, but ECID and Freckles sure is mellow yellow!

I can't see a reason why you shouldn't increase tomorrow, unless something fabulous happens tonight. In some fashion, your vet's suggestion to hold for 7 days then increase by 0.5u ends up getting you to the same place in a week from now as increasing by 0.25u every 3 days. But, at your current dose, I would think increasing more frequently by 0.25u is safer as you are still allowing enough time to see if 0.25u increase is enough to see some action. Things change up when you hit 5.0u, you're not quite there yet.

I, for one, will be elated to see a blue....come on Freckles, time to start working the juice!
 
Well, Freckles seems to be swallowing normally now compared to the description in previous condo. Vet checked lungs and all is well there too, but he did find a fair bit of tartar on molars so booked teeth cleaning in January. The vet would like me to reduce the number of feedings to 2-3 times/day and see if the food is keeping Freckle's numbers so flat and in the yellow zone. I'm going to compromise and bring it down food 4 times/day since Freckles just wolfs down her food, I don't want another 'scarf and barf' episode.

He also suggested that I hold the dose for 7 days and increase by .5 u if needed. I think I'm going to continue following TR as the SLGS was keeping Freckles at higher numbers longer.

I printed out and showed the vet Freckles' SS, and I don't think he's ever seen anything quite like that format before! lol I happened to find a journal article that referenced the spreadsheet template and referenced FDMB. It can be viewed on this search - first result. if anyone is interested in reading the article. I don't know if @Marje and Gracie created the spreadsheet but she is certainly well versed in it!

Unless something happens tonight, I'm planning a .25 increase starting tomorrow morning. Correct? I am determined to find that 'magic amount' of insulin for the little one.
Interesting. It looks like they decided to “borrow” our SS as it was developed originally by another member many, many years ago (prior to 2006). I’ve made several modifications and embedded the templates as accessing them before was a hassle. They aren’t the first ones to have “pirated” our SS and probably won’t be the last :rolleyes:

You are smart to continue feeding more often and also to not hold the dose so long. She really needs TR to try and get her out of these flat yellows if you are able to monitor. @Christie & Maverick is right that you don’t want to increase the dose by 0.5u with nadirs below 300 and the dose below 5u. You could miss the perfect dose.
 
I'm glad the swallowing issue is normal. It sounds like the vetty visit went well. Good luck when you increase the dose.
 
Interesting. It looks like they decided to “borrow” our SS as it was developed originally by another member many, many years ago (prior to 2006). I’ve made several modifications and embedded the templates as accessing them before was a hassle. They aren’t the first ones to have “pirated” our SS and probably won’t be the last :rolleyes:
One positive is that they did credit FDMB with the spreadsheet in their references at the end.
 
You could miss the perfect dose.
That's something that I'm concerned about. Looking at my spreadsheet, I'm wondering if I'm missing the nadir by checking numbers on the even times (@+2, +4, +6, +8 etc).

I'm also beginning to think I'm doing something wrong when injecting the insulin. I've watched numerous videos and read the stickies and have injected with the 'tent' method as well as the 'roll the fur' method, but we still seem to get the flat yellow numbers regardless. She has gained weight since we first started on insulin, so something is going in the right direction. I'd love to see some 'blue' skies though!!
 
Back
Top